Suzanne & Darcy
Member Since 2020
Your talk about sweet Jessi almost made me cry. Please keep us updated!! Lots of love and hugs and positive and hopeful thoughts are coming your way!
I’m scared of anesthesia too, especially to have a cat undergo it twice within a short span.A CAT scan requires full anaesthesia. Doing that twice in a short period to Jessi’s body doesn’t feel right to me. If it weren’t for that I probably would have agreed

I know it’s not the greatest practice to just quote a part of one study out of hundreds but here is what I found with regards to removing lymph node as a part of cancer surgery (from a manual called BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Oncology Edited by J. Dobson and B. Lascelles - I have the PDF if you’d like to read it)I have asked the doctors in both clinics about the role the lymph nodes play and the possible effects of removing them, and they said the same thing, that the body would compensate by creating other channels for drainage and it wasn’t a big deal, something like that. When I mentioned their role in immune defense they basically denied or downplayed it. Today I confirmed that for myself with a quick online search. But it might also be true that if/when the immune system is not able to defend properly against cancer cells, it becomes a kind of catalyst or vehicle for it to spread. So they see the removal of the lymph nodes as taking away a potential pathway for spreading.
I’m really happy to read this update. I think it’s a great step in a positive direction that you’ve got a better team of vets - one that might be more pliable towards and respectful of your opinions.I switched clinics and I'm much happier with this one.
Yep, given the limited knowledge anyone could have on this topic, a lot of the decision-making would rely on what one’s gut tells them to do.I have no idea what is the right way. So ultimately I’ll have to choose what feels best.
I love this assertion. With the limited knowledge and information that you have on this topic and also the limitations on the treatments available to you, there really isn’t any way to be 100% sure about the decision that you make. You’ve very brave and I know how hard every single day of waiting is.I have no idea how this will go and the thought of that little delicate body and sensitive mind going through all of this is agonizing. I just take the next step, ask for support, set my intention for the best possible outcome, remember to breath, try to sleep enough and stay sane...and take another step....

If only there was a way to know everything about everything :’)You think you're giving them something to make them better and it turns out it's feeding cancer cells!
I’m glad to help in any way I can.Oh, you're so fun to vent with.
Thanks for all your support Nimi! You're such a good forum friend!


Could the X-ray be done right prior to surgery, straight after she's put under GA?
I had a similar conversation on another thread, where I found out in the US for example they don't sedate pets for scans/ultrasounds. Where I'm at, they do put pets under for these types of procedures, so they stay still. If that's the case in Italy too, I'd definitely request the X-ray immediately pre-op, killing two birds with one stone, if possible. It can 100% be done - while one of mine was under for a dental, they did a full body X-ray on my request, to confirm her arthritis.
Am I correct that Jessi's lump is on/around her neck and that's the area where you usually get the CGM placed too?
I understand how stressed she is (both mentally and physically) but you could always consider a different Libre placement? I pop it on mine's thorax, alternating sides. The one time the vet placed it, it was more on his shoulder/scapula in the hope it'd last longer on him... He peeled it off after 3 daysWhen I apply it on his thorax at home it stays in-tact for at least 10 days and we only use SkinTac and a CGM patch on top, because he renders dead if there's any sort of clothing or bandage touches/"restricts" him. Dramatic much
Edit: I just wanted to add here, that I personally have some negative experience with the Libre constantly giving incredibly inaccurate readings in the higher numbers (as in +200 discrepancies!!!), but I understand it is not the case for everyone.
I also believe, once the tumor is off, her diabetes will be easier to control, which will lead her neuropathy easing tremendously.
Although we had gone through a whole different, non-tumor-related surgery a few days ago, my boy is stable now regarding his BG levels, and he isn't even fully recovered yet from the op! You too are fully aware of how much pain and discomfort affects BG levels. I have to admit I was a little sceptical on this matter, but seeing constant flat numbers for the past three days -for the very first time ever, since his diagnosis- was a real eye-opener for me.
By the way I wanted to say well done to colloidal silver. Not many know about its benefits.
Jessi is very lucky to have you going over and beyond for her![]()
Hi Stefania,
Happy to see an update from you!
Wish I could help you in a better way but my experience and knowledge in this (SCC, CAT scan) area is zero and at best, limited. I try to read but I realise it wouldn’t make sense to offer inputs based on some cursory reading of the subject matter.
Feline diabetes itself is still a mystery after so many months of reading up on it.
I’m scared of anesthesia too, especially to have a cat undergo it twice within a short span.
If it were my cat, I wouldn’t agree to removing the lymph nodes unless it was known that there were tumors or cancerous cells in them. I would probably opt for diagnostics prior to undergoing any major surgery. But I know each cat and each caregiver and their circumstances are different.
I’m prejudiced towards this choice (getting a CAT scan) because I subjected a beloved cat to 2 major surgeries not knowing that no surgery was going to help him. A simple ultrasound could have helped us to know this and instead we could have spent his last few days spoiling and pampering him and saying good bye to him properly. In our case, the vets didn’t think it necessary to do an ultrasound covering more organs and I too didn’t know enough to ask. This experience has made me paranoid forever.
I know that Jessi’s prognosis is better and I shouldn’t project my experience.
I agree with what Eve says and it sounds good in theory - to do what seems necessary now and evaluate and address any issues/ complications later. I would personally want my cat to undergo one major surgery only, if it had some guarantee of success. Wishful thinking, I guess.
Such a tough, tough place for you to be in, Stefania. I wish there were better answers
I know it’s not the greatest practice to just quote a part of one study out of hundreds but here is what I found with regards to removing lymph node as a part of cancer surgery (from a manual called BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Oncology Edited by J. Dobson and B. Lascelles - I have the PDF if you’d like to read it)
“The practice of routinely removing the ‘sentinel’ or regional lymph nodes in both humans and animals prophylactically is a matter of continued controversy but is generally no longer recommended (Krag, 2000).
In general, although decisions must be made on a case-by-case basis, current recommendations are the non-destructive biopsy (FNA) of grossly normal local nodes, and removal of the node in the following situations:
• The node is histologically proven to contain tumour cells
• The node appears grossly abnormal at surgery
• The node is intimately associated with the tissue being removed and surgical margins dictate its removal (e.g. as part of a compartmental resection such as the inguinal lymph node during mastectomy)
• The node is sufficiently large and/or located in such an area as to cause some degree of functional impairment associated with space occupation.”
There must be merits to both retaining and removing lymph nodes but such conclusions must ideally be drawn after vets perform the due clinical staging. I guess they could base their recommendations (to remove) on experience to which there isn’t much of an argument to make.
I know you’ve more or less made your decision but if find anything worth sharing on this topic, I will.
I’m really happy to read this update. I think it’s a great step in a positive direction that you’ve got a better team of vets - one that might be more pliable towards and respectful of your opinions.
Yep, given the limited knowledge anyone could have on this topic, a lot of the decision-making would rely on what one’s gut tells them to do.
Don’t beat yourself up over whatever it is that you decide to do. If there were only one option, there would be a clear answer. With multiple choices, it’ll always be a ‘What if I’d done this?’ situation.
I love this assertion. With the limited knowledge and information that you have on this topic and also the limitations on the treatments available to you, there really isn’t any way to be 100% sure about the decision that you make. You’ve very brave and I know how hard every single day of waiting is.
If only there was a way to know everything about everything :’)
Shen got diabetes thanks to a steroid I had him put on for treating an allergy. I always regret it no matter what progress we’ve made today. I know I only wanted the best for him but my own limitations, wrt to being knowledgeable about so many things, are so disappointing to me.
Like Eve said, there’s a good chance that Jessi’s neuropathy will become better once her BGs become regulated. Let’s hold on to that hope. I love how you already have a set of positive affirmations ♥
I’m glad you have some sort of a system for the FD management in the interim.
I’m glad to help in any way I can.
As for the venting, I sometimes have trouble keeping my mouth shut. I can go off about the vets to anyone who will listen.
As usual, I’ve left a huge wall of text. I worry that it sort of creates a clutter amongst the more informative texts![]()


Your talk about sweet Jessi almost made me cry. Please keep us updated!! Lots of love and hugs and positive and hopeful thoughts are coming your way!


From what I could understand, a surgical margin is not measured from the centre of the tumor but from the outer edge of the tumor. So let’s say, the tumor itself (assuming it’s roughly the shape of a circle) has a radius of 3cm, then a margin of 2cm would mean drawing an outer circle around the tumor with a radius of 5cm( the centre of the marginal circle being the centre of the tumor) . But if the tumor has a different shape, then the margin would be similarly shaped at equidistances.I found out talking to the surgeon on the phone that anything less than 3cm is considered palliative. Wow! What I don't understand yet, and will ask, but if you know this please share, is what does it mean to say a '3cm margin' is that a diameter or a radius outward from the center (the mass itself). Meaning is that a total of 3 cm or being a margin it could actually mean more like a 6 cm diameter, if you take the tumor as the middle of that circle. Big difference, so I have to find out.
After surgery they test the perimeter of the incision and they do a histological of the site to find if it is 'clean' or 'dirty' or this other category 'clean but close' (they actually use the English term).
Lemme get back to you on this!Nimi, I noticed that article you quoted is 23 years old. Is there a more current one that has a similar statement?
Nimi, I noticed that article you quoted is 23 years old. Is there a more current one that has a similar statement? When I look online I can't find anything about it being controversial to remove them in a case like this or info with negative effects of removing lymph nodes

I just want to preface by saying that most of the studies discuss prophylactic removal of cytologically negative lymph nodes i.e. lymph nodes which have been tested in some way to ascertain whether they are metastatic or not and were found to be negative.
If I recall and understand correctly, the vets weren’t able to perform a biopsy of Jessi’s lymph nodes, so it isn’t clear whether they’re cytologically positive or negative. Please correct me if I’m wrong!
I don’t think there would have been any argument or discussion had the lymph nodes turned out to be positive during the staging process.
Without a result, would you assume that the lymph nodes are cytologically positive or negative? That would/ should determine which side you’d want to lean on while deciding on the removal.
I do feel a CAT scan done properly might help reveal the need to remove or retain the lymph nodes. I totally understand your hesitation though
I’ll link articles that discuss both the pros and cons.
Here’s a link (from a book Surgical Oncology - first print 2021) that says that gives the pros and cons of resection of affected lymph nodes
View attachment 67347
Source: https://rb.gy/4ahb3 (scroll down to page 12 if link opens on the cover page..Sorry, I couldn’t copy the text!)
Another slightly dated (2007) excerpt from WITHROW AND MACEWEN’S SMALL ANIMAL CLINICAL ONCOLOGY - it mentions the general circumstances in which lymph nodes should and should not be removed.
View attachment 67348
Source: https://shorturl.at/suHX8 (scroll to page 152 if link opens on the cover page)
I’ll keep adding to this while you peruse these 2 links. Will you let me know if the 2 images aren’t clear enough to see?
I was a bit surprised to see that the more recent articles in support of lymph node removal are studies conducted by vets from the University of Bologna. Maybe it’s a coincidence. I’ll link them here in a bit.
Also I’m sorry I didn’t check how old the article I’d linked earlier was![]()

Sorry, I should have worded it better! I was specifically looking for a case like Jessi’s where LNs were suggested to be removed even if they were not metastatic or were uninvolved. For those specific cases, the most recent studies are by the Uni of Bologna.And OMG I can't believe the only stuff you found in favor was from U Bologna!!! WTF
I’m sorry if I’ve added more doubt than you were already feeling todayI am this close to canceling the surgery. How do I trust these people? How do I put her in their hands???![]()
While reading all this stuff, I realised that there’s a lot of info on the internet but it’s not possible to know for sure that our understanding of it is correct as opposed to that of the vets. I’ve had a bad experience with vets on the topic of FD and another surgery (PU) too, so I’ve become very distrustful of their suggestions. But at the end of the day, for major interventions like surgeries, the vet is who I’ll have go to.I’m curious what they consider to be palliative. Most animal oncology books I skimmed through had this to say about palliative surgery:I found out talking to the surgeon on the phone that anything less than 3cm is considered palliative.

Sorry, I should have worded it better! I was specifically looking for a case like Jessi’s where LNs were suggested to be removed even if they were not metastatic or were uninvolved. For those specific cases, the most recent studies are by the Uni of Bologna.
If you see my edits to my previous post, I’ve added a few more links which suggest removing LNs as a good thing but the qualifier in most cases is that the LNs are diagnosed to be metastatic or there was evidence of LNs becoming metastatic for certain types of cancer.
I’m sorry if I’ve added more doubt than you were already feeling todayWhile reading all this stuff, I realised that there’s a lot of info on the internet but it’s not possible to know for sure that our understanding of it is correct as opposed to that of the vets. I’ve had a bad experience with vets on the topic of FD and another surgery (PU) too, so I’ve become very distrustful of their suggestions. But at the end of the day, for major interventions like surgeries, the vet is who I’ll have go to.
My point being, while I’m sharing relevant stuff with you, it could very well be a case of A little knowledge is a dangerous thing. And that we’ve to hope that the vets know what they’re talking about to some extent, at least.
Just use this info so that you’re more or less aware of what their suggestions or decisions may mean, since they may not bother expanding on those things. It’s a really huge topic, just like FD, and it isn’t possible to understand the implication of all those things overnight
I’ve overloaded you with a lot of info but I’m still sharing this last bit.
I’m curious what they consider to be palliative. Most animal oncology books I skimmed through had this to say about palliative surgery:
Palliative Surgery
• A surgery performed to improve quality of life when progression of the cancer is expected despite surgical intervention
• Examples of this include
Limb amputation for osteosarcoma causing lameness
Removal of large ulcerated painful mammary carcinomas
Placement of a permanent cystostomy catheter to relieve urine outfl ow obstruction in dogs with transitional cell carcinoma
Do the vets think that Jessi’s SCC will progress despite the surgery? I thought the prognosis was optimistic.
A bit old (2013) but this article has a section on determining surgical margins which makes me wonder about the ‘less than 3cm being palliative’ remark. Things could very well have changed in the last 10 years though, so take it with a pinch of salt.
View attachment 67360
ETA: Not saying that margins less than 3cm can’t be considered palliative in certain cases, but was unsure if Jessi’s case also qualifies as palliative (I shouldn’t comment since I don’t even know the size of the tumor/ulcer)
Another book that I found really informative and simple to understand. If/when you have the time and mental bandwidth, please skim through pages 69-77 (page nos. as printed on the bottom) regarding cancer treatment modalities. I’d have copied what I found helpful there, but I’m afraid the already long posts will make it difficult for other members to contribute hereI do wish someone else could chime in too, but maybe it’s a complex topic.
It’s a lot of info and I hope the vets there are kind enough to explain their suggestions to you properly. If not, go with what seems like the best choice to you. It’s really not a subject we should be experts in, so don’t kick yourself about it (too much).
Hugs to you and Jessi!![]()



I cannot comment on the nature of the actual surgery, however, what I can tell you is that I have received different advices by my private vet and the organisation who did do my cat's surgery a week ago regarding insulin dosage pre-anaestesia.
Essentially, however, the AAHA link that was shared with me by my private vet coincidentally resonated with the advice of the actual surgeon, which was
- feed the cat a tiny amount of food at 5am
- shoot half a dose of his normal insulin
I had to drop him off at 08:30am and they operated on him at 11:30am just past nadir, when he was already curving up slightly. Nonetheless, I saw his records, and his BG was stable all throughout the day. Due to his heart murmur, they wanted to be over and done with the procedure as soon as possible, but he still needed extended length anaesthesia (over an hour). He is an extremely sensitive cat, yet his vitals were stable throughout the procedure, I even received a call while he was still under and they working on him, as welk as straight after. I prompted the vet to put a new Libre on him at the end of the surgery, but she was unable to do it, because he woke up incredibly fast, surprising everyone around - which is a good thing, given the fact we weren't even sure whether he'd wake up at all.
It may not be not much reassurance at the moment, but I wanted to share our positive experience and how vets here deal with diabetic patients that undergo surgery and the anaesthesia vs insulin protocol.
For post-op pain relief I specifically requested Buprenorphine, as Gabapentin and Codein tempers with BG (runs my boy's horrendously high). As NSAID we received Meloxicam, which I'm aware of being a controversial drug in the US but all my cats have used it without any issues. In fact, I found it more beneficial than the opioids mentioned above, although it may be to do with his dealing with more pain related to inflammation as opposed to other factors.
Edit: Anaesthesia did not lower my cat's BG at all throughout the procedure/that AM. Him not eating much post-op and me shooting his regular dose at PM was the culprit of him dropping low, only once that day (well... night, really). But it was a one off, and a mistake of mine, which you can easily learn from, so you won't repeat it with Jessi![]()
Holy sh*t are you kidding me?
Just to clarify, it's not the clinic that scheduled Jessi's surgery for tomorrow, right?
(His BG didn't drop post-op due to anaesthesia or the meds - he's been on the meds listed pre-op too, and we had no BG issues. It 100% drop due to lack of food, as he only had 20g of MC wet at 5am and practically nothing until 8am the following morning, thus he was nil by mouth for over 24hrs.
Feeding pre-op was only required due to insulin administration, and they only reluctant of it in case of regurgitation while under. Give how little he hate, there were no issues.
Hope it puts your mind at ease at least a little bit.)
WTF is wrong with them? I can’t wrap my head around this. I had no idea asking for more information and making requests would lead to this.I just got rejected by the Vets at the new clinic. They told me they can't work with me because I don't trust them. I don't know what to do. I can't believe this is happening. I have nowhere to go.
WTF is wrong with them? I can’t wrap my head around this. I had no idea asking for more information and making requests would lead to this.
I don’t even want to suggest this but do you think requesting them to reconsider their decision after a couple of days would help to try?
I know your options were already limited and the first one sucked to begin with, but are they still open to working with Jessi?
This is such a shitty situation. Please let me know if I can help in any way at all.
they repeated this and that they couldn’t do the surgery, I should go somewhere else
[...]
‘Well, it’s been there for 3 years s few more days won’t make a difference. It’s probably already spread to other areas anyway by now.’
What in the world?? I can’t imagine that anyone who speaks in such a way could possibly love an animal. So, so callous and heartless.Nimi, they were too abusive. They stayed on the phone with me for more than a half hour just repeating again and again that my mode and my lack of trust were the problem. No matter what I said they repeated this and that they couldn’t do the surgery, I should go somewhere else. Why did they spend all that time just to tell me that?
When I practically pleaded with them to think of Jessi and how urgent it was and how I would have to take more time now finding another place, one said, ‘Well, it’s been there for 3 years s few more days won’t make a difference. It’s probably already spread to other areas anyway by now.’
I can’t go back.
So a month ago the assessment was that it hasn’t spread to the other organs but now there’s a probability that it has? I know things can change anytime but this was totally said with no other intention than to cause you hurt and worry during a time when you’re already so down. What a bunch of sadists.‘It’s probably already spread to other areas anyway by now.’



).



What in the world?? I can’t imagine that anyone who speaks in such a way could possibly love an animal. So, so callous and heartless.
And what a way to flip the attitude they showed earlier.
So a month ago the assessment was that it hasn’t spread to the other organs but now there’s a probability that it has? I know things can change anytime but this was totally said with no other intention than to cause you hurt and worry during a time when you’re already so down. What a bunch of sadists.
I’m sorry I suggested that you try to ask them to reconsider, without thinking that you would have done anything in your power to do so already.
And it sucks that the vets at the university are using this to push you into a corner. Why are they all on a power trip?
I wish you and I lived in the same side of the world so that I could help you better with finding out a good vet for Jessi.
Since it’s been more than a month since the SCC diagnosis, I assume you would now stick with the university vets for the surgery? I hope the university doesn’t add more delays since you’d said things move slowly there.
I’m constantly hoping and praying for the best for you and Jessi. I hope you can get over this soon. I know it’s a very difficult and painful day for you, but today’s the time to think of positive outcomes only for you and Jessi. This too shall pass.
![]()

Yes of course after all you are Jessi's mom so you have the right and need to have a say in what gets done that's even if you trust the vet and they hadn't earned your trust so I as I mentioned you are better off, hopefully the new vet you found would be the right optionTHanks Nimi, it's ok, you couldn't know. Several other people told me to see if they would change their minds. I did try asking them what would make them change their minds. I think they wanted me to say the words 'I trust you completely, do whatever you need to do' and I just couldn't bring myself to say that. It's hard for me to lie. And it feels so wrong to let them decide everything.

Yes of course after all you are Jessi's mom so you have the right and need to have a say in what gets done that's even if you trust the vet and they hadn't earned your trust so I as I mentioned you are better off, hopefully the new vet you found would be the right option
Let us know how it goes
![]()