7/27 Hershey PMPS(236) +4(368) +5(381) REDUCIE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
7/26 Hershey

RECAP of this morning:
AMPS (65)
I know we're looking for these kinds of numbers, but CERTAINLY never shot THIS low, so looking for confirmation, assurance...

The lowest we've ever shot was 6/28 when we shot .75u into (118).
:20 retest, if rising will shoot
Retest (64)
Can stall or skip
Have strips, LC, MC, HC, Karo and a car!
:08 retest (72)

Well, so much for moving shot time up! I should've known. This isn't the first time Hershey has pulled a stunt when we've wanted to move shot time :lol:

***********************************************************

Whew, what a way to start the day! I was up longer/later with Hershey than usual and had just hit a good sleeping stride, only to be awakened to "What's our do not shoot number?" huh? what?

Breakfast was a battle of wills and no matter how you look at it, I lost. Hershey ate about 1/2 of his and Oreo sucked the bowl clean. Yeah, Oreo, the one who doesn't like Wellness...He also ate about 1/2 of his own after much ado...

It's about :30 until the +1 test...

Still shaking the cobwebs...Hope y'all have a wonderful day!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (72) +12 - Shot f1u at 7:35am
+1 (113)
+2 (115)
+3.5 (54) - fed 1/3 meal
+4.5 (34) - fed 2/3 meal in case we need to feed to bring him up
+4.75 (30) - fed just under T 7%MC Friskies Pate' while thawing HC, then gave T 19%HC Friskies Prime Filets Salmon & Beef in Sauce
+5 (31) - T 19%HC - Gone before I could wash my hands and pick up the laptop
+5.25 (36) - T 19%HC
+5.5 (40)
+5.75 (39) - T 19%HC - He didn't quite finish it. Jessica caught Oreo trying to finish it!
+6.25 (40) - T 19%HC - warmed it to try to renew his interest
+6.75 (54)
+7.75 (79)
+9.5 (127)

REDUCIE:
PMPS (236) +12.5 - Shot .7u at 8:00pm - I'm guessin' .25u reduction from a f1u is pretty much .8u? Because that would be a f.75u. But, we couldn't agree on the math (after :30), so went with .75u that could agree on
+4 (368)
 
Re: QQQQ 7/27 Hershey AMPS(65) SHOOT??

A couple of questions..

Do you have strips, HC food, and are you going to be around to monitor?
Are you comfortable shooting low? It's OK if you're not. It means options are stalling or skipping.
Can you accommodate being off schedule if you stall?

Here's the info on dealing with low pre-shot numbers to look over.
 
Re: QQQQ 7/27 Hershey AMPS(65) SHOOT??

I have strips and food. Was planning to go btb, but how long can he be left alone...I've run tired before so could skip it. Was up with him a little longer/later than usual last night. Can't stall much longer...

Testing again - brb
 
Re: QQQQ 7/27 Hershey AMPS(65) SHOOT??

If numbers are rising, I'd shoot.

Remember, it takes at least 1 - 2 hours for Lantus onset. In addition, you're going to be feeding which will further raise numbers.
 
Re: QQQQ 7/27 Hershey AMPS(65) SHOOT??

If you shoot your lowest number to date, we always suggest getting +1 and +2. Despite our best knowledge, our cats inevitably will throw us a surprise. The early tests mean fewer surprises.
 
Re: QQQQ 7/27 Hershey AMPS(65) SHOOT??

Do you think we have enough data for this? I'll be here and am feeling pretty confident we can do it...Doug is heading out the door, but I'll be here and since Jessica doesn't have class on Friday, I'll even have a car...I don't want to be irresponsible, either, know what I mean?
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72)

This is the input we got from Ann & Tess on the topic yesterday (if it helps). We're no experts (newbies)!


"For a newly dx cat that is a low number for preshot. Here we normally recommend stall and ask for help or to skip the shot under 150 about (6.6 for you) and many consider that too low. Later after you get a good understanding of how Charlie handles Lantus , yes you can shoot lower, but not until you have lots of data to back you decision up. You also don't want to shoot low if you can't be around to monitor by frequent testing. (I even shoot in the 50s but I have 2.5 years of testing to back me up AND I will test every 30 to 60 minutes to be safe.)"
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72)

I forgot you're on Lev. Onset is later -- usually around +4.

If you're up for it, then shoot. You can always get a test at +0.5.
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72)

We retested, got (72), could stall no longer. So shot. I'll get a +1. Sorry, been battling to get the kitties to eat. Oreo refused to eat for Doug and he finally gave up. Hershey refused to eat more than ~1/4 of his food. Doug had to leave. I heated Oreo's, again, finally got him to eat ~1/2. Heated Hershey's (He usually wants it cold.) and got him to eat ~1/2. Now, Oreo (who does NOT like Wellness) is scarfing down the rest of Hershey's! :o :roll: :YMSIGH:

Going to 'catch-up' my initial post. THANKS for helping me think through it!!!!
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72)

Nothing like early morning low greens to wake a body up. :-D
So Libbey, you still gonna try to get some more sleep? :roll:
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72)

paha, Jane - I can see you munching popcorn on the sidelines as the drama unfolds :lol:

Hey, Charliesmom - Sorry, I don't think I know your name. Thanks for checking in with us. We still feel pretty new, too. Hershey has been on insulin 6-1/2 months, 1-1/2 of those on Levemir. It's a whole new ballgame from ProZinc to Levemir, so learning new information while trying to unlearn what we spent the first few months learning. ;-)

My daughter's piano teacher used to scold her for not doing things the correct way, basically telling her it's harder to unlearn. She wasn't just whistling Dixie!!

Thanks, again, Sienne!! I can clearly see the end prize, but sometimes get uneasy about a step along the way. I really really appreciate you holding my hand as I gain experience/confidence. When on ProZinc I NEVER could've imagined shooting that (118), much less a (72)?! Wow...
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72)

Hey, Barb - I guess we were cross-posting. I'm going to try to grab a cat nap between +1 and +2, depending on how he looks at +1. Otherwise, I'll just skip it and be cranky all day. :lol:

:lol: :lol: Jane on the popcorn :-D


***So, does this mean we can expect a major bounce???
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +1(113)

Morning Libby - wow - what a way to start the day. I love amps like that in the morning - sure gets the juices glowing doesn't it. Good job today. I hope Hershey behaves and has a great surf this morning. Also hope he doesn't bounce to the stratosphere. :-D

Enjoy your day today. :-D
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +1(113)

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Nice shooting!

I'm thinking that Hershey's bouncing days are coming to an end. (anti-jinx). :mrgreen: and I see more dose reductions coming soon. Yeah!
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +1(113) +2(115) +3.5(54)

Sienne and Gabby said:
Ask Hershey!!
I asked, but he's not telling. :lol:

Hey, Michelle - Thanks for stopping by. I hope all goes well with the low-shoot nailbite_smile

Hey, Libby - Thanks. Let's hope Mr. Liver listens and doesn't panic!


+1 (113)
+2 (115)
+3.5 (54) - fed 1/3 meal

Took a nap after +2 and overslept :YMSIGH:

Been trying to post for awhile now, don't know if it's just me today or maybe the board is over-loaded??
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +1(113) +2(115) +3.5(54)

It's another mint Hershey Kiss this AM! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Well done, Libby! I've been having trouble too.
Liz
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +1(113) +3.5(54) +4.5(34)

Hey, Liz - Thanks. Glad to hear it's not just me having problems. I wonder what's up...I hope I didn't blow it up! :o :lol:


+4.5 (34) - fed 2/3 meal in case we need to feed to bring him up

Got distracted trying to post and do some paper sorting and didn't test at +4, like I meant to. Maybe I could have headed off that (34) :YMSIGH:

Testing at +5, which is ~:20

**Edited because I realized it was a dumb thought to wait until +5. Testing at +4.75, ~:05
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +1(113) +3.5(54) +4.5(34)

Nice job Hershey:-)

Question...could his onset have been a little earlier than normal because he didn't eat all of his breakfast? Is that something to watch for or expect?

Carl
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +3.5(54) +4.5(34) +4.75(30)

Hey, Carl - I have wondered about the food relationship, too. Wish I could answer, but figured you weren't really asking me :-D


+4.75 (30) - fed just under T 7%MC Friskies Pate' while thawing HC, then gave T 19%HC Friskies Prime Filets Salmon & Beef in Sauce

Hershey said, "Thank you very much," licked the bowl cleaned and is now washing up.
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +3.5(54) +4.5(34) +4.75(30)

Good, he has an appetite:-)
You okay?
Carl
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.5(34) +4.75(30) +5(31)

Thanks for asking, Carl. I'm okay, but would really like for him to come up a little. I know I said I have a car, but don't want to have to use it!

+5 (31) - T 19%HC - Gone before I could wash my hands and pick up the laptop
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.5(34) +4.75(30) +5(31)

Surfing, but a taller wave would be nice. I can hang for a couple a rinse/lather cycles before heading to work.
Carl
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.5(34) +4.75(30) +5(31)

Wooooooooah Hershey, what's with all the dramatics!!

Hang in there, Libby. You've clearly got your BOS in working order! Boy, when we started out, we'd never have kept this calm! Kudos, and then some :-)

Way to earn that reduction, Hershey!

Jane
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +5(31) +5.25(36)

Thanks, Carl, I'd appreciate the company :-D

Thanks, Jane - I was wondering if this earned a reduction. Last time he didn't get one. Still not sure how we determine that...

Called and gave Doug the heads up that he may have to meet me somewhere if I can't get Hershey to go up a little and stay up. Maybe that'll be enough for him to surf a little higher...

+5.25 (36) - T 19%HC

Testing every :15 pretty much means testing, feeding, posting and time to test, again...guess I type slower than I thought???
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +5(31) +5.25(36)

Lol, my days of 60 cwpm are far behind me too, Libby:-)
I'd have to look back at your earlier condos re: the dose reduction, but a string of 30s should mean a .25 reduction tonight. I know there are reasons to not take a reduction, but not off the top of my head.
Carl
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +5.25(36) +5.5(40)

This last reduction, we did a shave to f1u, instead of a whole .25u reduction and he seems to have liked it better. I think it has something to do with not wanting to take too many reductions too close together.

We shaved 7/23PM and held for 6 cycles. We were :40 late last night, so I figured it should reset the dose counter. This is the second cycle since the reset.


+5.40 (40)


I sure am glad this is happening today when I'm home. Tomorrow, Doug will be home alone with Hershey; I've been home every time Hershey has ever dropped low.
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +5.25(36) +5.5(40)

At least Hershey was considerate enough to do this during daylight hours for a change. Doug will be fine tomorrow, as he'll probably get to watch the "bounce cycle" from today's 30s :-)
Carl
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +5.5(40) +5.75(39)

Carl & Bob in SC said:
Doug will be fine tomorrow, as he'll probably get to watch the "bounce cycle" from today's 30s :-)

I was thinking it'd be nice for him not to have to worry because of the bounce, but it's also nice when the bounce occurs on Sunday since we're gone much of the AM cycle. As if - Hershey lets me choose when he bounces! :lol:

+5.75 (39) - T 19%HC - He didn't quite finish it. Jessica caught Oreo trying to finish it!
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +5.5(40) +5.75(39)

C'mon up a bit, Hersh...
Gotta go to work but it looks like others are on, Libby... I will lurk when I'm within range of wifi...
Carl
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +5.75(39) +6.25(40)

Thanks, Jane. Will keep you posted.

+6.25 (40) - T 19%HC - warmed it to try to renew his interest
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +5.75(39) +6.25(40)

Are you feeding him 1 tablespoon after each test? He's probably full. 1 teaspoon is probably enough. How about a drop or two of karo? He needs to come up, IMHO. You are doing great, Libby. :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +5.75(39) +6.25(40)

Good job. Did he eat, when you'd warmed it? Surfing the 30s and 40s eh, Hershey, you little show-off! Come on up to the 50s so we can breathe!

Yes, I'd say this is a well-earned reduction. Keep on it Libby. We'll be here for a few hours yet.
Jane
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +6.25(40) +6.75(54)

Hey, Liz - Sorry I missed your earlier post. Yes, I was contemplating the Karo, but he ate the food once I warmed it. I think he wanted to make SURE Oreo could smell he was getting kitty crack and NOT sharing! :lol:

Jane - He did eat when I warmed it and is now too fat and happy to come for testing. Makes me come and get him. He's happily sleeping it off!! :lol:

I figured up he got likes 3 meals worth of food! :o I KNEW he was bottomless!!!! :lol:

+6.75 (54)

Now, it's my turn to eat!
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +6.25(40) +6.75(54)

Phew! That's better, Hershey! I'm sure he thinks it's been a great day. :lol: I'd test again in another 30. If you see a rising number, you can slack off a bit. Great job!
Liz
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +6.25(40) +6.75(54)

Enjoy your WELL-EARNED snackus, Libby! Let us know how Hershey does on the next BG check, k? Glad to see that rise already, even though it's slight! Quite some drama in your condo :-) Wouldn't have it any other way of course!

Jane
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +6.25(40) +6.75(54)

:shock: :shock: :shock: Holy carp Hershey! I came home with DGS and thought I'd see what Hershey was up too, and Mannie, before heading on out again. My goodness - quite the surf there today. Glad to see Hershey thought he'd try out the 50's for a while. :-D Well done today Libby! and congrats on that well earned reduction. :-D :-D
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +6.25(40) +6.75(54)

WOW, what a morning! I was having trouble earlier too and gave up after 2 lost posts. Now this! Usually anything under 40 is a full .25u reduction. You should check w/ the dosing experts if Hershey doesn't hold his reductions well.

6790116748_bb1e69ed5d.jpg
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +6.25(40) +6.75(54)

Wow, Libby and Hershey, what an exciting condo today! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I tried posting earlier, but the Board was shaky and I didn't want to follow some posts there where you were getting advice. What a beautiful day for Hershey, and I'm so glad your strips came! I ran out of energy and didn't make it to Walmart to pick up an extra bottle. Congrats on if you take a reducie.
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +6.25(40) +7.75(79)

Thanks, Liz. I was glad to see a rising number, too!

Yes, Jane, Hershey likes drama! :-D

Hey, Michelle - Fun day with DGS! Thanks for stopping in to check on us. Yes, I was ready to leave the 30/40 neighborhood!

Hey, Ann/Tess - Thanks for the photo! I kept posting this morning, too, when we were looking for advice. I'd go back and it was gone. Thought it was me the first few times...

Yes, Ann/Maggie - Lots of excitement today! Unfortunately, I just surveyed my house and to-do list and realized NOTHING else has been done today...OOPS! Thanks for the reducie congrats. I haven't told Hershey, yet. He's still sleeping off the kitty crack!


+7.75 (79) - Guess all those carbs kicked in!!
 
Re: 7/27 Hershey AMPS(72) +4.75(30) +6.25(40) +7.75(79)

Good stuff :-) It's getting late here so I'm heading to bed. Looks like Hershey is heading for some safer surfing. Congratulations again - really well done and really well-earned. See you mollow (tomorrow).

Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top