7/26Ravan/amps87/+3 75/+7 67/pmps73/+6 82/

JoyBee&Ravan

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-25ravan-amps50-2-50-3-56-8-61-pmps65-5-71.217318/
images
PINK FLOWERS.JPG
 
I just had a conversation with a new vet at my vets office.She told me all Ravan's blood work came back good!! His Kidneys are stable :) She also said she was concerned that his BG was so low. (67 at the time of the blood test.) I explained to her I was keeping it low hoping I might be able to reduce the insulin dose.

She suggested to me that it was probably the reason Ravan was not eating well & feeling lousy. I guess I never thought about that.:arghh:

So this morning his BG is 87 & he was very hungry & appears to be feeling much better.She said in her practice she recommends the BG to be between 72 & 175. She said she has had many cats go into remission with those numbers!So I'm going to try reducing to .5 & seeing how Ravan does. I'm always anxious when I see him go over 120, but this time I'll wait a while to see where it goes.

This new vet also uses herbal remedies & acupuncture. I'm going to bring Peggy Sue in to see if she has any thing that might help her.

I always tell people here that our animals feel our emotions! I better follow my own advice & take a few deep breaths & try to "take one Day at a time" :)

Today "IS" better than yesterday!:joyful:

upload_2019-7-26_11-8-4.jpeg
 
I'm so glad to hear that! At least Ravan is feeling better and eating well. I know a lot of people say how tired and awful they feel when their blood sugar drops too low - didn't really think about kittiehs having the same problem, but it makes perfect sense! Have you checked your BG's? I check from time to time and honestly I feel more energetic when mine is around 100...at least mentally! I feel kinda down when it's lower (like in the 80's)...so when it's dropping I usually start thinking I should eat something. Maybe Ravan will feel better and more perky if he's in the low blue's rather than the low - mid greens...

Sometimes our vets do come thru for us! I'm so happy for you that the vet was able to give you some good information that is useful! :)

Have a good day JoyBee! Sending my regards to Miss Peggy Sue - hope she has a relaxing day in the sun :)
 
What a great post! So happy you're feeling better!:)
How nice about that new vet....!! She seems to have a less conventional way of practicing which is interesting, specially using herbs! As you said, she might be able to do something for little Peggy Sue! :)
She said in her practice she recommends the BG to be between 72 & 175. She said she has had many cats go into remission with those numbers!
That's very interesting !
I always tell people here that our animals feel our emotions! I better follow my own advice & take a few deep breaths & try to "take one Day at a time" :)
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Isn't your yoga soon ?? :p
 
Isn't your yoga soon ?? :p

I belong to a health Club ( i'm lucky I get a huge discount because I'm a long time resident & have low income) I can go to Yoga any day of the week. Tuesday morning is my favorite class but I go several times a week at different hours.
Yoga & a lot of classes are free in the membership.:)

What kind are they?
The flowers are impatiens. I LOVE bright colors in my garden. It's all pinks & purple. When The Hibiscus bloom I'll take a photo.
 
This. Post. Has. Made. My. Day!!

Joy, I’m just so encouraged from your visit with the vet today. You must be so relieved that you have gotten great news about Ravan, some new possibilities for Peggy Sue, and have already gained a good relationship and a bit of trust with the new vet. It’s such a relief as I know you were a little concerned about what type of person would be taking over the practice. I hope she follows through and keeps up the good work!!

It’s also just so great that Ravan had a great appetite today you must be so happy about that. I am :D

What a great way to kick of the weekend!
 
The BG between 72 and 175, was that human or pet meter? Sounds like pet meter numbers.

I am glad to hear Ravan is feeling better.
Thank you.

Human meter, I thought that also & asked her. I showed her Ravan's SS & she said she would prefer more "blue" #'s & the green should be over 70. I told her about this website & the reason I liked him in green. I could see she did not like me contradicting her!
She insisted it was better for them to be above 70 & up to 175. So due to the fact my "old" time vet might be retiring I decided to zip my lip & just not pursue the issue. I am going to try to go to .5 & see if he'll stay below 170. He did appear to be feeling better this morning when his BG was 87.

I think I got "additicted" to seeing his BG below 100 ! I'd freak out when he went near 120 & right away increased the dose a tiny bit (calipers).

Wendy do you know of anyone that had a cat with cancer, that had any Luck with at least extending their Cat's life ? I don't want to put her thru all the testing & surgery & then a feeding tube . I was hoping maybe chemo Or something new that might help?
 
Wendy do you know of anyone that had a cat with cancer, that had any Luck with at least extending their Cat's life ? I don't want to put her thru all the testing & surgery & then a feeding tube . I was hoping maybe chemo Or something new that might help?
Depends on the type of cancer. For example, small cell lymphoma has a remission rate (on the right chemo protocol) of around 90%. Been there, done that twice now. Other cancers, like pancreatic cancer, don't have good outcomes. In humans or cats. My civvie Theo was in remission from SCL but ended up passing from pancreatic cancer.:(

Acupuncture can help with pain, but is contraindicated in cats with cancer. It stimulates cell growth. Maybe the new vet has something herbal that can at least address quality of life.

As for dose range, here is one of my favourite quotes by the person who first used Levemir for his cat.
 
I belong to a health Club ( i'm lucky I get a huge discount because I'm a long time resident & have low income) I can go to Yoga any day of the week. Tuesday morning is my favorite class but I go several times a week at different hours.
Yoga & a lot of classes are free in the membership.:)


The flowers are impatiens. I LOVE bright colors in my garden. It's all pinks & purple. When The Hibiscus bloom I'll take a photo.

Beautiful! I'd love to see more pics of your garden :)
 
I belong to a health Club ( i'm lucky I get a huge discount because I'm a long time resident & have low income) I can go to Yoga any day of the week. Tuesday morning is my favorite class but I go several times a week at different hours.
Yoga & a lot of classes are free in the membership.:)


The flowers are impatiens. I LOVE bright colors in my garden. It's all pinks & purple. When The Hibiscus bloom I'll take a photo.
Yes! Can't wait ! :)
 
Squamous cell oral cancer.
Sorry, don't know much about it, other than that SRT (stereotactic radiation therapy) is one type of treatment used for it. I just know that because Neko had SRT for her pituitary tumour. Could you get a consult with a vet oncologist?
 
Could you get a consult with a vet oncologist?

Oncologist wants to do a biopsy under sedation (my vet just did a needle biopsy ) she also wants blood tests done before sedation. My research stated even with surgery & radiation the average survival is 52 days. The animal needs to be on a feeding tube for about 2 weeks.
She's 17 yrs old I don't want to put her thru all that. And they told me they cannot guarantee the cancer hasn't already spread. I did find info about injecting a mix of chemo directly into the tumor. Or implanting tiny beads of chemo into the tumor but no one is using this here in Illinois.( it's not new it's been around for years)
I communicated with a Vet in New Jersey that said he's having good results with this method. That doesn't help me :( I was hoping someone might have had some luck with a certain Chemo or even herbs to at least slow the progression of the tumor.
 
Back
Top