Re: 7/26 Tomcat PMPS 130, +2.5=58,+2.8=50,+3.5=54,+4=67, +7=
Honestly, Kelly?
Honestly, I have told people this before, Bob went OTJ in spite of me, not because of me. I was extremely lucky, blessed, fortunate, whatever word you want to put on it.
Here's what I did "right"...
I fed him low carb canned food, FF classics and Friskees Pates. Four meals a day.
I tested his BG without fail before shooting his insulin.
I followed my gut instincts when it came to dosage, because with PZI, I was able to adjust his dose depending on his preshot number. My gut instincts were very good, I guess.
Here's what I did wrong...
I didn't test nearly enough. In ten weeks I might have run six real curves.
I didn't test for nadir every day.
I was not a really active member on the board for most of the time Bob was on insulin. When I did come here, I spent 95% of my time reading. I researched the hell out of feline diabetes on line. I joined another board, much smaller than this one called sugarcats . com. A couple people from there encouraged me to come here, join up, and learn. I did.
Honestly, there was no secret in how I dealt with or managed Bob's diabetes. If anything, I probably didn't worry enough. I was more or less ignorant about bouncing and hypos and tons of other things. I didn't fret unless I saw a number under 50, and I only saw that twice. I probably missed it dozens of times. When I did see the 40s on the meter, I just fed him and went back to work or bed. That was stupid, but I was clueless.
I have never even seen a pen or vial of Lantus. Any suggestions I make here are the results of countless hours of reading, and countless PMs I've exchanged with people like Marje, Sienne, Libby, Jill, Dyana and several other wonderful ladies who have helped me to understand how Lantus works and how diabetes can be managed by following the TR protocol. Two years ago, I would not have gone near TR or Lantus with a ten foot pole. It scared the hell out of me. And I wasn't shy about saying so. Since then, through the gracious patience of many "tutors", I've come to understand it (I hope) and I've spent many a long night helping people do the all-nighters. And I've enjoyed every single minute of it. I've seen dozens of kitties go OTJ here, and to me, that is the biggest reward I get from being here. I want every single person who comes here to be able to put a note in their sig like the note that makes you smile in my sig. Even if they don't, I get a huge boost whenever I see somebody who sees a breakthrough, or who has a sick kitty who gets better, or just when I see a lightbulb go off in a new member's head that says "OH, NOW I get IT!" Those moments are priceless to me.
So that's my story!