7/26 Rocky(reducie 1.0u):PMPS 67 +2 60 +5.5 78 +7 64 +11 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon LL,

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122346

Yesteday's SS:
AMPS 64 +2 71 +3 58 +5 50 +7 82 +8.5 85 +19.5 87
PMPS 70 +2 69 +3.5 62 +4.5 53 +6 50 +7 58 +6 85 +11 68

I did not give Rocky his AM shot this morning. His BG had come down from 68 at PMPS +11 to 60 at his AM shot time. I thought if I gave the shot that I might be working to keep his numbers above 40 and I just don't like to do that. I also did not want to lower his insulin dose this morning because lately he has been eating a lot of: 8% Wellness Core; 18% FF-Grilled Turkey and Giblets; and a little bit of 33% Science Diet Light Minced Chicken and Liver when his BG is not going up when I need it to.

He's had a diet of pretty high carbs for awhile now, so I'm going to change that. Slowly, slowly, I'll be feeding him the lower range of carb foods, from 8% to 0%. I want him to keep the same good numbers any time I need to reduce his insulin dose. I started feeding him the lower carbs today. Because I want his BG to stay around 50 to 60, and, his BG was 60 at AMBG, I fed him the 0% NVIV for that meal. He's also eaten two mini-meals of the 2% Purfect Bistro Chicken Pate today. I'm not sure yet if I'll feed him a fourth time in this cycle. I usually like to save those "extra" calories for when he gets an insulin shot, just in case I need to feed him more food to keep his BG up.

I might reduce his insulin dose tonight, but I haven't decided yet, it depends on what his BG test is at his PM shot time. If I I do reduce his dose it's going to be by just a tiny, tiny amount. I think it will still be considered a type of "fat" 1.0u, but this time the 1.0u marker line will be slightly inside of the plunger.
 
Re: 7/26(reducie-f1.0u or F1.0u?): Rocky PMPS 67

I DID give Rocky his PM shot tonight. He got a very slight reduction in insulin. The past couple of days his BG had been going down right before shot time. Maybe it will be that it's time to stop reducing his dose. Someone once wrote here that there is a difference between a (f)1.0u and a (F)1.0u. What is the difference between these two doses? Anyway, he got a drop or two less of insulin tonight.

I fed him three mini-meals instead of 4 because he wasn't interested in eating a 4th meal when I came into the room. He usually flies into the air to great me at the door with the food. This time, all he could muster up was a sweet 'meow' and a head shake, acknowledging that food had arrived. LOL.. When he still didn't come to the food when I set it down, I waited for a few minutes and I talked to him. Still not movement for the food. So, I just picked it up right then before I left the room.
 
Re: 7/26 Rocky(reducie 1.0u): PMPS 67 +1 77 +2 60

Thank you Marje :-) Well, he did definitely get a few drops less tonight. It's so hard to describe this to people and I don't have a camera that would take a good close-up of it. Instead of the tip of the plunger resting on the bottom of the 1.0u marker line (the fat 1.0u), the 1.0u marker line was enveloped inside of it. Maybe this is just called a 1.0u.
 
Re: 7/26 Rocky(reducie 1.0u):PMPS 67 +1 77 +2 60 +4.5 71

I think it's great the way Rocky is moving down and holding his green. It's amazing how much better he is doing. You are doing such a good job with him!!
 
Re: 7/26 Rocky(reducie 1.0u):PMPS 67 +1 77 +2 60 +4.5 71

Rocky is looking fantastic! I can't wait to see his beautiful green SS when you get a chance to input the data (and study it with envy ;-) :-D ).
 
Re: 7/26 Rocky(reducie 1.0u):PMPS 67 +1 77 +2 60 +4.5 71

I think part of it right now Elise is that I'm not panicking if I see that his BG is dropping fast, or even if he goes to 40. It makes me a lot less heavy handed with the carbs. I also think that maybe that Doxy he had for pneumonia may have knocked out another 'unknown' internal infection.

I am probably going to put him back on the Doxy for 3 or 4 weeks because when he was DKA he had anemia, and the report said to maybe test him for Bartonella. However, that test is highly unreliable, (it tests negative a lot, when the animal actually has the blood parasite.) I can't afford the test so it's just easier to give him the Doxy. The vet already said she would prescribe it for him if I want to do it. He's not acting sick right now, but I may do it anyway.

I also want to get his teeth cleaned sometime soon.
 
Re: 7/26 Rocky(reducie 1.0u):PMPS 67 +1 77 +2 60 +4.5 71

I don't know about your vet but mine is really expensive for teeth cleaning and he doesn't believe in x-rays. The last time I managed to get it done in February when they give a discount but we didn't do it this year. He has medium tartar so will need it at some point likely before February.
 
Re: 7/26 Rocky(reducie 1.0u):PMPS 67 +1 77 +2 60 +4.5 71 +5.

Yes, their teeth cleaning is so darn expensive. When I said that the Bartonella test is expensive and I can't afford it, I meant that I'm not paying over $100.00 for an unreliable test, only to decide to treat him with the Doxy anyway!

I will most likely take Rocky to a place called Mercy Vet Hospital in Citrus Heights. They charge a lot less than any other vet around. Their office visits start at $29.00 and they offer discount coupons for some things. Right now, they have a $10.00 off coupon for any procedure over $75.00. I think that their dental cleaning is around $99.00? Of course, they want you to get the blood work done, but it also costs about 1/2 of what the other vets charge. I don't think it should cost more than $200.00 to get Rocky's teeth cleaned. with the blood work included.

I just got a bit of a let down... LOL.. Rocky's BG is still going up after I fed him 1/4 can of the 8% Wellness Corec at PMPS +2. He had the NVIV 0% for his PMPS. Even though he is at 78 right now, I just fed him another 1/4 can of the NVIV 0%. He has now eaten 8.25oz of food for the day. He usually gets about 9.6oz of food for the entire day, but I'm not going to feed him anymore tonight. I don't want his BG to go up any further because of MORE food that I give to him. It looks like I'm going to be feeding him the 0% carbs through the 4% carbs while he's at the 1.0u.

I know that I should not worry about it, and I should be satisfied with his BG number in the 70s, but I'm not. If he keeps going up I'm going to bump his insulin dose up ASAP.
 
Re: 7/26 Rocky(reducie 1.0u):PMPS 67 +1 77 +2 60 +4.5 71 +5.

It's about $700 I think to get Max's teeth cleaned. Don't you have anesthesia? I'd be happy with a 72. I think I overdid it a little with the carbs again because I didn't want him under 50 and he is now 82. I'll test one more time without food and then call it a night.
 
Re: 7/26 Rocky(reducie 1.0u):PMPS 67 +1 77 +2 60 +5.5 78 +7

Oh, yes, there is no way that I'd get Rocky's teeth cleaned without anesthesia. I don't know how this place manages to keep their costs down. I could be off on the price, but I know that it's a lot less than all of the vets in the nearby cities.

I'm also going to bed. It's nearly 1:30am here. I'll retest Rocky at 4am to see if his BG went up or down. If he's under 100 by AM shot time, I'll keep the same insulin dose but just not feed him anything above 4% carb for all day long. If he's over 100 at AM shot time, I'll bump his dose back up to a f1.0.

***Well, didn't make it to bed after all. I went to retest Rocky right before going to get into my pjs, and found that he had eaten hardly any of the NVIV I had fed him at +5.5. Now his BG has come down to 64. I fed him the Purfect Bistro 2% carb at +7. Let's see what that does for him. That Wellness Core 8% that I fed him at +2 pushed his BG up 18 points for nearly 5 hours. Yikes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top