Tina & Rocky
Member Since 2013
Good afternoon LL,
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122346
Yesteday's SS:
AMPS 64 +2 71 +3 58 +5 50 +7 82 +8.5 85 +19.5 87
PMPS 70 +2 69 +3.5 62 +4.5 53 +6 50 +7 58 +6 85 +11 68
I did not give Rocky his AM shot this morning. His BG had come down from 68 at PMPS +11 to 60 at his AM shot time. I thought if I gave the shot that I might be working to keep his numbers above 40 and I just don't like to do that. I also did not want to lower his insulin dose this morning because lately he has been eating a lot of: 8% Wellness Core; 18% FF-Grilled Turkey and Giblets; and a little bit of 33% Science Diet Light Minced Chicken and Liver when his BG is not going up when I need it to.
He's had a diet of pretty high carbs for awhile now, so I'm going to change that. Slowly, slowly, I'll be feeding him the lower range of carb foods, from 8% to 0%. I want him to keep the same good numbers any time I need to reduce his insulin dose. I started feeding him the lower carbs today. Because I want his BG to stay around 50 to 60, and, his BG was 60 at AMBG, I fed him the 0% NVIV for that meal. He's also eaten two mini-meals of the 2% Purfect Bistro Chicken Pate today. I'm not sure yet if I'll feed him a fourth time in this cycle. I usually like to save those "extra" calories for when he gets an insulin shot, just in case I need to feed him more food to keep his BG up.
I might reduce his insulin dose tonight, but I haven't decided yet, it depends on what his BG test is at his PM shot time. If I I do reduce his dose it's going to be by just a tiny, tiny amount. I think it will still be considered a type of "fat" 1.0u, but this time the 1.0u marker line will be slightly inside of the plunger.
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122346
Yesteday's SS:
AMPS 64 +2 71 +3 58 +5 50 +7 82 +8.5 85 +19.5 87
PMPS 70 +2 69 +3.5 62 +4.5 53 +6 50 +7 58 +6 85 +11 68
I did not give Rocky his AM shot this morning. His BG had come down from 68 at PMPS +11 to 60 at his AM shot time. I thought if I gave the shot that I might be working to keep his numbers above 40 and I just don't like to do that. I also did not want to lower his insulin dose this morning because lately he has been eating a lot of: 8% Wellness Core; 18% FF-Grilled Turkey and Giblets; and a little bit of 33% Science Diet Light Minced Chicken and Liver when his BG is not going up when I need it to.
He's had a diet of pretty high carbs for awhile now, so I'm going to change that. Slowly, slowly, I'll be feeding him the lower range of carb foods, from 8% to 0%. I want him to keep the same good numbers any time I need to reduce his insulin dose. I started feeding him the lower carbs today. Because I want his BG to stay around 50 to 60, and, his BG was 60 at AMBG, I fed him the 0% NVIV for that meal. He's also eaten two mini-meals of the 2% Purfect Bistro Chicken Pate today. I'm not sure yet if I'll feed him a fourth time in this cycle. I usually like to save those "extra" calories for when he gets an insulin shot, just in case I need to feed him more food to keep his BG up.
I might reduce his insulin dose tonight, but I haven't decided yet, it depends on what his BG test is at his PM shot time. If I I do reduce his dose it's going to be by just a tiny, tiny amount. I think it will still be considered a type of "fat" 1.0u, but this time the 1.0u marker line will be slightly inside of the plunger.