7/26 Eddie PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +8/51, +9/87

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

YESTERDAY: AMPS/123, +1/174, +2/181, +2.5/189, +6/154, +6.5/146, +8.5/168, +10.5/134, PMPS/124, +1/144, +2/80....a gorgeous run of 50's, 60's, and 70's held up with various treats of HC, MC, and karo...+7/60, +8/66, +11/125
TODAY: AMPS/171, +2/316, +5/243, +6/243, +8/268, +10/212, PMPS/181, +1/181, +2/109, +2.5/72, +3/59, +3.5/56, +4/59, +4.5/42, +5/40, +5.5/48, +6/76, +7/63, +7.5/52, +8/51, +8.5/70, +9/87

Happy Caturday LL!

Eddie had an excellent day yesterday. He had a flat wobbly blue bounce cycle yesterday during the AM. In the past, Eddie either heads into a full blown bounce after one of these cycles or has a bounce clearing active cycle. It was the latter last night. :-D :mrgreen:

I think I've figured out that Eddie gets so darn much momentum when he's bounce clearing, he aims directly for the bottom of the lagoon. I'm thinking that if I can keep him from earning a reduction during these really busy cycles by propping him up, he can flatten out on a dose. I think that may be what happened back in May....he was earning reductions almost every time he cleared a bounce because he would hit the 30's or 40's, but then he'd bounce....worse and worse as our dose got lower. My hope is to see if I can flatten him out for a while at 2.25u before he earns another reduction (if that's what he has in mind). I'm pretty certain that he would have earned a reduction last night. I actually had to work fairly hard at keeping him up with the drop at the beginning of the cycle. He had some HC of 15% right away at +2, and then MC every hour or so if his numbers were going down. I did add a drop of karo (thanks Elise for that suggestion!) to the MC at +4, which did bump him up about 20 points right away. Interestingly, the karo only lasted about an hour before Eddie headed back to the 50's. I sometimes think that maybe his "normal," "healthy" BG was in the 40's and 50's before FD, so maybe that's why he heads straight for those numbers. After he continued to surf in the 50's and 60's without food for about an hour and a half, I finally called it a night. @-)

Today, Eddie's bouncing. Yep. That's a stinky pinky in there at +2. It does look like he may clear the bounce yet this cycle. But, it looks like he's going to give me a chance to run a few errands this afternoon, including picking up dry cleaning and cat food.

My sleep has not been great as of late anyway, but our foster kitty Blueberry has been making things even more difficult. :-| His new nickname is Blueberry B**b-stomper. He wakes me up by trying to stand on my b**bs at about 2 or 3 in the morning, asking for headbutts. He's a huge cat, weighing around 15 pounds, so this b**b stomping not only wakes me up, but it hurts! I try to shift him to my side to snuggle him and he heads right back for the b**bs. I roll him over to DH's side of the bed, and DH pushes him off the bed, and then he hops right back up on my side to stand on my b**bs. The upside is that if I'm sleeping on my stomach, he does give great back massages. :-D

Have a great day LL! Hugs and vines to all in need, especially Mariko and Wendy.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, +5/243

Hi Jen. Karo does last a shorter time. Sometimes I give a little mc or even hc with it if I might to really prop Max up. It results in a higher number but I usually able to prevent a reduction before he is ready for one. Max does what Eddie does with the dives and his BG was never low but of course ECID. I have lots of results due to his p'itis. Come on down now Eddie.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, +5/243, +10/212

It's nice to see Eddie clearing the bounces so quickly. I hope you can flatten him out some & keep him from earning the reducie too soon.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, +5/243, PMPS/181, +2/109

Hi Elise and Carla!

Eddie's sure giving me a lot of practice trying to slow the drops. :-D :shock:

Looks like we're probably in for a party tonight again....a slide down all day into a blue PMPS, no food bump, and an 80 point drop from +1 to +2...

I'm wondering if there's any thoughts on how to slow that drop between +1 and +2. I haven't tried feeding at +1 yet, just because he's either had a small food bump, I haven't gotten a test (my bad), or he's been flat. I've been holding out on feeding something HC at +1 so far since he hasn't had a drop at +1 yet when he's doing the diving game.

Edited to add PJ party rundown:

PMPS/181 - 4 Tbsp. 5% (normal meal)
+1/181 - no food
+2/109 - 1 Tbsp. 18%
+2.5/72 - 1 Tbsp. 12% + 1 drop karo (accidentally fed 12% rather than 18% as I had intended)
+3/59 - 1 Tbsp. 18% + 1 drop karo
+3.5/56 - no food - want to see if Eddie stops dropping on his own
+4/59 - no food - surfing on his own?
+4.5/42 - nope - 1 Tbsp. 18%
+5/40 - 1 Tbsp. 22% + 1 drop karo
+5.5/48 - 1 Tbsp. 15%
+6/76 - no food
+7/63 - no food
+7.5/52 - 1 Tbsp. 8%
+8/51 - 1 Tbsp. 8%
+8.5/70
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, +5/243, PMPS/181, +2/109, +3.5/56

I do often feed at +1. If I think it's going to be an active cycle I have been successful with mc food. My current one is Trader Joe's turkey and giblets. When I have done that he tends to not hit green or just for a short time though. If you have to work too hard at keeping him up you might need to take a reducie. Good luck.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, +5/243, PMPS/181, +2/109, +3.5/56

Thanks Elise. If you look at Eddie's SS, he's had several really active cycles recently, where if I don't stop him, he's in the 30's by +2.5. He earned reductions twice doing this last week. That's why I've been trying to prop him up early in the cycle. He didn't do well with fast reductions last time, but on the other hand, I can't stay home and feed half-hourly all morning during the work week....I skipped food at +3.5 to see if he will stop dropping on his own. When he's on a mission like this MC does nothing to stop him early in the cycle. Tonight, karo hasn't even bumped him up (although it did seem to slow him down a bit).
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, +5/243, PMPS/181, +2/109, +3.5/56

What about a small amount of hc then when he is on a mission? I've done that when Max hits the 50's early in the cycle. I get the dives as Max does it too and rarely holds reductions.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, +5/243, PMPS/181, +2/109, +3.5/56

tiffmaxee said:
What about a small amount of hc then when he is on a mission? I've done that when Max hits the 50's early in the cycle. I get the dives as Max does it too and rarely holds reductions.

Yeah, that's what I have been doing. :-D Since he's diving so much of late, he's giving me a lot of practice. I do worry though about going back into the work week. He's had a couple T's of 18% tonight without much effect so far.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, +5/243, PMPS/181, +2/109, +3.5/56

Jen&Eddie said:
Yeah, that's what I have been doing. Since he's diving so much of late, he's giving me a lot of practice. I do worry though about going back into the work week. He's had a couple T's of 18% tonight without much effect so far.

Don't forget you have the option of a reduction tomorrow if it is too hard. Safety first. I know you already know this and also would feel the same way you do about it.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, +5/243, PMPS/181, +2/109, +3.5/56

Yeah, that's the balance I'm trying to find...holding the dose to flatten him out versus keeping him safe. I did withhold food at +3.5 just to see if maybe he would stop dropping on his own and settle into the 50's and at +4, he is holding in the 50's, so that's good. :smile:
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, +5/243, PMPS/181, +2/109, +4.5/42

+4.5 = 42

Welp....nope. It appears Eddie was surfing on the karo, not on his own. We might be done with this dose.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +4.5/42, +5/40

Yup, I think this dose might be toast. :mrgreen: If after all that extra sugary goodness he still hit's 40 (so far), then I think he's getting too much insulin.

Hey Eddie - time to come up a little. I hear the 60's are a great place to surf.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +4.5/42, +5/40

Yeah, I guess Eddie's got different plans than I did about holding this dose. :mrgreen: :roll: Hopefully things go differently this time around and the bouncing doesn't start to get out of control.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +4.5/42, +5/40

Eddie does seem to be a moonlight lagoon visitor. I notice he hasn't had any greens during the day at this dose. That's good, since you're at work. Of course, you'd probably like to be able to sleep at night, so maybe it's not ideal for him to dive at night. :lol: I hope you find the purrfect dose soon and he evens out for you.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +4.5/42, +5/40

Tricia & Cinco said:
Eddie does seem to be a moonlight lagoon visitor. I notice he hasn't had any greens during the day at this dose. That's good, since you're at work. Of course, you'd probably like to be able to sleep at night, so maybe it's not ideal for him to dive at night. :lol: I hope you find the purrfect dose soon and he evens out for you.

Eddie has been courteous lately by keeping his dives at night, although I had to call in to work last Monday to do CPCPC all morning. :roll: That was the beginning of his early cycle diving shenanigans. Who needs sleep when your FD kitty is getting good numbers?? :lol:
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76

:lol: :lol: :lol: it's PCPCPC :lol: :lol: but I knew what you meant ;-) ;-)

I also think I'd take the dose down. We've actually been dealing with the same issue with Gracie...early diving and she's on lev. The big dives cause the bounces and she also clears her bounces like a house afire. I took her dose down to try and break that dive bounce cycle. If she flattens out in anything but normal numbers, then I'll increase but usually just breaking the cycle helps.

Good luck with the reduction!!!
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76

Marje and Gracie said:
:lol: :lol: :lol: it's PCPCPC :lol: :lol: but I knew what you meant ;-) ;-)

Oh duh! HAHAHA! I suppose the poke comes before the carb. :lol:

Marje and Gracie said:
I also think I'd take the dose down. We've actually been dealing with the same issue with Gracie...early diving and she's on lev. The big dives cause the bounces and she also clears her bounces like a house afire. I took her dose down to try and break that dive bounce cycle. If she flattens out in anything but normal numbers, then I'll increase but usually just breaking the cycle helps.

Good luck with the reduction!!!

The early cycle dive is new to us, but it's been kind of difficult to manage. Eddie also bounces (I think) because of the huge fast drop right at the start of the cycle. But like Gracie, he's clearing the bounce so fast on some cycles (200+ point drops), that he bounces off the drop again. Once that pattern starts, it been hard to stop it. I'll be watching to see how Gracie does with the reduction and R to knock down the bounces.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76

I'm just giving her a tiny drop of R right now to try and stop the bounce from getting too high. Unfortunately tonight, half of the drop was still on the needle when I pulled out the syringe and she thought I was done so she and Tobey took off on their after dinner race. It worked fairly well last night.

I'll be watching Eddie.

Hope Blueberry finds another place to knead! :lol:
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76

I've thought about whether R might possibly be an option for Eddie, but it's tough to tell when he's going to have a high flat cycle, and when he's going to clear a bounce immediately. Something I might think about later on again. It does seem like getting them to flatten out makes a world of difference. I hope that the R will help minimize some of the time Gracie's in the yellows.

At +6, Eddie popped up to 76 so I thought maybe it was the beginning of the inevitable bounce, but at +7, he's back down to 63. The 76 must just have been a bit of a late response to the HC + karo. Guess we're not quite done yet for the night.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +7/

You must be tired.

I think Gracies dose was a little too high so I have to give her time to clear any extra glucagon, etc and if she doesn't come down to blue/green...up she goes above the dose I just reduced her from.

Have a great night.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +7/

I think Skooter and I will be up with you for a wee bit longer lol
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +7.

Thanks Marje! :YMHUG:

Hi Molly! I might be up for a while yet, too. @-)

+6 = 76, +7 = 63, +7.5 = 52

Coming back down a bit. This late in the cycle, I'm hoping a little high-ish LC will get Eddie to stay up.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +7.

Hi Jen and Eddie! I'm awake too. Billie was in a rush to get to the lagoon again, although not as fast as last night at least! She also seems to dive early, bounce from that, break the bounce by diving early again, etc. I have been spreading out her meals between PS and +4, but she still rushes on her way down. Eddie looks very good tonight, even if it's a little too good! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +7.

Sheesh! Yeah, Billie did head straight for the lagoon tonight! I'd been pretty aggressively using food to keep Eddie flatter for the past several weeks, but he seemed to have a breakthrough at 2.75u. Since then, he's been diving early and hard in the cycle. I'd been trying to prop him up to avoid a reduction, but even HC and karo didn't stop him tonight. I know there's a number of kitties around here use higher LC or even medium carb early in the cycle to try to slow down the drops.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +7.

I guess he has other plans! Good luck with the reduction! I tried a couple 8% options one day, but Billie didn't like them, so that was a failed experiment before it started. Maybe it's worth another try. I've been giving her 4-6%. I have to wake her up for a poke now, and she is sleeping soundly with her paw over her eyes, so I feel like a total jerk. Of course, the same thing happened last night, and she went right back to sleep in the same spot after a poke and a treat.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +8/

Thanks Deanna :-D

I love the Merricks 8% stuff - Turducken, Grammy's Pot Pie, Thanksgiving Dinner, and I think there's another one. I've also had good luck with Wellness for the 8-10% range.

I totally hear you on feeling bad about marathon pokies. Eddie's normally an angel for his pokes. We don't even give him a food treat anymore...just snuggles and love with each poke...and he still comes happily to get his pokes (usually). Tonight though, he's definitely getting annoyed with me.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +8/

Eddie has definitely had enough of this dose. I can't believe he went back down again. I would have thought he was done when he hit 76. Time to come up for real now Eddie.
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +8/

tiffmaxee said:
Eddie has definitely had enough of this dose. I can't believe he went back down again. I would have thought he was done when he hit 76. Time to come up for real now Eddie.

+8.5 = 70

I also thought the 76 was the beginning of a bounce. I'm surprised he dropped back down, too. @-) I think he'll stay up now. He got a bump up from some 8%. Will probably get one more test and then call it assuming he's not dropping back down.

Looks like Max might be planning on keeping you busy tonight, too!
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +8/

Billie is head over heels for Turducken! She just had some mixed in with her Turkey Pate. She seems to be surfing, so I will sneak in a nap. Eddie, come on back up!!
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie AMPS 171, PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +8/

Jen, the BG drop from 181 to 109 was significant. it was 72 points. If that happened to Rocky, I would have fed him a 1/4 can of an 8% carb food. Did you feed Eddie when he had that first huge drop?
 
Re: 7/26 Eddie PMPS/181, +2/109, +5/40, +6/76, +8/51, +8.5/7

Tina & Rocky said:
Jen, the BG drop from 181 to 109 was significant. it was 72 points. If that happened to Rocky, I would have fed him a 1/4 can of an 8% carb food. Did you feed Eddie when he had that first huge drop?

Hi Tina. Yep. If you scroll over, you can see exactly what and when I fed. Eddie got the following tonight:

Jen&Eddie said:
PMPS/181 - 4 Tbsp. 5% (normal meal)
+1/181 - no food
+2/109 - 1 Tbsp. 18%
+2.5/72 - 1 Tbsp. 12% + 1 drop karo (accidentally fed 12% rather than 18% as I had intended)
+3/59 - 1 Tbsp. 18% + 1 drop karo
+3.5/56 - no food - want to see if Eddie stops dropping on his own
+4/59 - no food - surfing on his own?
+4.5/42 - nope - 1 Tbsp. 18%
+5/40 - 1 Tbsp. 22% + 1 drop karo
+5.5/48 - 1 Tbsp. 15%
+6/76 - no food
+7/63 - no food
+7.5/52 - 1 Tbsp. 8%
+8/51 - 1 Tbsp. 8%
+8.5/70

I've been pretty aggressively trying to prop him up at the beginning of these cycles where he's diving early.

I expect that Eddie will bounce from that big drop. Not sure how to get ahead of that drop that early in the cycle. Perhaps the reduced dose will help with those dives.
 
I don't believe it's the reduced dose that helps stop the dives. I think it might have something more to do with what percentage carb food and how much of it we are feeding them after the first big drop. I think that they can still dive, even on a reduced dose of insulin. I believe that the diving might have something more to do with not leveling out the proper amount of carbs in their system, by either feeding them too much of a high carb, or not enough of an MC when then need it, but it's just a guess.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top