7/26 Autumn amps-80, pmps-129, Cassanova amps-95, Pmps-180

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/26 Autumn amps-80, Cassanova amps-95

Nice numbers. Don't think Prop will be joyning them on the lawn. She seems to like the pool today :)
 
Re: 7/26 Autumn amps-80, Cassanova amps-95

These two were hanging out on the sundeck and in the pool all day yesterday. Then bam at pmps start the green surf.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/26 Autumn amps-80, pmps-129, Cassanova amps-95, Pmps-

have fun on the lawn. we are still at ballet class with the pink tutu of shame ! lol
 
Re: 7/26 Autumn amps-80, pmps-129, Cassanova amps-95, Pmps-

hi mel
hope you don't mind. i copied and pasted your funnel explanation of the lantus shed to someone on the main board. she didn't understand it either so i told her that you had a great explanation of it and copied it to her. hope that's ok
thanks again
nadine
 
Re: 7/26 Autumn amps-80, pmps-129, Cassanova amps-95, Pmps-

thanks mel
you know i can't believe it. now when it's testing time, Tibbsy really does come running to get his treats.
He is so excited to get his treats that he just tolerates the test so well. It really did happen and after
only 2 weeks. this is wonderful !!
 
Re: 7/26 Autumn amps-80, pmps-129, Cassanova amps-95, Pmps-

great new tibbs! where is the funnel explanation? those explanations usually help me. i just saw the one today about the colors on the ss. i nvr knew the color explanation, jst kinda figured it out frm what ppl were saying.
i like mels explanation of driving in a car at a certain speed and then slowing down...saw that 1 somewhere and it helped also! maybe they could all be posted for new folks? they would have been really great whn i was brand new.
 
Re: 7/26 Autumn amps-80, pmps-129, Cassanova amps-95, Pmps-

hi pam
here is mel's funnel explanation, it's great.
nadine

from Mel:
Think of a funnel...now without corking the little end you are trying to fill up that funnel so the water stays even with the top while its still running out of the bottom. If you pour too much or too fast it overflows (hypo) if you don't pour fast enough or enough the level at the top sinks. (High BGs). The water only remains level if the right amount at the right rate goes in the top at the same rate it goes out the bottom. The top of the funnel is Tibbs BGs, the water in the funnel is the insulin and the funnel itself is the shed. So when you increase the dose you've have raised the top of the funnel to make a bigger funnel but it's still running out of the bottom at the same rate it was. However this funnel magically adjusts the hole at the bottom to match the top hole. But while it remolds itself his BGs either stay high or go even a little higher. A phenomena we affectionately call New Dose Wonkiness. Once the top and bottom of the funnel magically adjusts then the BGs stabilize again.

Regardless the insulin you just shot into Tibbs' funnel isn't what is running out the bottom. That is what was already in the funnel. Each shot builds on the previous until the rate going in the top matches the rate out the bottom.

Because of the type of insulin Lantus is when you inject it, very little is in a useable form for Tibbs to use right away. Lantus forms little crystals under the skin that has to melt before they become effective.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top