Re: 7/26 Autumn amps-80, pmps-129, Cassanova amps-95, Pmps-
hi pam
here is mel's funnel explanation, it's great.
nadine
from Mel:
Think of a funnel...now without corking the little end you are trying to fill up that funnel so the water stays even with the top while its still running out of the bottom. If you pour too much or too fast it overflows (hypo) if you don't pour fast enough or enough the level at the top sinks. (High BGs). The water only remains level if the right amount at the right rate goes in the top at the same rate it goes out the bottom. The top of the funnel is Tibbs BGs, the water in the funnel is the insulin and the funnel itself is the shed. So when you increase the dose you've have raised the top of the funnel to make a bigger funnel but it's still running out of the bottom at the same rate it was. However this funnel magically adjusts the hole at the bottom to match the top hole. But while it remolds itself his BGs either stay high or go even a little higher. A phenomena we affectionately call New Dose Wonkiness. Once the top and bottom of the funnel magically adjusts then the BGs stabilize again.
Regardless the insulin you just shot into Tibbs' funnel isn't what is running out the bottom. That is what was already in the funnel. Each shot builds on the previous until the rate going in the top matches the rate out the bottom.
Because of the type of insulin Lantus is when you inject it, very little is in a useable form for Tibbs to use right away. Lantus forms little crystals under the skin that has to melt before they become effective.