? 7/25 SHEBA AMPS 293; +5 295 two questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...of-kangaroo-meat-and-nutritional-info.141440/

AMPS 293
Sheba appears well in herself. Mobility is good which I am really pleased about, having stopped the metacam. Appy good. LB issues OK.

Not very happy about the numbers though. Hard to tell how effective the tramadol is except by looking at the BSLs. This is her 6 th cycle without green numbers although she almost made it in cycle 3 when she got 101.
She has had a few blue preshots but has gone up after each one.
Is she bouncing from the lower preshots? Or something else? Or is she not bouncing and just needs to go up with the insulin?

If anyone could have a look and tell me what they think I would be grateful, thanks.

Also she has some ache on her chin. I have got rid of any plastic bowls. Her auto feeder is plastic and I have started to put little paper cupcake papers into each area so her chin does not touch the plastic. Only started this a couple of nights ago but it works well. The chin ache has only come up since I have upper the use of the auto feeder.
I am cleaning the area after each feed and have put diluted betadine on it, also tried Apple cider vinegar......which I need to weaken as it may have been too strong.
It gets very itchy and she scratches it on things. Could this be increasing her BSLs?
Does anyone have any other good ideas on how to treat it please?
Thanks
 
Bron, @Paula has been dealing with chin acne with her Michael. She may have some info for you. I think others here have dealt with it, too.

I don't give dosing advice, and I don't know much about Lev, so I can't help you there. Im glad Sheba is doing well and has good mobility. Hopefully someone will be along soon to give you more guidance.
 
I forgot about the auto feeders being plastic and acne. I had a cat that would get it. It was probably 25 years ago. That vet had her on Baytril and pred every time which I don't think was the right way to treat it. Getting rid of plastic dishes didn't help her. I was also given a topical but I can't remember what it was. Did you ask your vet? Sorry I don't gave any answers for you.
 
I forgot about the auto feeders being plastic and acne. I had a cat that would get it. It was probably 25 years ago. That vet had her on Baytril and pred every time which I don't think was the right way to treat it. Getting rid of plastic dishes didn't help her. I was also given a topical but I can't remember what it was. Did you ask your vet? Sorry I don't gave any answers for you.
I asked the vet, he had no answers.
I have just noticed it has spread to above her top lip....if they have a top lip. It seems to have got worse since I have been treating it.! I must be doing the wrong thing.
 
Bron, that is strange. I have had one cat, a Siamese, years ago (about 25 years ago!) that had the chin acne, but I have never seen it spread to anywhere else.
 
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...of-kangaroo-meat-and-nutritional-info.141440/

AMPS 293
Sheba appears well in herself. Mobility is good which I am really pleased about, having stopped the metacam. Appy good. LB issues OK.

Not very happy about the numbers though. Hard to tell how effective the tramadol is except by looking at the BSLs. This is her 6 th cycle without green numbers although she almost made it in cycle 3 when she got 101.
She has had a few blue preshots but has gone up after each one.
Is she bouncing from the lower preshots? Or something else? Or is she not bouncing and just needs to go up with the insulin?

If anyone could have a look and tell me what they think I would be grateful, thanks.

Also she has some ache on her chin. I have got rid of any plastic bowls. Her auto feeder is plastic and I have started to put little paper cupcake papers into each area so her chin does not touch the plastic. Only started this a couple of nights ago but it works well. The chin ache has only come up since I have upper the use of the auto feeder.
I am cleaning the area after each feed and have put diluted betadine on it, also tried Apple cider vinegar......which I need to weaken as it may have been too strong.
It gets very itchy and she scratches it on things. Could this be increasing her BSLs?
Does anyone have any other good ideas on how to treat it please?
Thanks

I had not thought about cupcake papers. I have heard that it is not good to use plastic bowls for food, and of course all of the auto feeders have plastic. What I have done is I found small little glass or ceramic dishes that would easily fit in the slots of the auto feeder. I have a couple of different auto feeders and in one I use shallow saucers that are suppose to be used for bread dipping oil, and in the other feeders I use small 2 0z glass dishes that I got from a restaurant supply company. Sammy does better with the little saucer type dishes over the bowls, and honestly I like those feeders better because all compartments touch the ice pack at all times. Where as the other feeder that I can use the little bowls only the current food slot is over the ice pack, and what good is that for all the other slots that are sitting for hours waiting for their turn to be eaten. The only thing I don't like about the feeder that we use most often is that it is not digital and you can't get an exact open time. It also stays open after wards, which isn't that big of a deal in Sammy's case because he is a grazer and doesn't typically eat the entire snack, EVER!
 
Hopefully Paula will have the answers, if I recall she said it didn't seem to effect Michael's BG but ECID. I haven't dealt with cat acne before but my first thought is to try coconut oil which is supposed to be good for human acne though it's effects may take a little while to be seen. As the drying treatments don't seem to be working doing the opposite might be good too. It is soothing anti inflammatory, antibacterial and I don't think it will effect the BG even if licked off. Ust going to look at her SS now brb
 
It does look like she's bouncing from the drop on PM 7/23 and either she's had some quick responses to some increases in the past or it sometimes takes her a little longer than the 6 bounce clearing cycles to get back to the lagoon. I have noticed with Purrdy that it's better to extend that waiting period to 8 cycles. Her cycles remind me of Purrdy quite a bit (before he went so green after he arrived here), although she does bounce much higher.

I wonder if you might be up for trying the Purrdy experiment and dropping her dose by a third for two cycles before picking up at 6.25 again. It is a completely off protocol experiment but I'm thinking that it won't do her any harm and if it works for her too we could be on to something quite amazing as another tool in our arsenal. I hesitate to suggest it because it is completely off protocol but in your circumstances decided that there's no harm in putting it out there for your consideration.
 
I'm sorry about the chin acne. I hope you can find something that helps. I wonder if Aloe Vera would help? I hope Sheba slides down today.
 
I don't think Sheba is bouncing off of pre-shot numbers. If you look at 7/23, there was a drop from a high of 304 at +3.5 to 101 at +9. That's a good sized drop and it's likely the 200 point drop caused some bounciness. Remember, it's not just low numbers that can cause a bounce. A big drop as well as a fast drop can trigger a bounce.

 
Bron, that is strange. I have had one cat, a Siamese, years ago (about 25 years ago!) that had the chin acne, but I have never seen it spread to anywhere else.
I'm sorry about the chin acne. I hope you can find something that helps. I wonder if Aloe Vera would help? I hope Sheba slides down today.
Rhonda...I know it is strange...I can't remember if I wioed her top lip or not when I was treating the chin....so I might have created it...not sure. It comes down from her nose and makes a triangle ...including the chin bit.
Elise...I treated it with just water at first to clean and dry. Then tried Apple cider vinegar which I think was too strong, then betadine. Gone back to water.
 
I had not thought about cupcake papers. I have heard that it is not good to use plastic bowls for food, and of course all of the auto feeders have plastic. What I have done is I found small little glass or ceramic dishes that would easily fit in the slots of the auto feeder. I have a couple of different auto feeders and in one I use shallow saucers that are suppose to be used for bread dipping oil, and in the other feeders I use small 2 0z glass dishes that I got from a restaurant supply company. Sammy does better with the little saucer type dishes over the bowls, and honestly I like those feeders better because all compartments touch the ice pack at all times. Where as the other feeder that I can use the little bowls only the current food slot is over the ice pack, and what good is that for all the other slots that are sitting for hours waiting for their turn to be eaten. The only thing I don't like about the feeder that we use most often is that it is not digital and you can't get an exact open time. It also stays open after wards, which isn't that big of a deal in Sammy's case because he is a grazer and doesn't typically eat the entire snack, EVER!
@Tina & Sammy
I looked for some small bowls online initially and couldn't find any suitable...that is why I resorted to the cup cake papers...until I could get to the shops and buy some bowls. But I have found the cupcake papers are really good and I just throw them out each morning and I don't have to clean the auto feeder as there is no mess at all...it is all in the papers.
 
I'm sorry about the chin acne. I hope you can find something that helps. I wonder if Aloe Vera would help? I hope Sheba slides down today.
Thanks Carla @carfurby
It is in a place she can lick, so is it ok to use aloe Vera then? I have some growing in the garden and use it for burns etc on humans and it is excellent
 
It does look like she's bouncing from the drop on PM 7/23 and either she's had some quick responses to some increases in the past or it sometimes takes her a little longer than the 6 bounce clearing cycles to get back to the lagoon. I have noticed with Purrdy that it's better to extend that waiting period to 8 cycles. Her cycles remind me of Purrdy quite a bit (before he went so green after he arrived here), although she does bounce much higher.

I wonder if you might be up for trying the Purrdy experiment and dropping her dose by a third for two cycles before picking up at 6.25 again. It is a completely off protocol experiment but I'm thinking that it won't do her any harm and if it works for her too we could be on to something quite amazing as another tool in our arsenal. I hesitate to suggest it because it is completely off protocol but in your circumstances decided that there's no harm in putting it out there for your consideration.
@Vyktors Mum
Serryn ......can you tell me about the reduction theory...am interested but not sure what you were trying to achieve and if it was successful. I had a look at Purrdy's SS and saw you reduced the insulin for 2 doses and then it was 3 cycles and then a green. :) Are you thinking that dropping the dose then straight back up will shock them into dropping to green?
 
I don't think Sheba is bouncing off of pre-shot numbers. If you look at 7/23, there was a drop from a high of 304 at +3.5 to 101 at +9. That's a good sized drop and it's likely the 200 point drop caused some bounciness. Remember, it's not just low numbers that can cause a bounce. A big drop as well as a fast drop can trigger a bounce.
@Sienne and Gabby
Thanks Sienne .........I have been looking for fast drops, not so much big drops. Now that you point that out I can see it. She does that a lot, and is probably why she is still bouncing so much. I have the fast drop a bit under control, but not completely, but I don't have the big drops under control.I will have to maybe take two cycles to get her back down to a low number instead of letting her come down in one! Is that a good idea?
 
on the acne....
it's not Just the bowls.... it's also that they drag their chins/face into their food when they are eating....
how many kitties take a napkin and clean their face, right?

witch hazel is good....but if you really want something to treat it ....
ask your own doctor, or your vet for clindamyacin topical. ( human pharmacy)
I had a bottle of it ( has a dauber top so you can just smear it on your skin) for myself.... ( occasional adult acne)
I used it on Shadow and it cleared up fast. She had one really large zit on her chin that took a while to depart.... and the vet squeezed it....
we put the clindamyacin on it.... and it was gone in just a few days.
It's cheap stuff....
I even gave it to my dd's boyfriend when we first met him, he had really bad cheek acne and it cleared him up too.
 
on the acne....
it's not Just the bowls.... it's also that they drag their chins/face into their food when they are eating....
how many kitties take a napkin and clean their face, right?

witch hazel is good....but if you really want something to treat it ....
ask your own doctor, or your vet for clindamyacin topical. ( human pharmacy)
I had a bottle of it ( has a dauber top so you can just smear it on your skin) for myself.... ( occasional adult acne)
I used it on Shadow and it cleared up fast. She had one really large zit on her chin that took a while to depart.... and the vet squeezed it....
we put the clindamyacin on it.... and it was gone in just a few days.
It's cheap stuff....
I even gave it to my dd's boyfriend when we first met him, he had really bad cheek acne and it cleared him up too.
Thanks Rhiannon.
Can you use straight witch hazel because I can get that easily?
I would have to ask the vet to give me a script for the clindamycin cream. Sheba doesn't have any zits, just the black stuff which mostly comes off when I wash it....not always .....and the skin looks pink or inflamed a bit.
Thanks
 
@Bron and Sheba My vet gave me a solution called Chlorxedine rinse and said to apply a small amt. twice daily. She also gave him a shot (which lasts for 2wks.)of covena. Michael saw her yesterday, and the acne has improved a lot. She was happy. I don't use plastic bowls. I put his food in a ceramic saucer. Hopefully his chin doesn't touch the food. I also use wipes for cats. They are all natural. The brand name is Earthbath and I think you can get it on Amazon.com. or Petco. The acne hasn't affected his bgs at all.
fwiw, my vet said not to use baytril because it has been known to cause blindness in some cats. She Scripted pyoben gel which is very hard to find. The company Virbac is going thru some kind of change and the gel is on back order. As per her instructions, I keep applying the Chlorxedine solution for 2 more wks.
Today, it seems to be better, and Michael has hardly scratched at it.
She also said I could try Witch Hazel for the itching. (just a little bit)
Cleaning her chin after she eats, will help. From what I understand acne is hard to get rid of and can keep coming back.
I have only been dealing with this for a month, So I hope this helps. Chin Acne-BE-GONE!
Pawscript: When I treat the acne it looks like it gets worse or bigger. Its because the solution is wet, and that makes it look bigger or worse. The vet agreed. Bron, I don't think you are doing anything wrong.
 
@Paula
Thank you so much for all that information. It will be very useful. I will go and buy the witch hazel this afternoon as I can get that easily, than I'll have to ask the vet about the chlorhexidine solution. The itch does bother her and she finds a spot and rubs back and forth for ages scratching it.
I use a crockery plate/saucer for her food but she does get a messy chin after eating, probably because I add water. I always clean after she has finished. I have only noticed it the last week or two.
YES...it does look bigger and worse after being washed etc.
Thanks again for your help:)
 
you'll laugh at this....
the preparation h wipes for hemorrhoids.... are basically wipes with witch hazel on them.
i shoulda used the word cyst.... not zit.
shadow had little white lumps ( whiteheads?) and it came from her auto feeder... ( plastic trays) but she also drags her chin in her food
just a bit..... one of them took longer to go away.... scared me.... and the vet was the one who figured out it was just very deep under the skin.
 
you'll laugh at this....
the preparation h wipes for hemorrhoids.... are basically wipes with witch hazel on them.
i shoulda used the word cyst.... not zit.
shadow had little white lumps ( whiteheads?) and it came from her auto feeder... ( plastic trays) but she also drags her chin in her food
just a bit..... one of them took longer to go away.... scared me.... and the vet was the one who figured out it was just very deep under the skin.
:joyful: Ouch on the haemorrhoids and witch hazel. I guess it shrinks them.
OK I am definite getting the witch hazel for Sheba's chin not........haemorrhoids...just thought I would clear that up!
It is interesting that the chin thing has come when I have upper the use of the auto feeder. I have noticed she has been scratching her chin for a while but only recently noticed the area was affected/ discoloured a bit.
 
Last edited:
Unfortunately no advice from me Bron but hope you manage to find something that works for Sheba's acne. I've learned a lot from this post, didn't know about plastic bowls but luckily I use metal dishes or China saucers. Lots of good advice here, there is always someone that's been through a similar situation and can recommend a course of treatment. Good luck, hugs to you both :bighug:
 
Thanks Carla @carfurby
It is in a place she can lick, so is it ok to use aloe Vera then? I have some growing in the garden and use it for burns etc on humans and it is excellent
I have a book on natural healing for dogs and cats that says you can use aloe vera gel for inflammation on the skin. However, when I google it, there is mixed information on whether it is safe for cats. Here are two sites.

http://allnaturalpetcare.com/blog/2014/09/07/aloe-vera-safe-cats-dogs/

http://www.animalhospital.com/Article/cats-and-aloe-vera

I think I'd ask my vet first. It sounds like the witch hazel is a better idea.
 
It is in a place she can lick, so is it ok to use aloe Vera then? I have some growing in the garden and use it for burns etc on humans and it is excellent

Aloe vera gel is considered poisonous for cats:


  1. The sap of the aloe plant, which is found just underneath the rind of the leaves, contains saponins, which are toxic to both cats and dogs. When ingested, saponins affect the gut and kidneys of your pet. Symptoms of poisoning may include diarrhea, vomiting, appetite loss, depression, tremors, and change in urine color.

http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/animal-poison-control/toxic-and-non-toxic-plants/aloe
 
@carfurby
Thanks Carla for that info. I had a look at both sites. They do have mixed information! I bought some witch hazel this afternoon and will try that first i think. If that doesn't work I can always ask the vet about the aloe Vera.
 
Aloe vera gel is considered poisonous for cats:


  1. The sap of the aloe plant, which is found just underneath the rind of the leaves, contains saponins, which are toxic to both cats and dogs. When ingested, saponins affect the gut and kidneys of your pet. Symptoms of poisoning may include diarrhea, vomiting, appetite loss, depression, tremors, and change in urine color.

http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/animal-poison-control/toxic-and-non-toxic-plants/aloe
Thanks Mary Ann for that. The article that Carla sent also says much the same thing.
It is amazing really that one site can say it is fine to use and another it is toxic.....scary really.
Thanks again both of you for caring!
 
@Tina & Sammy
I looked for some small bowls online initially and couldn't find any suitable...that is why I resorted to the cup cake papers...until I could get to the shops and buy some bowls. But I have found the cupcake papers are really good and I just throw them out each morning and I don't have to clean the auto feeder as there is no mess at all...it is all in the papers.


Which feeder do you have?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top