7/25 Shadow B PMPS 151, +1=151, +3=194, +6=162, +11=141

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowsMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

AMPS 115, +1=128, +3=97, +4=71, +6=100
PMPS 151, +1+151, +3=194, +6=162, +11=141

We had an exciting night and earned a reduction. Sitting at 0.1 units this AM. I'll be able to get a +1, but not a +2 due to scheduling conflicts, but I'll be home well before his nadir. Let's hope things go as smoothly as they did yesterday morning.

20cc of Core BV&L (7% carbs) just after AMPS, +1, +3 and +4. 5cc at +5.5 just to calm his stomach.
20cc of Core BV&L (7% carbs) just after PMPS and at +1, +3 and +4.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115

woo-hooo Helen! down to 0.1u already - congrats!

It doesn't look like either Shadow or Mottyl are going to be on insulin very long. You and Anna might want to read each other's condos (posts) because your cats are in a very similar phase.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +1=128

My husband drew the 0.10 this AM according to Amy's directions. He just sat there for a minute looking at the syringe and shaking his head, "You can't even see this dose... Is it all in the needle?" I suggested that he empty the contents and see what we had. Sure enough, there was a tiny little droplet that was immediately sucked back in as soon as he released the plunger. He was very impressed. LOL
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +1=128

Way to go, Shadow!

Looking great! I predict you're not going to be doing this dance very long! (anti-jinx)
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +1=128, +3=97, +4= 71

Place your bets: Will Shadow drop or hold steady at +6? At 0.10 units, there isn't much elsewhere to go, is there? If he bottoms out on this dose, do we take him off and see what the numbers do?
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +1=128, +3=97, +4= 71

when you first reduce a dose, there is a lingering effect from the previous dose. The way Lantus and Lev work is somewhat akin to slow releasing. So if a cat goes low on a dose (like Shadow did on 0.25u) and you reduce to 0.1u (as you did) if the cat goes low on 0.1u in the next cycle, or even the one after that, we'd probably suggest you stay on 0.1u for a little bit longer and just give carbs to keep him safe.

kinda depends, newly diagnosed cats don't read the manual or necessarily follow the guidelines. when they're done, they're done. but we do know that a previous dose can influence as many as the next 6 cycles.

let's just play it by ear and see what happens.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +1=128, +3=97, +4= 71

Good to know! I'll be here to test and watch and test and watch - the poor guy must be tired of all of this by now. If we get stable results over the next day or so, do you think I might be able to back him down from a dozen tests/day to 4 or 5? His ears are getting a little tender.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +1=128, +3=97, +4= 71

ah, you want Neosporin or Polysporin ointment with pain relief. That stuff heals the ears like you wouldn't believe. Some people put it on 20 minutes or so before they poke in order to numb the ear a bit. i put a generous amount on punkin's ear at night and it was always healed by morning. wipe off the excess before you test so it doesn't goo up the strip.

also make sure you apply pressure for a few seconds (maybe 10?) after a test to staunch the bleeding and prevent bruising.

and you won't always need to do so much testing. just go from one to the next. So for today, after shadow's not going down any longer, you could skip any testing until the next preshot time.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +1=128, +3=97, +4= 71

I've been using that stuff since the beginning. You're right. It helps! The petroleum jelly in it helps the blood form a nice little ball too. Miracle stuff, I tell you. The problem is that he also gets transdermal methimazole and his ears are already sensitive due to that. I can't apply anything to the inside of the pinna since that will interfere with absorption. I guess we will just look forward to a time when we won't have to test so often. (Perhaps even remission! *knock on wood*)
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +1=128, +3=97, +4= 71, 6=100

His +6 is well on its way back up. I'm a little relieved by that, to be honest. It means I can get get some sleep within the next 6 hours! Tonight I will get a +5 as well as a +6.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +4= 71, +6=100, PMPS 151

It could be a little of both...or either

Let's just see what happens over the next cycle or two...One number doesn't tell us much :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +4= 71, +6=100, PMPS 151, +1=151

Got another 151 an hour after the first. He did get 20cc's of food after his PMPS, so at least he's not soaring. I gave him another 20cc. I'll be back in a hour!
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +4= 71, +6=100, PMPS 151, +1=151

i don't think it's a bounce - if it were, the +1 would be higher than the preshot. it's normal for the lantus to wane by the next preshot. i think you're just seeing a normal end of cycle.

i'd probably get a +3 and see what's going on then.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +4= 71, +6=100, PMPS 151, +1=151

i'd just get a +3, but it's up to you. testing every hour gets old pretty fast.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B AMPS 115, +4= 71, +6=100, PMPS 151, +1=151

I think I'll go with that. I'll test at +3 and +6. His ears are so unhappy right now.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow B PMPS 151, +1=151, +3=194

Yep. Poking high and at the very edge. He usually bleeds nicely. The problem is that his ears are chronically irritated from transdermal meds. The rigorous testing we've been doing over the last couple of days has just made them unhappier.

194 at +3. That's a little disappointing. He hasn't been that high in a long while. We will see what happens at +6.
 
Just got a 141 at +11. That was unexpected. I was just hoping he would stay under 200. AMPS in an hour - we keep it at 0.10 units, right?
 
I'm trying to remember if you have to alternate ears on the gel? I used it for a short time but my kitty was a Scottish Fold with folded ears and it was too hard to get it in there. If you don't have to alternate ears, you could use the gel in one and poke the other.

Had you thought about having the MMI I compounded into a flavored liquid instead of transdermal? That's how I gave it to two cats and it worked well because it's easy to adjust the dose. You just have to be sure they do not add any sweeteners...not even maltodextrin. Have you thought about I131 treatment? Of course, Shadow would have to be a candidate for it but we had it done with Gus and it was fantastic. Ruth's Tiger also had the I131.
 
We alternate the ears and poke the rested ear, but a dozen sticks a day is a little rough nonetheless. His ears are just a bit warmer and irritated due to all the poking, so their understandably irritated. Shadow is over 20 and with CRF, he's not a candidate for radio iodine treatment. He reacted very poorly to methimazole in pill form on the few occasions we've tried since it irritated his stomach too much. So unfortunately, we are stuck with tender ears. They've gotten much better over the last couple of years, but this is pushing it. I just feel bad for the little man.
 
Wow!! How did I miss he's over 20!!! Great job :-D

Yup the CKD eliminates the potential for I131. What I have found is that vets often start the pill dose way too high and the cat has a horrible rxn. It happened to our Teddi Bear. Not only did it make her sick but she lost the hair above her eyes. So then we tried the transdermal gel and I just couldn't get a consistent dose in her because of her tiny ears. Then I switched vets and my current vet took her off the MMI for a month and let her system clear and then restarted her on a very low dose of compounded MMI in a liquid. Worked like a charm.

Normally I wouldn't suggest any change to something that is working but if the ear pokes get to be an issue with the gel, it's an option to considr.
 
We've only resorted to the pills on those occasions when our compounding pharm hasn't been able to get our prescription to us in time. He's become ill each of those times, so at this point we are hesitant to try that again unless absolutely necessary. I really wish he took liquids better. It sounds like your solution would be great. Unfortunately, although he's a snap to pill, he's awful with liquid meds. He must be abnormally sensitive to bitterness or something, because I syringe feed him - it's not like I don't know how to get liquids down a cat. LOL
 
I too missed that Shadow is over 20.You sure are doing lots of things right to have reached this milestone. Kudos to you both.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top