7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94 PMPS 153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aleven

Member Since 2014
Condo from yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122290 (sorry I don't know how to embed the link) She dropped below 50 on 0.5 and I got pretty nervous. Was advised to reduce to 0.25 and shoot if her AMPS is above 150.

Her AMPS is 93.6. I won't be around to monitor her today. Should I try to give 0.25 anyway?

Thanks
 
Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94 STALLING - HELP

At 11. Home at 9ish. Calling in sick is not an option.
 
Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94 STALLING - HELP

Where abouts are you ? What is the time now? Just trying to gauge how much time you have before you have to leave
 
Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94 STALLING - HELP

It's 8:30. I have to leave in just over 3 hours.

I just spoke to my vet and she advised me not to give her any until I get home tonight. Am going to test again right now to see if her bg is rising

Edited: It's been 20 mins no food, she's at 102 so rising but not quickly.
 
Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94 STALLING - HELP

I am off to work myself.

I wish I was more experienced in all of this to give you some sound advice, however, I was always told, shoot what you are comfortable with. I am sure one of the more experienced members will be along soon and they will be able to give some sound advice. You may want to go into your original post and change the question mark icon to the 911, that will get people's attention faster. Then once you get the assistance you need, you can go back in and take it off and add the green smile face for hitting the greens!!


Sending lots of good day vines to you and Mottyl....
 
Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94 STALLING - HELP

Okay. Gonna take the vet's advice and skip. She also said when I get home tonight, if she's above 90 give 0.5, if below give 0.25, so that's what I'll follow.
 
Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94

i'm glad you skipped. we encourage people to shoot low, but not if you can't monitor when you are starting doing it. skipping was the right thing to do.

you want to reduce to 0.25u tonight no matter what the preshot is. Mottyl went under 50 last night on the 0.5u dose, so that tells us that 0.5u is too much. Lantus dosing is based upon how LOW the dose takes a cat, not the high numbers in the cycle. So go ahead and reduce tonight.

While we normally encourage the same shot every 12 hrs because that's best for getting the cat's BGs flattened out, in your case, if you can't monitor i'd skip the shot. Mottyl is doing really well and likely her pancreas is sputtering back to life. so you don't want to risk having her go too low when you're not home.

you did great last night handling the low numbers. kudos! hope you're having a good day at work!
 
Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94

i just read through your condo from last night with Sandy helping you. i'm so glad she was here to help you out.

About doing Tight Reg and working . . . my crystal ball is thinking you're not going to be doing this very long, anna. Some cats only need to get switched to low carb canned food and have a little bit of insulin support to become diet-controlled. everything about Mottyl's first couple of days says that is what's going to happen with her. So don't worry about having to do this and manage work, although most of us do have jobs. No guarantees, but everything happening points to her not needing insulin for very long. Think of this as a short, intensive course that will pay off big benefits if you can hang in there. you may only need a few more days, literally.

that's the benefit of getting a newly diagnosed cat into Tight Reg asap - more than 90% of them can go off of insulin.
 
Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94

Anna

Great job! Mottyl is doing well :-D

One thing I want to point out about your vet's advice is she has you dosing on the preshot. Julie was saying that by telling you that dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle. I just wanted to reinforce that, unless a kitty's nadir is at the PS, we wouldn't dose on what number you get at that time.

For example, let's say the PS was 250 and so the caregiver decided to increase the dose but that 250 was a bounce from the previous cycle's low of 65. A dose increase based on a bouncing number could really cause the kitty to drop quite low during the cycle especially if the bounce clears.
 
Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94

Good Morning ~O)

Good call on the skip - Better a day too high than an hour too low.

In general, 94 is shootable, once you have gathered enough data .
As you gather more data and see patterns in her BGs, you will feel more confident about all of this.

Aleven said:
Gonna take the vet's advice and skip. She also said when I get home tonight, if she's above 90 give 0.5, if below give 0.25, so that's what I'll follow.
As I mentioned yesterday, with Lantus the best results are achieved when you use a dose you can safely shoot consistently, every 12 hours.
Being a long acting insulin, Lantus dose is determined by nadir. 'Dose hopping' usually leads to wonky numbers (and frustration).

my $0.02-
You know that you need your job and you want to be able to leave for work with some peace of mind that Mottyl will be OK.
You know that an active PM cycle, like last nights, deprives you of sleep.
Most importantly you now know that a dose of 0.5u took Mottyl into the 40s and required close monitoring and intervention with some HC. Although kitties can be unpredictable, there is a high likelihood that using 0.5u again will produce the same results.
If it were me, I'd pick up with 0.25u tonight, stick with it and use TR protocol guidelines for increase and/or decrease decisions.

The down side for you and Mottyl is that it's early in the game and you are seeing a good response - you landed in the fast lane and everything is flying at you at lightning speed.
The up side is - it's early in the game and you are seeing a good response :mrgreen:

I personally had such a hard time in the very beginning - it took a long time to get the testing down (Black Kitty was a 5yr old intact male we took in off the streets, with BIG teeth) Looking back the one thing I would do differently is get on board with the TR protocol early on in spite of my anxieties.

Keep your eyes on the road and your hands on the wheel, the TR road may take Mottyl to the falls, in short order :cool:
 
Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94

Hi, Anna. Sounds like your Mottyl and my Shadow are in the same boat. This is both exciting and scary, isn't it? I'll be watching your condos and hopefully both of our kitties will be OTJ very soon. Best of luck to you both.
 
Thanks everyone! Gonna keep her at 0.25 til it seems another dose is needed. Hopefully that's it for today.

Oh yeah - and I'm beginning to internalize the concept of shooting the nadir instead of the PS. Coming from caninsulin it's a bit of a paradigm shift, but I'm getting it now. Thanks for explaining, everyone.
 
it's funny how different insulins work, isn't it? Levemir is the same way, you dose based upon how low the dose takes the cat. that's why we test to catch the nadir, even if it's not dangerously low, it's important to know about what it is so we know what dose adjustments are needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top