Re: 7/25 Mottyl AMPS 94
Good Morning
Good call on the skip - Better a day too high than an hour too low.
In general, 94 is shootable,
once you have gathered enough data .
As you gather more data and see patterns in her BGs, you will feel more confident about all of this.
Aleven said:
Gonna take the vet's advice and skip. She also said when I get home tonight, if she's above 90 give 0.5, if below give 0.25, so that's what I'll follow.
As I mentioned yesterday, with Lantus the best results are achieved when you use a dose you can safely shoot consistently, every 12 hours.
Being a long acting insulin, Lantus dose is determined by nadir. 'Dose hopping' usually leads to wonky numbers (and frustration).
my $0.02-
You know that you need your job and you want to be able to leave for work with some peace of mind that Mottyl will be OK.
You know that an active PM cycle, like last nights, deprives you of sleep.
Most importantly you now know that a dose of 0.5u took Mottyl into the 40s and required close monitoring and intervention with some HC. Although kitties can be unpredictable, there is a high likelihood that using 0.5u again will produce the same results.
If it were me, I'd pick up with 0.25u tonight, stick with it and use TR protocol guidelines for increase and/or decrease decisions.
The down side for you and Mottyl is that it's early in the game and you are seeing a good response - you landed in the fast lane and everything is flying at you at lightning speed.
The up side is - it's early in the game and you are seeing a good response :mrgreen:
I personally had such a hard time in the very beginning - it took a long time to get the testing down (Black Kitty was a 5yr old intact male we took in off the streets, with BIG teeth) Looking back the one thing I would do differently is get on board with the TR protocol early on in spite of my anxieties.
Keep your eyes on the road and your hands on the wheel, the TR road may take Mottyl to the falls, in short order
