7/25 Gus PMBG 191

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
I wonder what Mr. Gus has in store for me today? I shot another reduced dose this AM. Is this what I should be doing?...or will this come back to bite me in a few days? I guess I'm just not that clear when or if Gus should get a reduction. His tumor must be on vaca. :roll: An acro cat really shouldn't be hanging out in the greens, right? Any advice will be appreciated.
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83

I don't think it's a matter of an acro cat "shouldn't" be hanging out in greens. The issue is that it can be hard to raise numbers if Gus' pancreas kicks in. I think if you go back to the condo Libby posted this weekend, she noted that these are the points where managing an acro kitty's dose can be a bit of a guessing game. It's no doubt that process of dropping the dose then raising the dose as a means of zeroing in on the right dose.

I would suggest getting some early tests today so you have control of the cycle.
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83

Morning guys - what an nice start for Gus - and I wish I could help, but have no clue... Looks like Sienne has answered - Good luck!

Have a great day guys. Gus: you look awesome in green!
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83

i think this is a matter of trial and learning, bev. by shooting him last night and this morning,and giving him HC to pull him up, you're learning how he responds at this dose with this shed. it's good to know that you can pull him up with a tablespoon of food - that is very important. i think when the shed is bigger you might need a lot more - and that's where one has to be more careful of them getting lower numbers that might be harder to raise. so far you're good.

i'm watching and learning from your experiences now, so i really appreciate you posting about it.

have a super day. scritches for mr. gus!
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83

Feed HC, and please test hourly... it is dangerous to shoot an acro with a ps under 100.
The skipped shot last nite may not be enough to drain shed. Have your hypo instructions handy.
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83

Hiya,

I'm an acro mom so thought I'd jump in with a few comments.

1. I never shoot a green unless I plan on hovering over my cat until I know he is not going to crash. You never know when that naughty little tumor is going to decide to stop working and now the cat has too much insulin in his body as his pancreas keeps working.

2. Back in May he was getting 8 units. It looks like that may have been a rebound from the 9 where you dropped down to 3.5 and brought him up. Gus's numbers looked better with the 8 units than they do now. I'm wondering if his good number was 7 to 8 units? It might be worth dropping back and staying there a 4-6 days to see how he does. Then bringing him up again if he seems to stay the same. But expect a bounce. To me it looks like his body is in a panic and can't figure out what to do with all the extra insulin he is getting.

I haven't followed your cat's history as this isn't the Acro board so I am very likely missing some major events. I'm also curious what the blank columns mean and why you'd give R without knowing what his numbers are.

Hope this helps some and if you have questions about acromegaly, I (or others I'm sure) would be happy to help answer them.
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83

Hi! I'm a relative newbie acromom (on levemir, though). I, too, avoid shooting anything under 100. Sometimes I chicken out at even higher numbers. But I know that Charlie has a finicky tumor that can turn off at a moment's notice! Once, on a dose that was working great for him, I woke up to a 33 :o :shock: nailbite_smile So I am super cautious now. Most would call me a total chicken. If he's even flirting with blues I try to get a few extra tests in if possible. If I'm not gonna be able to test, I would even reduce the dose a hair. I think that dosing cautiously is best for the acrokitties. If and when the tumor output slows down, even hc food may not help. The hc food will just tell the pancreas to work even harder! Just wanted to let you know that you're not alone! test and feed, test and feed. Bring that number back into a more comfortable zone. My goal for Charlie is yellow and blue. Greens scare the bejeezus out of me!!
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83

Debbie-- I think those blank rows are just that she allows 2 rows of data for each day. The "r" doses are for the info directly above them. Most were for a "hi" bg reading.
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83

Charliemeow said:
Debbie-- I think those blank rows are just that she allows 2 rows of data for each day. The "r" doses are for the info directly above them. Most were for a "hi" bg reading.
Ah! Thanks! That is what I get for reading the board while working! :D
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83/+2=118/+4=119/+6=128

Hi guys, I don't have much advice or knowledge with acro kitties, but it looks like lots of good info in your condo today .. looks like gus surfed the day beautifully ...
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83/+2=118/+4=119/+6=128

I gave 10.5U this AM and have tested more often. He appears to be doing well. He's surfing the blues and I'll wait and see how he does in the next few hours. I won't ask my questions until I see what the facts are. ohmygod_smile :roll: :? :shock: @-) .................... :lol:
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83/+9=98

glad to see he's surfing along, bev! you're doing great. don't be afraid of skipping a shot if you aren't comfy with the numbers - that shed'll carry gus along.

hugs! you've been on my mind today.

julie
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83/+9=98

sweeeeeeeet. :mrgreen:

This is a great opportunity for you to reaffirm what you know about how Gus responds to different carb amounts. He is learning to surf! Just be sure you know what it takes to stay in control and Gus will be fine. Some acro kitties are fine in green, and you know Gus better than anyone else does. Try to hold him where you are comfortable and where HE is comfortable and happy.

It's not unusual, once a cat starts getting lots of blue and green, for them to all of a sudden need dose reductions. Keep an eye on his numbers and don't be afraid to reduce if you feel a need. You don't need to wait for any certain number. You'll know when you need to reduce. There's always a fine line between the dose that keeps them surfing blue and the dose that isn't enough and sends them high again. You might have to go up and down a few times to find it, but your instincts are good and I know you'll get him there.

1 unit reductions are fine at this point. I know for Jazzy I was trying to take 0.5 reductions, but the smaller reduction wasn't enough to get ahead of her shed. She has done better with 1 unit reductions because it slows her down some. If it slows him down TOO much, then you can always go back up. Maybe Jazzy's spreadsheet for the last few weeks will help (ignore all the skipped shots, my schedule hasn't been consistent lately so her numbers having been consistent either).
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83/+9=98

Hi Bev and Gus,
Lots of good info. in your condo today. Gus had a good day and you are doing a great job with him. Vigilance seems to be the order of the day for Gus!

Keep up the good work,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/25 Gus AMPS 83/+9=98

Sienne said it all!!!! You're doing a terrific job, Bev. No one knows your Gus like you do!!!
 
Thanks for all the encouraging words. I felt like I was flying by the seat of my pants (Patience Pants, no doubt) all day while Gus napped, groomed, played and ate @-) He didn't like all the extra testing he got. But, those got him more food and that is always OK. Once again, I relied on the advice and support of FDMB. Thank Goodness you're all here.
 
haha bev - reminds me of how many times i've wanted to holler at punkin

"I'M HAVING A CRISIS HERE AND YOU'RE SLEEPING? WHAT'S THE MATTER WITH YOU?????"

:lol: :lol: :lol:

we love our kitties! cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top