7/25 Eyes on Mr Grey PM cycle BG 53 delay shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick & Mr. Grey

Member Since 2012
It's a good day for Mr Grey he tested BG 54 this morning. I have not administered insulin but I did feed him as he is starving ! Should I test and shoot when his level is above 60 ?
Thanks !
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

I'm not familiar with high-dose kitties, so I'm not sure if my response is completely appropriate, but usually when we stall, we don't feed so that we know the numbers are not influenced by the food. If you shoot a flood-influenced number, once the food starts wearing off the numbers could possibly drop quickly, especially if you're not around to monitor and steer the numbers with MC or HC.

That's just a bit of info to store in the memory bank. Given Mr Grey's high dose, unfortunately I'm not sure what to tell you about actually shooting....hopefully someone more familiar with high doses will be along shortly.
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

I also don't have experience advising high dose kitties but I would tell anyone, but the most experienced of members who know their cat, that without knowing where he was last night, I'd use caution and stall, don't feed, retest in 30 and see if he's coming up. Looking way back more than a year,mi don't see that you've ever shot what looks to be a dropping 50s number.

While some of the acro CGs can do this, they have more data. I'd say it's better to be cautious.
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

So, this is just my experience and what I see from your spreadsheet.

I have shot Cobb below 60 once. Shot him with 31units and he surfed for a few hours and then headed up.

It looks like, from your spreadsheet, that on the evening of 7/15, you shot Mr. Grey at 66, he surfed for the night, you shot him again the next morning at 71 and he started heading up. Yesterday he followed the same pattern, you shot at a 73 and he surfed above 100 for most of the day. I don't see any numbers from overnight, but my guess is that he went lower and has bottomed out for the cycle and it would be okay shooting him at the 54, as long as you are around to test him.

Because you fed him, his +1 and +2 are probably going to be higher just from the food spike. But that's just a guess on my part. If you stall longer than that, you're going to have to push your PM shot time back by the amount of time you stall. So if you shoot him at 11am and you usually shoot at 10, your PM shot will have to be at 11pm tonight. If you stall longer to let a food spike wear off, that could put you in a position of having to get up to shoot him at 1 or 2 in the morning.

I'm usually around to test Cobb when he goes low like this. If you aren't going to be, you could give him a BCS...whatever amount of insulin you're comfortable with, and that would drain the depot a little bit.

So, it's really up to you. If you are comfortable shooting that number, and you'll be around to test, I say go for it. It might buy Mr. Grey some more time in nice healing numbers. He also might drop though, and you'd want to be around to catch that.
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

I trust Suzanne's advice since she has a high dose kitty. But one exception.

I'm not a fan of shooting reduced doses because the depot is going to do what it will do regardless of how little you shoot. Effects might be seen later in the cycle or a subsequent cycle.

Suzanne is spot on that Mr. grey has either surfed or gone up when you've shot green but it makes me nailbite_smile to see that size of a depot without someone there to test him. I'm also not a fan of skipping shots but safety has to be first. If you can test him, it's your call. I do trust Suzanne's advice on that.
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

That's a good point. The reduced shot won't affect what happens right now. I didn't think of that, Marje. It would affect a future cycle because of the drain. The depot is already there for this particular cycle.

I also hate skipping shots so I usually chance it. But like I mentioned, I'm also usually around to test. My first time stalling, however, it took 2 or 3 hours to get a rising number, even without food, which really threw us off the next few days.

Let us know what you decide!
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

Suzanne is correct on the stalling and that's why I'm also not a big fan of stalling. Quite often the number keeps dropping and then you absolutely can't shoot. But it's an option to consider in some circumstances. In this one, you will have to decide.

If you do stall, and he does rise, shoot the full dose, ok? We don't usually stall and shoot less insulin....it's a double whammy.
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

ok I'm testing now @ +1 and I will shoot 17.5u if his dose is rising. How does this sound ?
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

to me the biggest question is whether or not you're going to be around to monitor. you need to get a +1 and a +2 when you shoot a number lower than you've shot before.

if you are, i'd go ahead. if not, or if you don't have adequate supplies, i'd give 1/2 dose and leave out lots of food or skip.

you're doing a lot of dose hopping, Rick. i'd pick a dose and stay there for at least 6 cycles, and get a test in the pm cycle every night. Overall he's looking pretty good, though.

edited to add - i'm assuming that 54 is BEFORE you fed him, is that right?
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

ok - glad you're going to be around to monitor. i posted at the same time, so want to make sure you see it.

another good bit of info to add is that all of that advice assumes he's eating normally. any time a cat isn't interested in eating as normal, you want to be more conservative.

can you repost in an hour with his +1?
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

Mr Grey does eat normally, he is skinny but not un healthy skinny. He is slow moving and breathes rapidly from his belly especially when its time to prick his ear for blood or he is the slightest upset. He does this new thing the past month where he instead of sitting upright to receive his ear prick he complains and plops onto his side laying down and starts to breath rapidly from the belly to let me know he doesn't like this testing thing anymore but I manage to figure out how to get blood while he is lying down.
He's constitution has definitely slowly declined over the past 2 years. But he loves to eat his 2 main meals of Wellness wet chicken and his +6 Wellness wet food snacks to tide him over.
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

i'm saying that food is the tool you use to bring up his blood sugar if he goes low, so any time you have a lower preshot number and you have any reason to suspect he might not be interested in eating, then you have to be more careful giving insulin.

are you still home most of the time to monitor, Rick? last i heard you weren't working because of your own health problems from the moldy cottage.

are you giving him a treat every time you test his BGs? often that will make a cat accept it better and some cats will even go to the testing spot to get tested so they can have a treat. i just used boiled chicken breast for punkin. the testing is essential for you to keep him safe.

When you update his ss, you can show this morning like this:

amps
+12=54
+13=70

that way people will know you stalled an hour and shot the 70, so it becomes your amps.
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

hi rick! just wanted to check back with you and see what mr grey has done.

i've been watching for an update and haven't seen anything - don't want to leave you hanging if you need help.
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

AMPS 10:00 am BGL 54; Fed meal delay shot 1 hour @ +13, 70 shoot 17.5u (new cycle start @ 11:00am) +4, 54
@ Julie I am feeling very good actually but I am still detoxing from my mold exposure. My piano teaching schedule slows WAY down in the summer time :-D but I stay busy practicing, playing gigs, composing and outdoor recreation. Sometimes though after 11pm I am so drained from the thereputic exercise and detoxing I do that I conk out hard and not able to test MR G over night nailbite_smile but when it is absolutely crucial for him I will work it out and try to get 1 or two tests in before morning.
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

if' he's still at 54, you need to keep testing him in this cycle and catch him if he goes below 50. he may be trying for a dose reduction. this looks like it might be too much, or on the verge of too much. but you'll know by what he does.

glad you're feeling a little better. black mold is dangerous stuff and i'm sure it's going to take a while to get out of your system.
 
Re: 7/25 Mr Grey AMPS 54 delay shot ?

by the way, his ss updates just came in on my screen. you want the 70 in the amps column so we know that's what you shot. it may make a difference later when we're looking back to try to figure out anything.

one of my daughters is a music teacher too.
 
I fed Mr Grey his PM meal and did not shoot @ 53. Instead we waited 1.5 hours then I did a -1.5u dose reduction to 16u . @ +2.5 64 I think we're good so far keep paws crossed :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top