7/24 Shadow B PMPS 103 +3=115 +4=79 +6=54 +6.25=49 +6.5=54

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowsMom

Member Since 2014
Good morning! This is his first full day on the tight regulation protocol.

AMPS 143, +1=170, +3.25=68, +4=80, +6=88, +8=96
PMPS 103, +1=91, +2=99, +3=115, +4=79, +6=54, +6.25=49, +6.5=54



Last night's values: PMPS 110, +1.25=127, +2=162, +4=101, +5=80, +6=85, +9=75 (fed 20cc Evo - part of his regular schedule).

Need to run errands, but will be home well before his nadir.

Wasn't able to be here for his +2 this AM, but I will be able to get them tonight and tomorrow. I also gave him 20cc's of Core at +3.25 and +4. An additional 10cc Core at +8.

20cc Core Beef, Venison and Lamb (7% carb DMA) after PMPS. 20cc Evo at +1. 20cc Core Chicken, Turkey and Liver (11% carbs DMA) at +2.25. 20cc Core BV&L at +4
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS 143

Hi Helen! just wanted to add my welcome.

You're off to a great start and it looks like Shadow is going to be easy to get tightly regulated. that's great for his body, and in newly diagnosed cats, increases their chances of becoming diet-controlled.

I'd suggest getting a +2 this morning. Comparing a +2 to the preshot often will tell you what direction the cycle is going to go in the next few hours.

Great to see you - ask any questions and we'll do our best to answer.
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS 143 +1=170 +3.25=68 +4=80

I can't believe how much of a response you can get from such a small quantity of hormone!
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS 143 +1=170 +3.25=68 +4=80

so true! we've seen cats that only need one drop of insulin for a while. amazing and powerful stuff, isn't it?

shadow looks great today!
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS 143 +1=170 +3.25=68 +4=80 +6=88

Beautiful cycle today for Shadow!

Amazing stuff this insulin, isn't it?

Go Shadow go! You're looking good! :-D

Just a note...each day when you post your condo, we appreciate it if you put the link to the prior day's condo so if people want to quickly go back and see what's already been discussed, it's easier.

Just "copy" the address in the address bar from the prior condo, click on the URL tab and "paste" the link....it'll look like this: your link here[url] Yesterday's co...ediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122249
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS 143 +1=170 +3.25=68 +4=80 +6=88

I'm so glad you decided to come join us over here.
Surf Shadow Surf.
bth_summer_33-1.gif
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS 143 +1=170 +3.25=68 +4=80 +6=88 +8=96

I'll be sure to link today's condo in tomorrow's post. We just started this protocol last night, so I listed the numbers instead. I'll get things straight eventually! ;-)

He's having a good day. I just hope there are many more to follow.
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS 143 +1=170 +3.25=68 +4=80 +6=88 +8=96

Hi Helen! Just wanted to stop by and welcome you here too. :smile: Shadow is looking good so far!
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS 143 +1=170 +3.25=68 +4=80 +6=88 +8=96

Hi again!

In fact, Shadow's looking SO good that i'm going to copy and paste what I just wrote for Anna, Mottyl's mom:

by the way, just to get you ready for when you see numbers under 50, I suggest you read Shooting and Handling Low Numbers now while you have time. She's going to get there and it's good to have an idea of what you're going to do so you don't panic. Read the link above, especially the 3rd section about handling low numbers.

The basic process is if you get a number under 50, you pop open a can of gravy high carb canned cat food, put the lid back on the food and squeeze mightily to try to get the gravy out. take a teaspoon of that gravy and feed it to her. it's ok if she gets some food, but most of the carbs are in the gravy, which is why you're trying to get to that. Some brands have more gravy than others, so it's worth having a generous gravy food for this purpose.

post here and ask for help - edit the subject line of your first post in that day's thread and put in something like "help with low numbers" or whatever you choose that gets that message across. you're going to wait 20ish minutes and retest. In some cats (mine) it takes 30 minutes to get into the bloodstream, so don't panic if it's still under 50 in 20 minutes. You just give another tsp of gravy and wait another 20 minutes and retest again.

you don't have to panic - you'll have time to bring her up. This is part of the dance of Tight Regulation, but it's safe. If you get scared, it's ok to hit the 911 to get more help.

If you don't have gravy cat food, you can use a drop or two of Karo (corn) syrup, honey or maple syrup. they'll all work.

It's a good idea to print out that particular yellow-starred sticky on low numbers so if the site goes down or your electricity goes out, or it's 4am and no one is online to help you, you've got the information you need.

I'm seeing Shadow's great numbers today and thinking with a 68, it's not going to be long before you're seeing a number under 50. It becomes routine before long, but the first time it can be scary for people. So if you read up and have your hypo kit ready, along with the print-out of directions that Sienne wrote, you'll be set. :-D

You get to fly Mr. Greenie when Shadow has a cycle under 100. Pretty exciting. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS 143 +1=170 +3.25=68 +4=80 +6=88 +8=96

Do I post his PMPS in a separate condo or do I edit the title to reflect only that? With all of the testing, I'm running out of room.
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS143+1=170+3.25=68+4=80+6=88+8=96 PMPS1

keep on the same line, just delete some. i usually left the morning amps and the lowest point of that cycle (+3.25/68).

so it would read amps/143, +3/68, pmps 103, etc.
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS143+1=170+3.25=68+4=80+6=88+8=96 PMPS1

Just edit the subject line and delete all the AMPS numbers (or you can leave a few of the most "important" ones that kind of show your cycle)

You have to do it to the first post though or it won't show up for people scanning the forums

And GREAT PMPS number for Shadow!!! :-D
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS143+3.25=68 PMPS103, +1=91

Ok, so he's dipping at +1. I'll get a +2, but does this mean another long sleepless night?
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS143 +3.25=68 PMPS 103 +1=91

Forgot to ask earlier - are there particular brands/flavors of gravy food that you guys recommend if I should need to steer his numbers?
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS143 +3.25=68 PMPS 103 +1=91

Forgot to ask earlier - are there particular brands/flavors of gravy food that you guys recommend if I should need to steer his numbers?
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS143 +3.25=68 PMPS 103 +1=91 +2=99

Since he's much lower at +1 and +2 tonight than he was last night, should I feed him a slightly higher carb food to prevent him from going too low later? He'll be getting his usual feedings at +3 and +4, but I'm considering feeding him now too, to head off a steep drop. Input appreciated.

****I decided to go ahead and feed him 20cc of Core Turkey, Chicken and Liver just after +2.25. It has a slightly higher carb content, but shouldn't be enough to push him too high. I'll test again at +3 and may feed him more at that point.
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS143 +3.25=68 PMPS 103 +1=91 +2=99

Hi there, nice flat cycle tonight! :mrgreen: I used to feed Neko the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers varieties, because it's easy to get out just the gravy, which is where the carbs are. I'm now feeding her Merck Cowboy Cookout which is about the same carb %. It takes a bit of experimentation to find out what works for your cat but many start with the Gravy Lovers. When you are feeding higher carb, you don't want to fill the cat up, so just giving gravy is a good solution.

I wouldn't feed higher carb food tonight yet. Don't look at how one cycle compares to another but rather look at how that particular cycle is going. Test before his next feedings and let that help you decide what to feed. We usually save gravy food for numbers under 50.
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B AMPS143 +3.25=68 PMPS 103 +1=91 +2=99 +3=

Just got a +3 115. I feel a little better about that. It's up a bit, but I usually feed at +3 and +4 anyway, so I just fed 45 mins early and used a higher carb food. Relatively speaking, that is. The one I usually feed has 7% and the other has 11%. I'll still feed the 7% at +4. I'm not ready to break out the gravy and corn syrup yet! Thanks for all the help and patience. This is still very new for me and I'll try not to get panicky. No promises. :smile:
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B PMPS 103 +1=91 +2=99 +3=115 +4=79 +6=54

Shadow just got a 54 at +6. I'll be testing in 15 minutes to determine if he's back on the rise. This is the lowest number I've documented for him.
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B PMPS 103 +3=115 +4=79 +6=54 +6.25=49

Got a 49 at +6.25. Correction - THIS is our new low. Getting a little nervous.

+6.25 is back up to 54. Whew! That was an exciting ride. Not going to test him for the remainder of the night - those little ears have had enough over the last couple of days!

So will we be holding at .25? Am I reading the protocol right when it says to reduce if a newly diagnosed diabetic goes under 50, but since it was only 1 point, does this count? Do we try for a shaved .25 in the morning?

I'm going to give him another 10cc's of the Core 7% before I head to bed in the hopes that he won't wake me up in the next few hours looking for an early breakfast. ;-)
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B PMPS 103 +3=115 +4=79 +6=54 +6.25=49 +6.5=

Wow...what a ride!!

Most folks do move down to .10U next, which is basically pushing the plunger in as far as possible before sticking the needle into the insulin. Once the needle is in the insulin, let the plunger go and the little bit of suction it had will pull in you .1U. I hope that makes sense!

Of course you still want to keep up with testing. Congrats on the reducie!!
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B PMPS 103 +3=115 +4=79 +6=54 +6.25=49 +6.5=

So he's on tight reg for 24 hours and already earns a reduction? How cool is my sugarcat? :lol:

That's one hell of a way to get a micro dose. Very clever. Will do. I'll be able to get a +1, but my schedule won't permit a +2 this AM after all. I'll be able to get one tonight.
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B PMPS 103 +3=115 +4=79 +6=54 +6.25=49 +6.5=

Your sugarcat is doing an impressive job with the food change!
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B PMPS 103 +3=115 +4=79 +6=54 +6.25=49 +6.5=

Great job yesterday and this morning!

Congrats on the reduction. Did you shoot yet? If so, I'd get a +1 and +2. If you didn't, let's see where he goes.
 
Re: 7/24 Shadow B PMPS 103 +3=115 +4=79 +6=54 +6.25=49 +6.5=

Wow!! It looks like Shadow is on a mission!! Way to go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top