7/24 Napoleon AMPS 196 PMPS 414

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20480

Wow, I had an eventful night last night :o Very little sleep, tested every 2 hours, every hour in the beginning. He dropped at +3 PMPS last night to 54 and pretty much stayed there most of the night. My question is, should I decrease his dose back to 3 fat since that was such a drop? Not sure if he would have gone below 42 cause I pumped him with food, lots of lc. At +3 I added HC gravy and later in the night he had 4 temptations treats(which did nothing by the way) and more lc. But I wanted to mainly see if he would surf so I didn't give him any HC food. Maybe that was a bad idea but I figured since I was going to be up all night with him testing I could see if he went lower. I gave him the 3.25 this morning. I wanted to wait to see what advice I got before I decreased if need be. I'll be home all day to test. Thanks!

Wanted to make it easy for you guys to see :
7/23 PMPS :mrgreen:
PMPS 152
+1 137
+3 54
+4 64
+5 54
+6 53
+8 60
+10 125
7/24 AMPS 196
 
Re: 7/24 Napoleon AMPS 196

I can not give advice just here for support one thing I did learn is small amounts every hour is better them giving him lots of food cause they end up throwing up..I did this with Trey then the girls here said hold the HC and feed just a tiny meal +1 +2 +3 then see what is going on. 1/2 of what you give him ,just to keep him surfing. It worked for Trey .Those are really nice numbers I think anyway. If you want an answer in a hurry put ADVICE<HELP or Dose in your subject line. Works better Hope this helps Kath Happy Surfing day come join Trey he is surfing PEI way :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/24 Napoleon AMPS 196 - Help, dose advice after last night

Looking at your SS and the bounce, it's probably good that you shot the full dose.

I do think it's a bit of a balancing act with numbers and food. Some LC may have been better than HC so you could see if numbers dropped below 50. I do tend to think with the drop and being so close to lower than 50 number, you could try shaving the dose tonight. I do think, though, it would be helpful to get a few more people weighing in on the decision.
 
Re: 7/24 Napoleon AMPS 196 - Help, dose advice after last night

wow not much sleep last night for you and Napoleon, but so wonderful to see!
 
Re: 7/24 Napoleon AMPS 196 - Help, dose advice after last night

Look who didnt get much sleep last night!! Sorry, but nice numbers for Napoleon!
See where he goes today, but usually if cat goes below 50's, decrease is indicated...

With Moonie, who doesnt hold a dose very well for long periods of time, I do shaves & small drop additions..
Did one last nite, added a drop & she did come down--Maybe you could hold shave for at least 6 cycles to see if it works?
Wishing you good numbers with the dosecrease!--Check with the dose helpers-OK? HUGS~! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/24 Napoleon AMPS 196 - Help, dose advice after last night

Thanks so much everyone :) I think I will shave the dose tonight between 3f and 3.25. Hopefully that will do the trick. I also switched syringes last night from bd and relion to monoject. They seem to be more accurate maybe that has something to do with it also. I know from the syringe assessment sticky that bd does tend to vary from syringe to syringe. Maybe I just was getting a variable dose with those? These monojects have nice even half unit markings and a smooth easy plunger.
 
Re: 7/24 Napoleon AMPS 196 - Help, dose advice after last night

Great numbers for Napoleon maybe you will be able to rest tonight (have to see if Napoleon behaves) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/24 Napoleon AMPS 196 - Help, dose advice after last night

my opinion is a little different than the others (sorry!). I wouldn't shave the dose just yet. Last night's numbers were perfect, just where he should be. It's the first green he has had in over a week, and before that green it was a couple of weeks since the last one. What I would do it he was my cat (especially because you're good about testing) is hold this dose and see if he can get back to green once the bounce clears. We'd like to work toward getting green each day. Of course at some point Napoleon will force us to reduce his dose, but right now this one looks good to me.

Just my opinion. :smile:
 
Re: 7/24 Napoleon AMPS 196 - Help, dose advice after last night

I'm glad Libby was around. I was on the fence. I'd go with her suggestion.
 
Re: 7/24 Napoleon AMPS 196 - Help, dose advice after last night

Glad I checked before I shot, just had a feeling.... I will go with your suggestion Libby. Thank you too Sienne!
3.25 tonight it is.
 
Sienne and Libby really know their stuff! You can rest assured with them watching over you that you are in the best hands(paws). :-D

Great job on the testing. Juggling the feeding and numbers can be a little tricky, especially when you are trying to get them to surf, don't want to feed to much, just enough to get them to maintain.
You did just super!
 
OH cool! Howdy neighbor!

Must be the sweet air in PA that there are so many sugar cats here. Wish you lived closer. There is a big LL reunion near Pittsburgh August 14th.
 
Oh me too!
I would love to attend a LL reunion! It's so nice to learn about other's experiences and how soon their babies went OTJ. Either way I think our babes are on the best insulin for them. Makes you feel good to know that there is a light at the end of this tunnel, especially with so many very well regulated and OTJ kitties with Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top