7/24 Kasha AMPS 123 PMPS 133, 68 @ +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
She ate about 1 1/2 Tbsp FF breakfast. Had a little bit of a snack around +9.2 last night. Surprised she would eat anything much after her feeding frenzy last night. No more cyproheptadine. That was a bit disturbing.

Sneezing this AM. Her eye is tearing when she sneezes. Poor girl.

I'm going btb.

Yesterday
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

Hope you get to the bottom of all that sneezing. Sounds like allergies to me. Has it started since the ac has been on?
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

JaniceandSpike said:
Hope you get to the bottom of all that sneezing. Sounds like allergies to me. Has it started since the ac has been on?

I'm not sure but it's definitely worse when the A/C is on...
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

Ok, I was looking for my saline solution to use to wipe down Kasha's eye when I found some homeopathic eye drops that I bought for the cats some time ago (never opened). I put a drop in Kasha's eye (we've used this before - there is nothing remotely harmful in them) and wiped down her face with it, where she'd been tearing. I've had mixed results with homoeopathic meds for both myself and the cats, but the eye drops have been helpful - at the very least they provide a sort of "eye wash" effect. Then I thought, maybe I should try something homeopathic for the sinus issues... Did some research online and ordered a product called Sinu-rite for pets... I don't like that it, like most homeopathic tablets, contains lactose, but I figured it was worth trying. Reviews I read on various sites talked about people trying it after using antibiotics for long periods of time and not experiencing relief of symptoms, but having good luck with this product. The reviews didn't make it sound miraculous... but they were encouraging enough that I thought we could give it a try...

So, it should arrive on Monday... We'll see.
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

Sounds like a trade off with the A/C -- you might filter out any particles or pollen but it dries things out.

You know cypro is also an appetite stimulant, right? No surprise that Kasha was hungry.
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

Sienne and Gabby said:
Sounds like a trade off with the A/C -- you might filter out any particles or pollen but it dries things out.

You know cypro is also an appetite stimulant, right? No surprise that Kasha was hungry.

Oh, I know it's an appetite stimulant... but its results with Big Cat were so mixed - he never got dopey and he ate more, but not an incredible amount more... And Kasha only got about 1/2 or less what he had been getting... I really didn't expect the dopey food monster she turned into! It was very unnerving!

I read online that it can take 2 - 3 days to build up in the system to get the full effect of the appetite stimulant... No thanks... If she had any more of an effect, she'd be eating 24/7!!!
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

Did some research online and ordered a product called Sinu-rite for pets... I don't like that it, like most homeopathic tablets, contains lactose, but I figured it was worth trying. Reviews I read on various sites talked about people trying it after using antibiotics for long periods of time and not experiencing relief of symptoms, but having good luck with this product. The reviews didn't make it sound miraculous... but they were encouraging enough that I thought we could give it a try...

Hi Krys,
Sorry to hear Kasha is still having problems. It is sure worth a try, and the reviews sound hopeful that it may help. We sure hope it helps little Kasha. I'm all for trying homeopathic treatments. Have a good Caturday. Isn't there any takeout foods on the menu for today? I'm hungry and wish someone would take me out to breakfast!
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

nice amps for Kasha.
You say her sneezing is worse when the a/c is on? then its got to be an allergy. I'm the same and the doctor says its probablly the a/c pushing out the dust. You can try vacuuming the vents and see if it helps her.
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

Well, the funny thing is... when the A/C is off and I just run the furnace fan thru the same vents/ductwork - she seems to do better... So I'm wondering if the dryness of the A/C just exacerbates her symptoms...

Vacuuming the vents? I'm not sure if that would help much - the ductwork behind them runs down 2 floors - that's a lot of space for dust and allergens to accumulate. And we have a better furnace filter than you can buy in stores too -have to order them specially. Still no good.

Oh well - I'm off to run errands and go to a cat show that my coworker is hosting. And get my frozen lemon custard breakfast cone ;)
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

Hi Krys and Kasha!!!

Paws and fingers crossed the homepathic remedy works! If only they had a netti-pot for cats! :lol:

Drooling over your lemon custard breakfast cone!
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

Has Kasha been to vet's (sorry haven't had much time on line last week so you may have already posted this). Just wondering if they have looked in nose to make sure no growths...

Give Blue a big smoochie from me.
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

Yes, been to vet twice. She didn't look for growths cuz Kasha had so much mucus she felt it was consistent with a sinus infection. Clear lungs but a lot of post-nasal drip. She was on A/B (Cefa drops) for 10 days. Her congestion seemed to lessen for a bit, and she sneezed less often, but she's back to sneezing fits. Almost always when she eats - I've switched foods to no avail - suspect could be some dental trigger? She's scheduled for a dental next week.

Joyce- will definitely give smoochies and snuggles to Blue for you! Hope your little girl is doing ok - I try to keep up on your condos, but I may have missed a few during the hectic week!
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

Hey Krys!

Does she sneeze year round? Wondred if this just started in the hot weather? Hope the new meds work out!
Amazing numbers lately ya know?
 
Re: 7/24 Kasha AMPS 123

myla said:
Hey Krys!

Does she sneeze year round? Wondered if this just started in the hot weather? Hope the new meds work out!
Amazing numbers lately ya know?


No - she gets the sneezies a few times a year... About 1 1/2 yrs ago she got sneezes and a bloody nose - we ended up on A/B and it went away... they told me to use a humidifier and I used a humidier all this past winter and we didn't have a problem till about a month ago. It was worse after the groomer, but that could be coincidence.
 
Ok... now that's a +2... Like I've said... I think the PS is dependent on all sorts of factors, but the +2 is where she really wants to start the cycle! LOL...

I gave her 1/4 tab chlor-trimeton and dinner #2 at +2... She only ate around 1 Tbsp for dinner #1... there might have been some grazing after, but I was out to get my frozen lemon custard (they were closed earlier - I guess most people don't get frozen custard for breakfast... it never occurred to me).

I went to a cat show today and met someone from FDMB! She says she hasn't posted in a long time... but she used to post on the Lantus forum... Now they are using Levemir, but she may come back and post... I believe she is Cheri of "Cheri and Louis". It was nice talking in person with someone who knows the protocol, the lingo and whose eyes don't roll back in their head when you start talking about feline diabetes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top