7/24 DAVIDSON PMPS 122, +2.25-74, +3-51, +3.5-49, +4.25-49, +5-56, +6-60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-23-davidson-pmps-101-2-25-76-4-62-5-53-5-5-58.198885/

Hmm, I have to say it;s a bit discouraging when I've had to increase Davidson's dose and yet he had better numbers in a way on the lower dose. It's the am/pm ps times that are hardest to get down, yet when it seems he's dropping he pops back up the next days. It's been 4.5 months since starting the 2nd rodeo, and just wondering when it's time to concede and accept that he's not going into remission - then he doesn't need all the tests? Any ideas as to what the next steps are when trying to gets our kitties into remission on round 2?
 
Don't give up. There is always hope. It's just like the first time around. You keep following where Davidson leads. Some people have success lowering the PS numbers by feeding a +9 snack, but I'm not sure if Davidson is on too high of a dose for that to work. In my opinion, it can't hurt to try if you're not already doing so. :bighug:
 
Thanks Carla..........not giving up, he's be mad at me cuz that would mean he doesn't get his treats!! He's doing very well, just needs his juice to keep regulated at this point and will continue as we all do cuz we have no options LOL. Well, it's a golf day and calls for rain and I'm sure Davidson will kick in shortly as he usually does......then again, he may say go get wet and play in the rain, haha. We need rain so badly as I'm sure many of us do.
 
Sometimes you just have to go up to go down in dose. His pancreas needs a bit more rest time. I wouldn't give him a +9 snack yet. That's not something that works until they are on itty bitty doses and close to remission.

Looks like he heard it was golf day.:D
 
Sometimes you just have to go up to go down in dose. His pancreas needs a bit more rest time. I wouldn't give him a +9 snack yet. That's not something that works until they are on itty bitty doses and close to remission.

Looks like he heard it was golf day.:D

haha, yeah, but he was good so I got to golf.......I'm sure he dropped into the 50's while I was gone, but not under 40........I know him too sell so took advantage and played. Yeah! Then once I tested him I was off on the HD for a ride - now back and test again, just cuz I can...........I understand and will do the yoyo game for however long it takes...........cuz I WUV him!!

BTW - I don't usually give him any snacks at because I want him to be clear of all food by pmps.......when he gets a snack during the day it's at +5-7.......but if you think a +9 will help down the road when he drops lower in BG then I can certainly give him some snack food.

Thanks!!
 
You've got a good feeding schedule now. The +9 snack is for when he gets down to around 0.1 unit. Note that I am suggesting he will get there!
 
Tnx Wendy........I agree Davdison has been doing well.........what DID NOT help is when I was away the pet sitter gave him so many snacks he gained 1.5lbs in 17 days, OUCH, OUCH........not good, so I've been cutting back a wee bit and he's lost over half that already and down to 13 lbs, he's a big boy and full of muscle but taking time to get rid of the excess in order not to mess him up. He was 12.78 before I left and 14.2 when I got back, and just a wee bit more and I think he'll do better on the insulin too...........I can't complain, he's great and no issues testing or any other problems in the 16 yrs - so I count my lucky stars as FD is the least of my worries when I read about the other diseases our kitties get as they age.

I always appreciate everyone's feedback especially when I enter a new area like Rodeo #2..............:kiss::kiss:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top