7/23 Rocky PMPS 74 +1.5 93 +4.5 62 +6 50 +7 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon,

I'm reporting in a bit late today because we had a long night last night. In fact, I was so tired that I overslept my alarm clock and Rocky got his AM shot 1/2 hour late. I also reduced his insulin dose this morning to a "skinny" 1.25u. Rocky did not get an insulin shot last night and that was a good decision. At PMBG +20 his BG was 86 and by his (late) AM shot this morning his BG had come down to 76.

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122187

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 104 +1 83 +47 +5 56 +6 60 +8 69
PMBG 69 +13 74 + 14 55 + 15.5 54 + 17.25 50 + 17.75 79 + 18.25 64 + 19 80 + 20 86

Rocky's BG permitting, tonight I will trap a mom and her three kittens who have been eating off of a woman's porch. The caregiver of this colony of 8 to 12 cats is moving from California to Oregon by August 7. I have to trap all of these cats and get them fixed and I'd like to be able to do it before she moves out. She and her mother had owned the house. Her mother recently died, the house went on the market, and it sold immediately. I am worried about who is going to feed this colony of cats as the caretaker doesn't know anyone else in the neighborhood who would do it. I've seen this before, where a long time colony caretaker moves away, and a new owner moves into the house. The cats don't leave.. They keep waiting for their caretaker to come home. It's actually quiet sad, and it can be really hard to locate a new place nearby to continue feeding them.
 
Re: 7/23 reducie (s)1.25u: AMPS 76 +1 87 +3 62 +5 55

Congrats on the reducie, hopefully that will give you time to take care of the other kittehs as Rocky gets used to the new dose. Good luck w/ finding a new place to feed, or better yet the new owner will be a cat lover.
 
Re: 7/23 PMPS 74 +1.5 93

Thank you Ann.. I wish that the new owners would be cat friendly too, but I think it's not likely that new home owners would want to take on the cost o feeding 8 to 12 cats that they don't consider their own. What needs to happen is a new understanding of neighborhood cats, that they do a service to the community at large, mainly, clearing the area of rodents.

There have been studies done on it in New Zealand, I believe, by a wildlife biologist. From what I understand, we humans cannot poison our way out of a rodent problem. Rats are attracted to homes where people are living together packed like sardines. It's the people who create the garbage that attract rats, not the other way around.
 
Re: 7/23 Rocky PMPS 74 +1.5 93 +4.5 62

A similar thing happened in my mom's neighborhood. The new owners didn't take on the cats. My sister says she still sees them around the house. Some were caught and found homes. One of the other neighbors is starting to feed those that are left. So sad.

Congrats on another reducie. Rocky's looking so good.
 
Re: 7/23 Rocky PMPS 74 +1.5 93 +4.5 62

I'm just home from trying to catch the mom and her kittens. Unfortunately, I think the kittens are about 4 months old so I don't know if I dare try to tame them. It depends on their temperament. I first tried the drop trap and mom came to eat without kittens, so I didn't pull the string. Then, I told the caregiver that we could just leave a trap that I could set on her front porch and see what happens. I set the trap and left. I called her one hour later and one of the kittens is trapped.

I'll go pick up the kitten in the morning, bring it to my house and put it in a cage, evaluate it to see if I can manage to tame it fairly quickly. If it's all piss and vinegar, wanting to bite, I'm going to have take it through the T-N-R program, which means it gets spayed or neutered, gets its ear tipped, and then is released back into the colony. I hate doing this to kittens..
 
Re: 7/23 Rocky PMPS 74 +1.5 93 +4.5 62

Oh, I sure hope you will be able to tame it and find it a home. Fingers and paws crossed.
 
Re: 7/23 Rocky PMPS 74 +1.5 93 +4.5 62

Elise, I think he's a little black and white very long haired Tuxedo. He might look something like your Max. :-D Or, there was also a grey and white Tux with medium fur, so it might be him/her. The caregiver couldn't tell which one was in the trap on her porch. Her front porch light is out and it was so dark, plus she has trouble walking so couldn't move the cage to a light to see which kitten is caught.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top