7/23 Butternut PMPS=132 +1=205 +2=224 +4=260 +6=312 +8.5=269

Thanks. What a night!

So, he's on the upswing and assuming it'll be even more @ AMPS in a few minutes, we're all good to go with an insulin reduction to 1.25 units? Should I change the thread title or make a a different one?

He ate his morning meal. Nothing amiss with him
 
Last edited:
No problem. We had a good team helping - from around the world!:bighug:

@Bron and Sheba - thanks for helping when my eyes started drooping.:bighug:

Very good outcome and I appreciate all who watched the thread and chimed in with guidance and support. I could see the animal icons show up on his SS too. :) +3 coming up.

His chart tipped me off. I reviewed it before bed and imagined possible scenarios based on a few days of data gathering. Somewhere in my brain I must have been disturbed - though not aware @ bedtime - because I didn't sleep well and woke @ +5 instead of +6 -- before the alarm and with my heart pounding. I checked him, fed him normal food because ... my gut told me to I guess and to try and smooth out the decent but he had a different plan. Fast food after that and tons of monitoring. For me there's a gold mine of information in those 3-4 hours of treatment and monitoring. Chart, test, know thy cat and trust thy gut.
 
Last edited:
WOW! What an exciting night you had! I hope Nutty behaves himself today - nice going to the lagoon, but take it easy there Nutty - don't wear mama out with your antics :)
 
WOW! What an exciting night you had! I hope Nutty behaves himself today - nice going to the lagoon, but take it easy there Nutty - don't wear mama out with your antics :)

Almost chum for the sharks. :eek: He's sporting some pink now and sleeping off his carb hangover. I can leave the house for a bit! :woot:
 
...then coo-coo-ca-choo, they find their way back to the big 'ol blue. Crush, Finding Nemo

+9=141

Reading threads and making my shopping list: Magnifying light. Calipers.
 
Gone green @ +10.5. Gave 2 tsp of his regular LC food 15 min before +10 to hold him until meal time@ PMPS. Will test +11 and post. He wants his food... our schedule is wonky while we figure this out.
I've got testing anxiety today. :nailbiting:
 
Need to figure out his meals better so I can let him cruise through those two hours before PMPS without eating.

Potential for a lowest PMPS and will need some guidance again.
 
Gone green @ +10.5. Gave 2 tsp of his regular LC food 15 min before +10 to hold him until meal time@ PMPS. Will test +11 and post. He wants his food... our schedule is wonky while we figure this out.
I've got testing anxiety today. :nailbiting:

Actually his normal food is zero carb - raw. So prior to +10 that's what he ate. He used to eat both raw and LC canned without issue but now the 3% is problematic. Rethinking food choices too.
 
That's a good nadir, even though it was real late in the cycle.
That 112 is pretty low for pre-shot (based on his running pre-shot averages). I don't like skipping doses. But I also don't like 2am "evenings".

If it was me, and he is still in that BG range, I would skip the dose or do a half dose. That will drain some of the depot.

If you stand back from the chart and look at doses, he is on a good trend to lower doses overall - from 2.0/2.5 to 1.25. A good trend.
 
no stall then shoot? I"m ok with a half dose too. He didn't bounce today like I expected him to and on less insulin.

.625 units. o_O
 
Holy smokes - you have good eyeballs to get that dose! Maybe 0.5F (fat) is what most call it. You will need to do BG monitoring tonight.
 
You could stall if you want, but I think his depot is pretty full at this point. The 2am sessions are tough on cats and humans.
 
You probably know I'm pretty conservative. Some others try to keep their cat in lower numbers. So it depends on your goals.

To me a perfect medium is twofold:
1) the cat is getting in the dark green/blue for nadir to get past the renal threshold - on a regular basis
2) the human can get decent rest

Many owners are on 18-20 hour BG monitoring. Maybe perfect numbers for their cat, but health impacts to the human.

....test at his nighttime nadir hour besides testing up to bed which is PMPS+3
The testing tonight depends on his BG descent. For example, if he is 110 at PMPS+3, then more testing will be needed.
 
You probably know I'm pretty conservative. Some others try to keep their cat in lower numbers. So it depends on your goals.

To me a perfect medium is twofold:
1) the cat is getting in the dark green/blue for nadir to get past the renal threshold - on a regular basis
2) the human can get decent rest

Many owners are on 18-20 hour BG monitoring. Maybe perfect numbers for their cat, but health impacts to the human.

....test at his nighttime nadir hour besides testing up to bed which is PMPS+3
The testing tonight depends on his BG descent. For example, if he is 110 at PMPS+3, then more testing will be needed.

I agree with your logic. Im willing to go without much sleep to get him into his groove then hopefully we can cruise but I also don't want to have another hypo event like last night, which I was lucky to catch early. I'll keep an eye on him tonight and post results as I test.
He just ate with gusto.

Appreciate your help on this! :)
 
Thx. I don't discount the other objectives for diabetic cats. And I admire many people for getting near perfect regulation with their cats. It makes them very healthy diabetics. But it truly is an 18 hour a day job to get there.

For example, Jamie is BellasMom. She has done a stellar job with Bella. I truly admire her perseverence, and so does Bella! But if you browse thru the chart, that is a 20 hour monitoring job that is happening. Frankly I forecast that Bella will very soon be OTJ (Off the Juice). It doesn't always happen though.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-23-bella-amps-126-2-65-3-68-5-70-pmps-140-2-96.217197/
 
+4=260. He gets a meal now. I'll do a +6 next.

Is .5F butternut's new dose until the data says otherwise or was the reduction @PMPS for tonight only?
 
That was tonight only. Per the TR protocol, the reduction is 0.25. Let's get Butternut on the new 1.25 dose for the standard 6-10 cycles (3-5 days). Then we can see how he is responding to that reduction.

I wish he was higher at PMPS preshot today. Anyhow, the depot will get partly drained from tonight. Sorry I am so late to respond.
 
+8.5=269. He's up so I checked his bg. His curve is backwards. o_O

He just threw up some spit and I didn't find any piles of barfed food around the house to explain his drop.. He's not a pukey cat for the most part so will be watching that today. Normal and seems to want some food now that he's cleaned his pipes. Purring.
 
Some cats puke if they didn't get food for awhile. Leo used to puke regularly around 3am - mostly bile.
 
Back
Top