7/23 Butternut PMPS=132 +1=205 +2=224 +4=260 +6=312 +8.5=269

+5.5=68. my comfort zone has been breached due to speed of descent. gave 1 tsp of FF gravy and testing soon.

he just pooped if that matters
 
Yes, you are in Karo land. Give 1 tsp of gravy with a few drops of karo mixed in.

I cannot stay up with you. @JeffJ @Bron and Sheba

Go up to the top of this thread. In the right hand corner, you will see "edit thread." There will be a box where you will be able to click 911/?. Use the 911.
 
Are you doing TR or SLGS? Either way. Butternut is getting a reduction next cycle.

82 is most likely the FF gravy talking then. Is 82 at +6.5 or?
 
Thanks for jumping into my thread. I had my alarm set for now and woke up in a panic an hour early for some reason. Glad I checked him
 
Crista, can you stay? I've already taken bedtime meds.

I'm wondering if the 37 was a wonky strip. 68 to 37 in 15 minutes is a big drop.

Your signature says "AT@ backup when bg low." Which meter are you using right now?


he dropped 68 to 37 in half hour. still.... :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Thanks. I'm focused. Just seeing my kit all over the counter and expressing gratitude and relief. testing again at top of the hour.
 
Good update. That will be a good test. That will be PMPS+7 right?

I used to space Leo's tests to 20 minutes during issues - to give his ears a break. Is Butternut doing okay?
 
Good update. That will be a good test. That will be PMPS+7 right?

I used to space Leo's tests to 20 minutes during issues - to give his ears a break. Is Butternut doing okay?


yes +7. Butternut is sound asleep and snoring. Per usual. o_O Purring too.

I get samples from his paw pads.
 
Dear everyone that views this thread: Get a Freakin' Hypo Kit and keep it stocked! I'm blowing out my adrenals over this but with confidence... well, a little confidence.... coz I have the tools to respond.
This was me last night! I haven’t read all the way through the thread yet, but sending purrs your way.
 
What a sweetie - giving purrs. I'm pretty sure all the sugar kittehs on the forum love HC. But karo and HC usually wear off fairly quickly.

Now we are looking for 2 hours of decent numbers after the last food. A lot of times, they come up on the gravy/karo, then they drop again.
 
What a sweetie - giving purrs. I'm pretty sure all the sugar kittehs on the forum love HC. But karo and HC usually wear off fairly quickly.

Now we are looking for 2 hours of decent numbers after the last food. A lot of times, they come up on the gravy/karo, then they drop again.

Is testing every 30 minutes frequent enough now?
 
Yes. You could do a BG test at PMPS+7 - +20 or +30. If he starts to drop again, then reduce the time between tests.

For example, if he was still at 37, then we would do 5 or 10 minute tests. But he is pretty high right now, and dreaming away.
 
Thanks for keeping the chart updated, it has made it much easier to help here.

When was the last HC/karo - PMPS+???
 
Please pull off the 911 tag from the subject - most people are sleeping anyhow, and Butternut is doing fine now.
I would keep testing until +8. But frankly I doubt he will drop below 85 at this point.

Kudos to you on this low event. You handled it well, and your kitteh is safe - thanks to you!:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Just looking at your chart, for everyday testing I would probably not test every hour, but would give him a break and do every 2 hours.:)

Dandelion and Bron - I'm bailing out. I can see those ZZZZ's floating thru the hallway to my bed.
 
Thanks for keeping the chart updated, it has made it much easier to help here.

It helps me review the event and see that he wasn't <50 for a long time and to see how he responds to what I've given him. I'll add notes later.

I had an alarm set for +6 to check him but got up an hour early. Guardian Angels here.
 
Please pull off the 911 tag from the subject - most people are sleeping anyhow, and Butternut is doing fine now.
I would keep testing until +8. But frankly I doubt he will drop below 85 at this point.

Kudos to you on this low event. You handled it well, and your kitteh is safe - thanks to you!:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Just looking at your chart, for everyday testing I would probably not test every hour, but would give him a break and do every 2 hours.:)

Dandelion and Bron - I'm bailing out. I can see those ZZZZ's floating thru the hallway to my bed.

thanks for staying up with us and your guidance is much appreciated. as far as testing, I was going to stick with +3, +6 etc but then he hit the blues and I had no idea where he'd go.
 
Thanks to everyone that checked in and offered support and guidance. Much appreciated and I'll be back on for an assist re his reduction for next cycle that was mentioned up thread.

Butternut is snor-purring and chasing gazelles in his sleep. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Butternut has earned a reduction down to 1.25 at the next shot.
You haven't got which Dosing method you are following in your signature. Have you decided yet? You are certainly testing enough for TR.
He's gone blue @ +8=115
That's good. How long since Butternut has eaten any food?
 
Butternut has earned a reduction down to 1.25 at the next shot.
You haven't got which Dosing method you are following in your signature. Have you decided yet? You are certainly testing enough for TR.

That's good. How long since Butternut has eaten any food?

+6 was the last and it was a good bit of FF
 
Butternut has earned a reduction down to 1.25 at the next shot.
You haven't got which Dosing method you are following in your signature. Have you decided yet? You are certainly testing enough for TR.

TR but through yesterday and even during the night I was wondering if it's too aggressive for him due to his age. I don't know enough.

That's good. How long since Butternut has eaten any food?
 
messed that up.

TR but through yesterday and even during the night I was wondering if it's too aggressive for him due to his age. I don't know enough.

he's new to levemir and didn't know where he'd go once he was in green and blue territory. I'd rather not test so frequently unless something is brewing
 
Levemir is a great insulin and it often has a later nadir than Lantus.
Choose the method that will suit you and Butternut best.
I think he will be safe now if it is 2 hours since he has eaten.
He's had some lovely numbers since swapping to Levemir. He might bounce after these low numbers so don't be disappointed if he does. He looks as if he only bounces for a cycle which is good.
 
I want to continue with TR and stay on top of his progress with adequate testing. He needs to get better regulation and crossing my fingers Levemir will help, with lots of SS data to fortify decision-making. I even reviewed his chart before bed and had a hunch he was going to head south.

1.25 u in the AM for Butternut.

Thanks.
 
Back
Top