7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100, +6=109

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100

100 is perfect. :smile:

Now just stay right about there, Bob!
 
Re: 7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100

Marje and Gracie said:
Looks like the old crystal ball might be working tonight....possibly a surf followed by numbers coming back down.

I think Id get a +6 ok?

Here is Bobs 7/22 Condo.

I'm reading through condos. I have to be in bed earlier tonight since my work day is tomorrow but I will post some ideas for the dose before I do. Promise

Will do! I would love not to skip, but maybe to just reduce. I'll come home again tomorrow early. Unless I should skip if it's really low. whatever...I don't really know what I'm talking about.

Yes, I must work as well and it's midnight here. Tomorrow will be ugly....

Carl & Bob said:
100 is perfect.

Now just stay right about there, Bob!

Yes please Bob!!! Let's surf in the nice low blues. Give your mama a break. I've been fighting off Hector all night (he has a cotton pad fetish) and I've gone through 50 strips in a matter of days! :shock:
 
Re: 7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100, +6=10

HEy Marje - got my +6. Should I test anymore tonight? He's surfin' right along, but I'm certain he usually is heading up at this point. Any thoughts about his shot tomorrow am?
 
Re: 7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100

Dara

First, lets just deal with what the options are now. The trip to the conference is not until August and alot can change quickly...as you see.

Due to the cumulative nature of Lantus, a higher dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles. Bob had a pretty good depot at 4.25u and he's coming down the dosing scale fast ....likely due to the food change. I don't think this is depot from 4.25u but I do think its likely depot from 4u and still maybe a little of the influence form 4.25u.

If he's still green in the morning, you might want to skip the shot and drain the depot. If he's above 100 or If he bounces way up, I think I'd shoot the new dose of 3.5u and not shoot through the bounce because he's clearing his bounces quickly and we want to drain the depot a bit.

You also have the choice of reducing by .5u. While we usually take dose reductions in .25u increments, sometimes we need to be flexible with the guidelines. If you reduce by .5u, keep in mind that he still might have a couple of active cycles while the depot drains. And also remember that if the reduction is too much, you can take him back up.

Those are the options :-D what do you think?
 
Re: 7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100, +6=10

If Bob were my kitty, I'd take a nap for two hours and then test again to be sure he's coming up and not bobbling.
 
Re: 7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100, +6=10

wouldn't draining the depot cause his numbers to go back up? I like the 3.5 if over 100. Still not sure what I should do about the green. I'd hate to skip. What would you do?
 
Re: 7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100, +6=10

Sometimes draining the depot causes the numbers to go up. Sometimes it doesn't especially if kitty is on a mission. I was trying to think of a kitty that the caregiver had to skip shots to drain the depot and keep the kitty safe. I'll try to find one for you.

It's difficult for me to tell you what I would do because Mike is with Gracie when I can't be....so I've only skipped one shot due to low numbers (40s). Your situation is different and I don't know how hard it is for you to get home at +4 or what happens at work if you come home and have to stay to bring his numbers up.

As I indicated above, Id reduce his dose even if he bounces. I would most likely just reduce by .25u but, again, that's your decision.

Let me see if I can find a SS to show you of a cat coming down the dosing scale fast enough that we had them skip some shots.

BRB.
 
Re: 7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100, +6=10

Good job tonight Dara - congrats on the reduction. :-D That 26 was sure an eye opener. Your reaction was the same as mine when I once got a Lo from the meter (which it reads below 20). Then I retested after the HC was given. ohmygod_smile

Doing a temporary half dose or skip is a technique that higher dose cats sometimes do to drain the depot. Also for cats that are seriously coming down the scale. Draining the depot doesn't mean emptying it, it just means pulling the plug on the bathtub until it stops overflowing the top of the tub. Last fall when we were screaming down the scale, I did do a half shot once. Neko is so bouncy she did zoom up, but was down to greens a few cycles later.

Timber's SS is an example of a kitty that switched from dry to wet and the caregiver skipped a few doses because she was going to work and worried about him being safe.
 
Re: 7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100, +6=10

As Wendy mentioned, you could shoot a half dose if he is 50-100 in the morning. My only concern is that the cycle could look the same as it would if you shot 3.25u....again, the effects of the depot.

I found one SS but don't want to post it because it ended up the kitty had cancer. I have to get to bed but I will look tomorrow night or Thursday.
 
Re: 7/23 Bob PMPS=66, +3=26, +3.25=71, +4=106, +5=100, +6=10

Thanks Wendy and Marje! I ended up reducing by .5, but now I'm a little worried because Bob doesn't seem hungry even though he's in a great mood. ANyway, I'll check out Timber's ss in a few. I will stay home with Bob until about +5 to be sure he stays safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top