7/23 Blackie pmps 363 +4 479

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Happy Friday, LL
Looks like Blackie is bouncing a bit. I hope he comes back down soon.

WCR: Blackie continues to feel good. He's eating well and he went for a little walk outside last night after it cooled down. All P's in place.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20421
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291

I hope Blackie clears the bounce soon too. Come on Blackie - you can do it! Nice on the evening walk - Mannie loves those too - he can sleep the day away, but sure does want those evenings out.

Hey Blackie - it's me Mannie! It's our last day at Stu's camp - so please come, OK? There will be lots of kitties there today - we have such a large group now - everybody wants to go to camp: cookin', surfin', swimmin', chillin'. See you there, OK? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291

Considering that it's Friday, perhaps Blackie will clear his bounce tonight! :-D Hope he comes back down soon.

Blackie-
It's the last day at Stu's! We gotta get there so we don't miss any of the fun. Come by and pick me up and we'll go together. See you soon!
<3, Buzz
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63

When I said I wanted him to come down soon, I didn't mean this fast!! Blackie hadn't eaten his +2 food before this test and DH let him have his +2 and +4 food, so that should slow his descent. DH will test at +5. Thank goodness DH is home this morning - he was supposed to leave at noon (+6), but he can delay if he has to.
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63

Whoa, I guess Blackie decided to get his Friday night descent started early! I'm glad Robert is home and can test as long as he needs to. What a relief that is, huh? Surf, Blackie, surf!
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63 +5 32

DH gave him 1 tsp karo mixed with 1 tsp 17% gravy. He'll recheck in 15 minutes. I'm very nervous. What else can we do?
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63 +5 32

Whoa - will you look at that! a 32 - well at least it is close to nadir. just keep at it, test every 15 minutes, feed the gravy. it always works for me. i suspect that with the karo and the gravy Blackie will come up soon.
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40

Robert fed him 1 TB 17% food with a little bit of karo. He'll check every 15 min until Blackie gets in the 50's.
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40

Other than feeding a higher percentage carb food, there's isn't much else you can do that Robert isn't already doing. Blackie will come back up shortly (I see he's risen a little bit at +5.25, great!). It sounds like Robert is handling things well, and hopefully Blackie is close to his nadir so he shouldn't plummet too much. Take a deep breath and tell yourself everything will be fine (because it will!). :smile:
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40

Just keep doing what you are doing until he comes up- Lather, Rinse, Repeat!!-HC food is best--Come on up Blackie!!
Boy that was some reound clearing!! Good thing DH was home--Good Catch!!! :thumbup :thumbup
Any Update?? Come on up boy!!!
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40

my favorite drill: lather rinse repeat! Sounds like DH has it under control. just remember small amounts of food - just in case this goes a while then Blackie won't be too full to eat when he needs to. HC gravy foods are great!

How's he doing? and he will be fine.
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40 +5.5 69 +6 143

Rebound already?? Or was it the karo? Or else Blackie has a liver that works really, really well. DH will get a +8 just in case Blackie goes down again.

Now I need to figure out what to do about dose. I know that 32 is an automatic dosecrease, but Blackie didn't do very well at 3.25.
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40 +5.5 69 +6 143

wow - that didn't take long to come back up :-D shesshhhh - maybe it's all three: karo, gravy and rebound... then of course if Blackie got his paws on Mannie's bungees - well that explains everything.

Good luck with your decision on the dosecrease. Hopefully one of the experts will chime on in with an opinion. I know for me, and Mannie being the diver that he is, I don't give decreases unless he has more than one <50... and have never had the joy of a 32 which means an auto redcution. Good luck with what you decide!
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie amps 291 +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40 +5.5 69 +6 143

You can always shave the dose rather than take the full 0.25u decrease.

Just a thought... You might want to get a test in before +4. Fluids have the potential of bringing the numbers down so it might help if you had an indication of how fast Blackie is dropping and you can get that by testing earlier.
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40 +5.5 69 +6 143 +7 235

Looks like Blackie is having quite a day a little too much drama for the Beans Blackie 32 is a bit too low try not to scare the Beans Ok :-D
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40 +5.5 69 +6 143 +7 235

I learned 2 things today: #1 Get that +2 check (thanks, Sienne) #2 Make sure Blackie gets his +2 food. I suspect that we may not have had such a steep drop if he had eaten at +2.

I hope Blackie just surfs now - I do not want to see any pink or red numbers. Hear me, Blackie?
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40 +5.5 69 +6 143 +7 235

Mannie had a few extra of these so he thought he'd share one with Blackie. I do hope Blackie doesn't hit the pinks..... what a day for you!

I couldn't agree more on the +2 food - especially if I see a lower number than the ps. Mannie is such a diver and a bouncer, and this does seem to help curb both.

Have a nice quiet evening! :-D
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40 +5.5 69 +6 143 +7 235

wow Blackie, what an exciting day! Now no more crazy bouncing up and droping low. A nice safe green and blue surf from now on.
 
Re: 7/23 Blackie +4 63 +5 32 +5.25 40 +5.5 69 +6 143 +7 235

At the lower dose (3.25), the fluids didn't seem to make a difference, but this morning, what a difference! I gave fluids tonight at +2, so I'll test again at +3 or +4. I am navigating new territory - before the fluids, Blackie did not scuba dive or bungee jump, but now......? I never know where he's going.
 
yikes, I came onto the board late so the low numbers weren't in your subject line anymore. Was I ever surprised to see the 32! Good job handling it, sorry about the bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top