Re: 7/22-Ollie AMPS 103,+1 124,+2 126,+3 113,+5 134
I'm not an expert, but I can share what I've observed and experienced. I don't know that I've heard people talk much about splitting the dose... It's usually shoot the full amount OR skip/wait OR shoot the BCS shot. You are going to be messing with his shed if you do anything but shoot your full dose, I believe... Also, since there is the shed to worry about, even if you reduce or skip, you still see some shed action, so it's not really like he isn't getting any insulin at all... The the following shots will have to rebuild the shed... which can take a cycle or 2.
When you're new to it, you really need to see how he reacts to lower numbers and how he reacts to food at those numbers... At first, when Kasha would drop, I'd start throwing high carb at her - really high, like up to 29%... Serious panic reaction and then she'd bounce up high from the food and also bounce from the low number! I learned gradually that I can use a supposedly 9% FF in very small amounts (think teaspoon or less) to comfortably move her up from a low number without bouncing her up high... But it definitely took experience and experiments to figure out what worked and get comfortable... In fact, just a week or 2 ago, she dropped to 48 or something by around +1.5 or +2 and I had to go to work so I left out a bunch of MC and put more MC in the autofeeder... I got home to a very full kitty with the highest preshot we had in a long time - but, better safe than sorry!
Anyway - hope you can get something out of my rambling!