7/22-Ollie AMPS 103, PMPS 103

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klaree and Ollie

Member Since 2010
Yesterday:

AMPS - 261
Shot - 2.25 U
+4 - 233
+6 - 219
+9 - 152
PMPS - 115
Shot 2.25 U
+2 - 109
+3 - 87 [Big LC snack]
+4 - 115
+5 - 103
+6 - 134

Today:

AMPS - 103
+1 - 124
+2 - 126
+3 - 113
+5 - 134
+8 - 115
PMPs - 103
Shot a skinny 2.00.

He felt really good today, was more active than he's been in 2 years. Super-happy :).

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 103

Very nice!! :mrgreen:

If you can, a +1 ok?
And an out the door check before you take off.


Oh one more "and" :lol: leave plenty of yummy foods out.
Very good start to Ollie's day!
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 103

Yeah, I'll post the +1, +2, and a +2.5. If the numbers are crazy low, I won't leave or may come back for a 'lunch.' I have a buffet of food all planned out :).

Do you think it was wise to go down to a 2.00 this am?

Thanks!
Klaree
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 103 QUESTION

One more question - should I leave HC food out as well as a precaution or only if green numbers at +2, etc.?

Thanks!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 103 QUESTION

I would base the food on what you see at +1 and +2. Remember:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.

If you see a drop before +2, definitely leave out HC/MC. Since you've really not had to intervene with food to steer numbers, it's hard to know how much of what to suggest you feed.

As far as shooting a BCS dose, you do what you feel comfortable with given the circumstances. If you need to leave the house, safety comes first.
 
Re: 7/22-Ollie AMPS 103,+1 124,+2 126 Another QUESTION

The protocol says that if the PreShot # is between 50-100 (I'm taking my AMPS of 103 as between 50-100), that you can either reduce the dose, feed and wait to give the dose, or split the dose. Since I gave 2.00 (reduced by .25) for the AM Shot, can I give .25 now? Would that qualify as a 'split dose?' I'll probably just leave well enough alone since I have to leave but I'm curious about what you guys think for the future....

Thanks!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/22-Ollie AMPS 103,+1 124,+2 126,+3 113,+5 134

I'm not an expert, but I can share what I've observed and experienced. I don't know that I've heard people talk much about splitting the dose... It's usually shoot the full amount OR skip/wait OR shoot the BCS shot. You are going to be messing with his shed if you do anything but shoot your full dose, I believe... Also, since there is the shed to worry about, even if you reduce or skip, you still see some shed action, so it's not really like he isn't getting any insulin at all... The the following shots will have to rebuild the shed... which can take a cycle or 2.

When you're new to it, you really need to see how he reacts to lower numbers and how he reacts to food at those numbers... At first, when Kasha would drop, I'd start throwing high carb at her - really high, like up to 29%... Serious panic reaction and then she'd bounce up high from the food and also bounce from the low number! I learned gradually that I can use a supposedly 9% FF in very small amounts (think teaspoon or less) to comfortably move her up from a low number without bouncing her up high... But it definitely took experience and experiments to figure out what worked and get comfortable... In fact, just a week or 2 ago, she dropped to 48 or something by around +1.5 or +2 and I had to go to work so I left out a bunch of MC and put more MC in the autofeeder... I got home to a very full kitty with the highest preshot we had in a long time - but, better safe than sorry!

Anyway - hope you can get something out of my rambling!
 
Re: 7/22-Ollie AMPS 103,+1 124,+2 126,+3 113,+5 134, +8 115

Very helpful, thank you. I just checked BS again...+8 was 115. He's having a great day. Hasn't had any HC or MC food yet. Seems to respond well to LC food when low (~60-80) so far. He hasn't been lower than that since pre-Lantus/FDMB days. The lowest he's ever been was 26 and I really didn't notice any behavioral changes, just happened to spot check him (turns out it was our only double dose to date). I am paranoid though....

Klaree and Ollie
 
Yesterday:

AMPS - 261
Shot - 2.25 U
+4 - 233
+6 - 219
+9 - 152
PMPS - 115
Shot 2.25 U
+2 - 109
+3 - 87 [Big LC snack]
+4 - 115
+5 - 103
+6 - 134

Today:

AMPS - 103
+1 - 124
+2 - 126
+3 - 113
+5 - 134
+8 - 115
PMPs - 103
Shot a skinny 2.00.

He felt really good today, was more active than he's been in 2 years. Super-happy :).

Klaree and Ollie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top