7/22 kit +8.5 56,+9.25 48,+10 64,+11 62,+11.5 78,PMPS 70,82,+1 159,+2 191,+3 206,+10.25 240

You're doing great. Really on top of things with the carbs. Hopefully it will give her a nice buffer for nadir.:)
I'll be around but, you know exactly what to do!!:bighug:
 
I would have fed mc. after the last test. Let’s see how it goes. She’s breaking bounces early. :) She may just need a reduction but time will tell.
 
I'll be around but, you know exactly what to do!!
you have no idea how calming it is to see you liking along the posts.

joji is going to take over shortly. i don't think she's done one of these yet so you being here is an extra comfort.
i'm writing her a little note below on "thoughts for the plan"
please chime in if you have inputs. :bighug:


for joji
testing again 30 min after last food prop which means test at 11:59am eastern (+5)
if flat, do nothing and test again in 30min
if dropping, consider by how much when deciding what kind of food to give next. probably HC or possibly LC. either way. just a small amount like 0.25oz so she doesn't get too full.

keep the post title and the spreadsheet up-to-date to make it easy for others to watch. :bighug:

briere is watching us, so she may chime in with thoughts too. :bighug:
 
I think your plan is good. It's hard to tell if Kit's going to nadir late, as she likes to do or at a normal +6. Testing gives you the data to see the big pic because cycles aren't predictable everytime. The only thing I might do a lil diff is the frequency of testing. I would let the #s dictate. If she's flat...back off on testing(maybe every hour)....feed as normal letting the #s dictate what type carb content. If she's seriously dropping...continue food propping and testing until you get into better #s(normal protocol). But, it really depends on how Kit's handling all the pokes and if you want the data. I like data. In the height of Moey's lantus journey, I was curving everyday.
So, basically let the #s dictate...you know;)
@tiffmaxee what do you think? You after all have the most experience here:bighug:
 
She dropped from 122 to 109 after the HC so what do you think? More food or hold off? Test in 30 or an hour? joji (new to this!)
 
Goodness Kit you don't make this easy. If she's dropping with 28%, makes you wonder how low she would have gone w/o it. She's not in any danger with the #s. If you want to keep her #s where there at, continue with a little food propping and test in 30 just to see. The 28% doesn't seem to have a huge effect on her so I suppose use that. If you see a big increase in #s after feeding the 28% I'd switch to the MC. @tiffmaxee thoughts?
If she's still dropping beyond +6 we'll know she's gonna nadir laterand may need to be steered more.
 
We do want those #s down more. It's just a matter of if Kit's gonna stop dropping after +6 and if she's going to drop w/o food(and by how much). She's not very carb sensitive and likes to nose dive. Just have to be on top of the drop. And predicting those drops is never 100%. You can try not feeding too as tiffmaxee suggested. She's not in danger. You can see if she's angling for another reduction as tiffmaxee mentioned above. I was just thinking this last night. If Kit's not responding to 28% well and you're having to keep her afloat with mc/hc, than she may be getting too much insulin.
 
We do want those #s down more. If Kit's not responding to 28% well and you're having to keep her afloat with mc/hc, than she may be getting too much insulin.

When it’s hard to bring them back up with hc that’s what it usually means. Whenever Max wasn’t ready for a reduction he came up quickly. Granted he was carb sensitive but when he was getting too much insulin I’d have to guide him for hours and he even would drop into the 20’s and 30’s.
 
BTW if we need to give her hc because she drops under 50 it can be a teaspoon or two of food with lots of gravy or gravy with Karo if you are worried she won’t continue to be hungry. Notice if she’s looking for food or asking for it as she drops.
 
If she’s surfing., you can give a teaspoon or two of lc and test in 30. You ok? She’s doing great Looking for next test. Flat us good.
 
Last edited:
title is getting long. here's the day so far
2/22 kit AMPS 213, +2.5 126,+3 162,+3.75 139,+4.5 122, +5 109 @+5.5 91 @+6.25 67 @+7 66 +7.5 64

And now @+8 she's 60 joji

 
Last edited:
Hoping for a reduction. Then we'll probably have to stall and maybe reduce insulin tonight similar to 2 days ago, yes? joji
 
Next time she drops early I think you should avoid the hc and maybe even feed normally and see what happens. I’m thinking she’s needing less insulin but if you prop her up with hc she doesn’t have the opportunity to show you. See what others say about that.
 
Getting close. She’s toying with us.
Like her favorite mouse toy!

When we test again in about 19 min it will be at about +9.5 (bc the AMPS was a bit late as we're still coming back from the previous stall)
Thinking that if that is <50
what would you recommend for food?
 
Last edited:
yeah, agree. it's jw popping in for a sec. when i did that i didnt know if joji would be able to come by to handle the day and i knew i couldnt. so bad care giver on my part :(
Not bad care. Don't throw yourself under the bus. You were doing what you thought was best at the time. It's all a learning experience. You learn something from this and apply it to the next situation.:bighug:
 
A tsp or two of HC now that she's dropped under 50. Here's @tiffmaxee 's recommendation from above:

BTW if we need to give her hc because she drops under 50 it can be a teaspoon or two of food with lots of gravy or gravy with Karo if you are worried she won’t continue to be hungry. Notice if she’s looking for food or asking for it as she drops.

She's earned her reduction!
 
She’s clearing a bounce and that’s why the numbers keep dropping. It doesn’t necessarily mean she wants a reduction and even with the BCS two nights ago, a 6u depot is going to affect several cycles after a reduction.

What we want to avoid is her continuing to drop after +10 as a kitty would normally do when they are clearing a bounce. She needs to be up. Also, normally, this late in the cycle, you would feed LC to keep from putting the brakes on duration.

But sometimes the “normals” go out the window with bounce clearing cycles. I’d suggest a nice helping of higher MC (more if she’s not carb sensitive) and retest 30 mins after. It’s possible that she’s going to just flirt with the 40s all the way to shot time.

If at +10, she’s still in the 40s, you’ll want to give her 20 mins to see if she starts to head up on her own. If she doesn’t, then you want to stick with small amounts of LC. That might enable you to still shoot without having to stall if she gets above 50.

ETA: I’d give her the reduction tonight. I found with Gracie that doing something similar on a bounce clearing cycle didn’t mean she needed a reduction but I had gobs off data. We aren’t sure yet with Kit.
 
She’s clearing a bounce and that’s why the numbers keep dropping. It doesn’t necessarily mean she wants a reduction and even with the BCS two nights ago, a 6u depot is going to affect several cycles after a reduction.

What we want to avoid is her continuing to drop after +10 as a kitty would normally do when they are clearing a bounce. She needs to be up. Also, normally, this late in the cycle, you would feed LC to keep from putting the brakes on duration.

But sometimes the “normals” go out the window with bounce clearing cycles. I’d suggest a nice helping of higher MC (more if she’s not carb sensitive) and retest 30 mins after. It’s possible that she’s going to just flirt with the 40s all the way to shot time.

If at +10, she’s still in the 40s, you’ll want to give her 20 mins to see if she starts to head up on her own. If she doesn’t, then you want to stick with small amounts of LC. That might enable you to still shoot without having to stall if she gets above 50.

I’m glad to see you. She has late nadirs. What dose would you suggest for tonight and morning? Would you avoid another reduction since this was influenced by the higher dose? I’m learning too as I never dealt with high dosing.
 
Back
Top