7/22 Copernicus +3=523 +6 316 AMPP=292

Krista & Copernicus

Member Since 2026
PP

Copernicus had a 523 yesterday again, but this time after a day of similar purple numbers, NOT after a 200s. And, why would he go higher to 523 at the exact time Lantus is supposed to start working +3 hours after his shot? It doesn't make sense.

These high numbers are destroying his hind legs. Again, this is not supposed to be how Lantus works. He should be having a smiley face curve even if the curve is in the high numbers. Not all over the place like this. Am I just supposed to continue his dosing like this?

Thank you. :(
 
Am I just supposed to continue his dosing like this?
This is what I posted on your last thread "For a larger dose cat, think of the increases as 10-15% of the total dose. You could easily move to 1.5 unit increase now and 2 if he hits 20 units." You could have increased by 1.5 units today.
why would he go higher to 523 at the exact time Lantus is supposed to start working +3 hours after his shot? It doesn't make sense.
Onset can be ECID. Neko's onset was later. It wasn't usual to see her coming down after +3 when on Lantus. 7/17 AM cycle, Copernicus did the same. But sometimes he comes down earlier. Numbers also wobble around during a bounce.
 
This is what I posted on your last thread "For a larger dose cat, think of the increases as 10-15% of the total dose. You could easily move to 1.5 unit increase now and 2 if he hits 20 units." You could have increased by 1.5 units today.

Onset can be ECID. Neko's onset was later. It wasn't usual to see her coming down after +3 when on Lantus. 7/17 AM cycle, Copernicus did the same. But sometimes he comes down earlier. Numbers also wobble around during a bounce.
I may have overlooked that reply between all the urgent vet visits and research and etc. Im sorry. But if he's going from 200 to 500 on these doses won't bigger increases cause bigger swings?. Or bigger new dose wonkiness.?
 
NDW won't be any different. As far as swings go, who knows. Your goal is to get him closer to normal BG numbers so he gets used to them and stops bouncing as much. More insulin can also lower those higher numbers.
 
Sometimes they throw us a curveball but one black number is a blip in the data and not catastrophic. And, he came right back down. Like Wendy said, onset can vary. Also, if you get a number that’s an outlier, it never hurts to retest — just to confirm you didnt get a bad test strip or too much/little blood or accidentally contaminate the strip or whatever.

Are you able to get the full shot in him now or is he still pulling away causing you to shoot in two locations?

I like today’s yellows. This is a process, sometimes a frustrating one at that, but try to look at trends. You’re seeing more pinks and some yellows rather than blacks and reds. That’s a win.

Any luck sourcing phosphorus binders?
 
Back
Top