7/22 Ann & Maggie AMPS 140; PMPS 115 OTJ Trial Day 11

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Oh geesh! The 140 bg may be after Maggie grazing overnight. We both had a midnight snack together at 12:30 pm. Then at 3:30 am she had some more Sophisticat. I went btd off and on and waited over two hours to get a bg, so thus the 140 reading. I really wonder what my ps and neighbor were feeding her, as there are too many cans Sophisticat Chopped Grill cans left on the table. I had notes on the other cans of food indicating they were the ones that raised her bg. The notes were taken off them...with hindsight being 20/20, I should have hidden the off limits cans. I had intended to donate them to a cat adoption center but ran out of time before the trip.

I seriously don't think Maggie will be ready for a party on Day 14 with these bg readings since I've been out of pocket. What do you guys think, or what is the protocol? The days I was gone started on July 15. I did the AMPS check on July 15, and my ps did the PMPS check. After that day is when the neighbor ran interference with feeding (without my permission). She meant well! I have to add that this neighbor is 88 years old and forgetful. I told her not to feed, only visit, but she probably forgot! When I returned, my neighbor left a note telling me how much she loved Maggie and how finally on the last day Maggie had warmed up to her and let her rub her tummy! My ps was so upset with my neighbor feeding her that she didn't do second day bg readings, as she wasn't sure if Maggie had eaten and wanted to save her ear and let it heal. The last day petsitting (July 20) she did no bg checks. My ps also feels neighbor meant well and was only trying to help out.

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20358
 
Re: 7/22 Ann & Maggie AMPS 140 OTJ Trial Day 11

Hey Ann

I sent a note out to Libby and the gang, and hopefully they will stop in and have a look-see.

It's hard to know what was fed sometimes when you leave someone in charge, but you do your best right? Right!

Hang in there Ann - we'll get it looked at!

Have a good day and hugs for Maggie kitty! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/22 Ann & Maggie AMPS 140 OTJ Trial Day 11

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hey Ann

I sent a note out to Libby and the gang, and hopefully they will stop in and have a look-see.

It's hard to know what was fed sometimes when you leave someone in charge, but you do your best right? Right!

Hang in there Ann - we'll get it looked at!

Have a good day and hugs for Maggie kitty! cat_pet_icon

Thanks Ronnie,
I appreciate your help, as I am not feeling good about her bg readings and a party so soon. I feel she is still going into remission, and no insulin is needed. It's just the upset with food and me being gone. Thanks again.
 
Re: 7/22 Ann & Maggie AMPS 140 OTJ Trial Day 11

Get Maggie back on track today and let's see what happens. The trial can always be extended.

Sounds like you'll know next time to hide things and to leave notes out for everyone involved in Maggie's care.
 
Re: 7/22 Ann & Maggie AMPS 140 OTJ Trial Day 11

Sienne and Gabby said:
Get Maggie back on track today and let's see what happens. The trial can always be extended.

Sounds like you'll know next time to hide things and to leave notes out for everyone involved in Maggie's care.

Thanks Sienne. It sounds like a good plan. I did, in fact, leave many notes for my ps regarding the food to feed and left notes on a box of canned food indicating not to feed. The notes were taken off the "do not feed" cans of food. They were all in one container, too??? Next time (if there is a next time) I will need to explain to neighbor in a nice way that Maggie will not need any extra help. We have each other's keys just in case one gets locked out or forgets key. We have no after hours help if getting locked out in these apartments.
 
Re: 7/22 Ann & Maggie AMPS 140 OTJ Trial Day 11

Hey there Maggie...

When you look back, doesn't it seem a little funny that you're worried about a 140 (on an Alpha Trak, no less!) when she hasn't had insulin in 11 days!?!?!

I think it's funny that no matter how detailed of notes and instructions you leave, someone will always misunderstand or do something you never even thought to mention! Oh well... Maggie is still doing well, let's see how she adjusts in the next few days... Maybe you just need a slightly longer trial !!!!
 
Re: 7/22 Ann & Maggie AMPS 140 OTJ Trial Day 11

Sorry to hear about confusion with feeding. Sounds like Maggie at least had a nice "farewell carbs" celebration. It will all work out and others here will help with a plan to get the trial back on track.
 
Re: 7/22 Ann & Maggie AMPS 140 OTJ Trial Day 11

Thanks Janice and Johnny! You made me laugh when you mentioned Maggie having a "farewell carbs" celebration. No wonder she's just looking at her lc Sophisticat food. She's thinking "where is my junk food" today?

Hey Krys, you're so right. Too bad I didn't have my Relion ready for her bg check :)
 
Re: 7/22 Ann & Maggie AMPS 140 OTJ Trial Day 11

I'm sure she will get to her OTJ destination, she just may be taking the scenic route, but she'll be back on track now that you are at home and in charge.
(Sorry Maggie, no more french fries with gravy for you! :lol: )
 
Re: 7/22 Ann & Maggie AMPS 140 OTJ Trial Day 11

Hey Maggie, Forget the Sophisticat with hi carbs and come to my cooking classes instead. We know what's good for us FDs!! You'll get back on track in no time!

Stu
 
Thanks everyone. You all are so funny. She does miss the French fries and gravy food. I can tell she didn't lose any weight while I was gone. It looks like she is getting back on track with the PMPS 115 bg.
 
yeah, go Maggie!

Try not to worry too much, let's see how she does the next couple of days, then if you feel like extending the trial you can do that. Her numbers are about the same as they were on insulin, so it's not bad at all.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
yeah, go Maggie!

Try not to worry too much, let's see how she does the next couple of days, then if you feel like extending the trial you can do that. Her numbers are about the same as they were on insulin, so it's not bad at all.

Thanks Libby. I do tend to be a worry wort. I have a feeling she will be back on track the next few days. Her behavior and playfulness are sure back on track and her routine of waking me up in the middle of rem sleep.

Pat, she was partying while I was gone and without Stu's cooking!
 
HI Ann and Maggie! Happy Day 11!!!! Ann don't worry I am sure Maggie will be back on track now that you are home! There is nothing like the love and care of a mamabean!!! Scrabble is waiting patiently for Maggie to arrive at the falls!!! How was your trip?
 
Thanks Roni and Moonie - yes, almost there and even with some partying by Maggie in between. It's hard to believe!

Hey Michelle and Scrabble, Thanks for visiting my condo! My outgoing trip had some delays with a connecting flight, but I arrived safely. The return trip home was very pleasant and no delays. It was great seeing my Mom and sister and brother and some others in the old neighborhood. My Mom at 92 is doing well in spite of a broken shoulder and a few health problems. It was great to be there but even better returning to southern CA.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top