7/21 Muffin amps 144 PMPS 143 +2(or+14?) 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
I'm feeling much better about Muffin's numbers lately...and seeing in black and white (or pink, yellow and blue) what the FF dry she loves so much is doing to her. Still trying to find a healthy food that she will eat. I've been giving her about 10-20 pieces of the dry after her shots as sort of a reward and because I need to make sure she eats. The rest of the time I put chicken out, which she will eat some of if she gets hungry enough. I worry that she's not eating enough, and maybe that's contributing to her lower numbers? Going out of town soon and leaving her in the care of my 16 yr old son (fingers crossed) lol
 
Re: 7/21 Muffin amps 144

Previous thread July 14th viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19769&p=196849#p196849

Hi Anne

Nice AMPS! Just a thought, there are low carb kitty treats that could replace those few kibbles of dry, here is a link for options
Low Carb Kitty Treats

Also, a couple of questions on when you are going away, will your son be testing and shooting?

It would be a good idea to see you posting daily here in the Lantus forum, especially leading up to the day you leave town.
Experienced eyes here can give you a guideline on dose if needed, depending if your son will be testing regularly, especially the pre shot numbers.


Also, you may want to make a note on your spreadsheet when you will be away.
Any chance on some evening spot checks? Not sure if you're aware, but kitties are known to go lower in the evening cycle.
So it would be good to get at least one or two spot checks, a before bedtime check is very important.
This will also help in dosing decisions for Muffin. Please try ok?

Keep us posted on your out of town date. So if you can, do post daily ok?
 
Re: 7/21 Muffin amps 144

Ok, I'll post daily. Yes, the idea is for my son to check pre shot numbers...I'm training him how to now. He hasn't been successful yet, but it takes a while to get it down. I've also shown a neighbor how so she can help him if he needs it. The vet told me if the PS < 180 to give 2 units, otherwise give 2.5. He also keeps talking about +4 numbers...is this because he's used to Vetsulin? I'm assuming it means +6 for Lantus, but will clear that up with him before I leave. Also, I'll do some checking before bedtime...thanks for the info.
 
Re: 7/21 Muffin amps 144

Some of us test a fair amount. I try to get a +2 since it gives me a sense of where the cycle is going. Getting a test somewhere in the middle of the cycle is also very helpful since Lantus dosing is based on the nadir. It's also very important to get at least a test in before you go to bed every night. Because you are removing the dry food, Muffin is most likely going to see more green numbers. It's important that you get spot checks to make sure she's both in safe numbers and that if she earns a dose reduction you catch it.

Just so you know, if you are feeding either cooked or raw chicken that doesn't have all of the supplements that Feline's Pride or other food contains, what you're feeding isn't nutritionally balanced. It's OK for a short time but you will need to make sure Muffin is getting a balanced diet. If you've not seen her website, Lisa Pierson, DVM has a great site devoted to feline nutrition. There's a section that discusses transitioning your cat off of dry food onto canned.
 
Re: 7/21 Muffin amps 144

Muffin is looking great with the food change!

One suggestion I would make regarding your vet's instructions is to ignore the part about giving 2.5 units if she's above 180. We dose according to nadir rather than preshot. With a nadir of around 60 yesterday, you really don't have room to be increasing the dose. If the preshot is higher, that's ok, it will come back down. Most cats get much better results if they are dosed consistently.

Do you have any high carb wet food in the house? Most of us keep a few cans of Fancy Feast or Friskies varieties with gravy on hand. That works much faster than dry food when you need to bring up a low number, and it doesn't linger in the system for as long. If you don't have any, I suggest getting some as soon as possible. It will make you feel much more in control of the green numbers.

When are you leaving on your trip?
 
Re: 7/21 Muffin amps 144

Libby, I was thinking the same thing about the 2.5 dosing...she was 60 the day before that at the +6, and I worry what she would have been had I followed his advice. I'm leaving at 4am on Wed 7/28...so that morning will be when my son takes over.

Sienne: I realize she's not getting a balanced diet with just the chicken, which is partly why I'm giving the dry. Feline's Pride was ordered a week ago, and shipment has been delayed. It was supposed to be here Friday, then today and now tomorrow. I'm afraid to drastically change her diet while I'm gone because I don't want my son to have to be continually monitoring her. So I'm trying to find a happy medium between healthy for her, but not risking hypo. I would hate for something to happen while I'm not here. I would actually love to cancel my trip altogether, but it's been planned for over a year, and it's a friend's wedding I'm going to. When I get back, I'll be able to concentrate on changing her diet and working to find something she will eat, I'm just afraid to change too much right before I leave. She's a really picky eater, and I'm hoping one extra week won't do too much damage.
 
Re: 7/21 Muffin amps 144

Any updates on Muffin for PMPS?

Keep us posted ok? Lots of people can guide you along in this forum.
 
With pmps 143, snack of dry food, and then 72 2 hrs later? Gave her another snack of dry, even tho I KNOW it's horrible for her...she's not wanting the chicken and I worry that she's not getting enough to eat. Do I just have faith that she won't starve herself as long as there is SOMETHING available?

Edit: +4 78
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top