7/21 Lucky- PM Update- dosing scenarios welcome for tonight!

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
Should I leave it alone? I have to leave here in about 15 mins an won't be back for a couple hours!

I did a +7 check last night and he was at 95.
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- AMPS 167- What to do? Leaving soon

I wouldn't shoot. If you were going to be home, you could try a token dose and test. I would leave out food and see if maybe the food will help him surf today.
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- AMPS 167- What to do? Leaving soon

I would leave it alone and retest when you get back in a couple of hours.
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- AMPS 167- What to do? Leaving soon

Thanks! I'm getting ready to feed him now! Wish I could be here to give him a small dose and check him :sad:
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- Home now, BG 275, can shoot now but what?

I'm home now and just checked him, he's at 275. What to do? If I give him insulin now, I can give him his PM shot at 12:15 tonight, it won't be too late. I'll just have to adjust it down gradually back to his regular time.

So what dose should I shoot?
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- AMPS 167- What to do? Leaving soon

Once again, I am no dosing expert!

But, the 1 unit you are shooting is leaving you unshootable at your next preshot time. I really think I would go back and see Robin's advice from last night about reducing your dose a little. You can always increase back up if necessary. The one unit is leaving you unable to shoot 12 hours out and having to adjust your shoot schedule constantly.

That is just my thoughts.
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- Home now, BG 275, can shoot now but what?

I will reduce. I get lots of great advice here and it's hard to choose what to go with. I knew time would come to reduce and now I know for sure the time is now. I can't follow all advice, just go with what I think is best and then go from there. And I appreciate everything everyone posts!! (for the record lol)

Just need to know what to shoot right now since we are way past the AM dose for today and it's getting later and later. I don't think I'll be able to stay up till 1am to give him a PM dose tonight, but I'll try.
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- Home now, BG 275, can shoot now but what?

I'm just going to go with a .8 dose right now and then check him at 12:30 tonight. Nervous about making the decision on my own, but I can't wait any longer, I'm afraid of what his BG will be if I wait till the PM.
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- Home now, BG 275, can shoot now but what?

I would shoot now if you can shoot again in 12 hours.

The 1 unit is giving you unshootable PS's so I would lower the dose at least down to .8u and test it a couple of times if you can to see how that is working and the testing will tell us if you need to lower or raise your next dose. If you are not going to be around to test again I might even go as low as .6u.

Believe it or not this is a really good thing that is happening.
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- Home now, BG 275, can shoot now but what?

I went ahead and shot. It was about a .9, he was up to 325.

I will be home the rest of today to test him. I'll probably test every 2 hours or so. Good thing I just bought 200 strips!!

I'll see what his number is at the PMPS and will probably just go with a real .8 (no skinnys or fats, etc) and see what happens.

Thanks guys for all the patience with this. Just trying to do the best I can for Lucky while juggling everything else life has been throwing at me!
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- Home now, BG 275, can shoot now but what?

You are doing GREAT!

It is so hard to decide what to dose...I completely understand.

Yeah---good on the 200 new strips!!!!
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- Home now, BG 275, can shoot now but what?

You're doing great! He is getting great numbers, and the range of doses you are picking from is small, so don't stress yourself too much that you have to pick it correctly down to the drop. You do what makes the most sense to you, get data, and then adjust as needed as you go.

One approach you could take is to pick a dose - maybe 0.9 since that's where you are now, and stick with it for a couple days (lowering immediately though if you get a PS below 150, nadir below 50, or # too low for where it is in the cycle, like that 60 at +4 the other day). If you find after a couple days the nadirs are not hitting the greens and low blues, then you can raise the dose a hair.

You are in a really good place b/c you are seeing good numbers so you know you can get results, it's just a matter of fine-tuning it. There are different ways to approach it and you'll see that reflected in the advice we all give, but in his case I don't think there is great urgency it getting it exactly right, assuming he is not feeling really awful, and you aren't seeing any ketones.
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- PM Update

Thanks everyone for assuring me that I'm doing okay :smile:

Yes, I think sticking with say, .9, for a couple of days makes sense. I just need to get out of the mind set of needing to shoot a higher dose on a higher # when he might not necessarily need a higher dose just because of the #. I just get so anxious! lol I need to keep repeating "patience is a virtue" over and over!

Lucky has been doing pretty well today on the .9 dose. We haven't seen any greens but he hasn't had any major drastic drops either. He even went down from +5.5 to +7, whereas before he would be on the rise already by +6. I'm going to have to set my alarm again to check him at +12 and dose him.

Any dose scenarios anyone wants to share because it's going to be really late and if he's at a # I'm not sure of, I won't know what to do.
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- PM Update- dosing scenarios welcome for toni

You might see pink for your next ps number. Lucky seems to drop pretty quick and from low 300's to mid 100's and **may** cause a bounce. I would just stay the course for a few cycles and see if he levels out.
OR if he's not quite that high, you could go with a smaller dose just to keep your momentum going. You shot a .9 on a 182 on the 17th that sent him to pinks for the next ps. Based on that, I wouldn't give the .9 if he's under 200, but I wouldn't skip a dose either.
But that's just my 2 cents. I think I'm aggressive. Steady on the course.
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- PM Update- dosing scenarios welcome for toni

I like the softer drop and continued lowering to a later nadir. You got just over a 50% drop on this dose which is probably a little bit low, but I'd give it a couple cycles and see how he does. If you get some better PSs than this morning's you'll be able to get a better idea how he is doing on this dose.

I agree I would pull back to 0.8 if the PS is between 180 and 200. If it's below 180 I would wait and retest. If you get PSs around the same level (pink) tonight and tomorrow morning though and the nadirs around where they are now, I would raise up to just under 1u.

It is so great he gets U-curves and nice blues, go Lucky!!!!
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- PM Update- dosing scenarios welcome for toni

Okay, so if he is lower than 180, do nothing and watch. If between 180 & 200, then I'll shoot .8. If over 200, then .9.

I won't be able to test him that much overnight since we were late with his AM shot so I won't be able to see where his nadir may be and I won't be able to give him his PM shot till 1am. Or should I move it up 30 mins to start moving slowly back towards our original 8:30 time?
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- PM Update- dosing scenarios welcome for toni

Okay, I shot .9 tonight at 12:30, which was 11.5. I need to work on moving back down to 8:30. His PMPS was 350 which was a pretty huge jump from 174 at +9.

I'll set my alarm again to check him at +5 and then I'll do another check at +8 before I take my son to reading camp! Kind of anxious to see how this steady .9 dose does for Lucky.....

I'm off to bed, super tired now! Where is the "sleepy" smilie over on the right?? lol
 
Re: 7/21 Lucky- PM Update- dosing scenarios welcome for toni

What a great job you are doing. The two hardest parts of this sugar dance are at the beginning when you are overwhelmed with information, and when you start to get low numbers and have to give mini doses. And you and Lucky are in the same parts all at once! The good news is that you are giving small doses and he is reacting very well to the insulin.
:thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top