7/21 - Harley PMPS 312

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - do I shoot

Pattie -

I know it's been an hour, are you still around? Have you tested again?

Did you already make a decision?

Early mornings can be hard - not as many people around.
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - do I shoot

I have not made a decision yet. All I have done is give him 1/2 can FF and am waiting 1/2 to do another test.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - do I shoot

Go ahead and test him now - it's been about an hour since your last test.

Will you be around today to monitor/test Harley?
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - Now rebound

After 1 hour and 1 can FF he is 357. This must be rebound or a bad test to begin with. I am giving him is usual dose. I will be here most of the day to watch him.

He was 164 at +9 and I did give him 1 oz cooked chicken. Should I have given him FF at that time?

Pattie
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - do I shoot

when you get lower preshot numbers you dont want to feed yet, you basically want to stall and re-test to see if he is rising, which he probably will.
We suggest re-test about every 30 minutes since the 51 number.

You'll need to take to consideration if you will be home to monitor this morning, and have plenty of strips and food.

at +9, it's good to give some foods, so a FF snack would of been good.

looks like he has gone up a fair bit.
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - Now rebound

with the food on board before shot, the number you have now also has a food influence.

so next time you get a lower than usual preshot - stall, don't feed, re-test.

Can you remove the 911 - you're gonna be ok, others will be by to give you more feedback on this morning.
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - Now rebound

I'm not sure it's a rebound...I would lean towards a bad test (but more experienced eyes can say more). It does looks like you had a similar incident on 4/25 with a AMPS of 60 and you shot 6.5.

Generally speaking, I would have said you didn't have the data to shoot that low of a number.

I'm not sure about the fresh chicken/FF as a snack. I found it doesn't make a difference if I feed chicken or canned food for the snack re: number but ECID.

Glad you will be around to monitor Harley today and see what's going on. As Ronnie said, others will be around to provide good feedback.
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - Now rebound

I don't know how to remove the 911 - I tried to once I found out the number went up

Never mind - I found it - just click on the "none"

Pattie
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - Now rebound

go to your first post in this thread, and hit "edit", from there you can "unclick" the 011 icon.
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - Now rebound

The next time you get a low pre-shot number, and there will be a next time, there are a couple of options. That said, the goal is to shoot your regular dose, on time, provided you are data ready. So, options:
  • Stall your shot. Do NOT feed (unless numbers are in the 40s or lower and then give only a small amount of LC). Retest in 15 - 30 min. (If you happened to get a +11, this will give you even more information.) You repeat the testing until you see that the numbers are rising or surfing at a shootable level.
  • Shoot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. This is a reduced dose.
  • Skip the shot.

The downside of these options is that they deplete the shed, some choices more than others. If you stall, you also need to consider your schedule. If you end up delaying for 2 hours, your next shot will be 12 hours from that time.

With regard to this morning, Amy may have a point. With the big jump, you might have wanted to re-test just to make sure you didn't have a meter error either at AMPS or at your last test. The cooked chicken was fine -- unless it had barbecue sauce or something sweet on it. It wouldn't have caused numbers to rise. A snack at +8 or +9 can cause the pancreas to kick in and produce endogenous insulin thereby dropping numbers.

You did good this morning!! If you're not sure how to proceed, post sooner with an update. We're here to lend a hand - providing we've had coffee!!
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - Now rebound

Sienne's right...you did good this morning.

I always found Six's lower numbers were in the morning when there's not as much traffic on the board. It can be frustrating situation so do print out Sienne's advice! You could possibly need it again.

Once I had a few low AMPS under my belt (and if they were lower than expected I always retested within 15), I could handle the morning situation better...knowing Six would survive and so would I :lol:.

I hope you and Harley had a good day. I read his profile this morning...that poor guy has been through a lot the last year! Pets to him.
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - +7 181 (advice)

Would someone look at Harley's ss. Summary: AMPS 51, +1 367, +7 181. Gave him 1 oz cooked chicken as noon snack. There are still 5 hours to go. Will he drop too much so I have to go through this again? Should I give a little FF for carbs?

Pattie
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - +7 181 (advice)

Are you feeding only at shot times? If so, feel free to spread Harley's food out throughout the day.

There are a lot of ways that food can be used to manage numbers. I would say that most of us do not give one big meal per cycle. Instead, food may be broken into at least 2 or 3 (or more) "servings" depending on how your cat responds to insulin or how hungry he is. Gabby is a cat whose numbers will plummet early in the cycle. I feed her at shot time and at +1, 2, and +3. She also gets a snack at around +8. Others may feed at +3 and +5. It largely depends on your cat. I do tend to think that small, more frequent meals are best. It puts less pressure on the pancreas thereby encouraging it to heal.

I tend to think what yo saw this morning was a bounce and now Harley's numbers are coming back down. You can feed him some LC but don't feed after +9.

Just out of curiosity, what meter are you using?
 
Re: 7/21 - Harley AMPS 51 - +7 181 (advice)

Depending on work and if I can get home at noon, I have tried to spread out his food. Typically I am giving:

3/4-1 can FF AM
1 oz cooked chicken or tuna - noon
3/4-1 can FF PM
1 oz cooked chicken or tuna - 4am when I get up

I am using Walmart ReliOn meter and strips. Should I choose something else. The other strips that I have seen are much more expensive and this is only $20 for 50 strips.

Pattie
 
Uff-Da What a wild ride today has been. First down then up-up, down, down, up. Wow, just can't keep up. Right now Harley is 312 and gave 6.5 units as usual. He did not eat much but I will try to encourage him to eat more. He is such a social eater. Does better when I sit next to him..

I am going to try and leave out some frozen chicken to see if that will keep him happy over night.

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top