? 7/20 Phoenix BG 26

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
I have reduced Phoenix's insulin from 10 units to 9 units over the last few days. I have had to keep his BG up by giving fancy feast hc and honey. I am thinking that I need to go ahead and lower his insulin dose again. I am not sure if I should lower it to 8 units or 8.5. I don't want him to start bouncing again but this 26 BG this morning is scary.
 
Hi Susan, just seeing this. Did you get another test to see if that 26 was a bad strip? 26 is indeed scary!

The 9.5U depot is still affecting this cycle and it could take 4-6 cycles for the depot to adjust. As far as dose changes go, betweem 5u and 10U, dose changes are made in multiples of 0.5U
 
Thank you, Bhooma I did another test strip and still got a reading of 31. I will drop his insulin down to 8.6 units for his p.m. injection. I am still happy to see these low numbers instead of the 500's. I've also not been able to mow my fields due to the constant monitoring of Phoenix's BG. That is fine since the temperature here has been in the 100 - 110 degree range for over 2 weeks. I hope you are having a nice evening and thank you for responding.
 
Back
Top