7/20 kit +7 46,+10.75 76,+11.5 77,PMPS 76/71,+1 131,+2.25 131,+4 196

I need to AFK for a bit. I'm sure that you have Kit well in hand. Didn't want to leave you hanging with no replies. If you get in a pinch reach out to whoever's online that you think can give a helping hand. Be back in a bit:bighug:
 
I wish i could advise on dosing. It seems in the past I've read of members giving half the normal dose to allow the depot to drain some. It's a little concerning to me that her #s aren't dramatically rebounding. She's in the fasting period so you don't expect a huge # jump but, something a little more than what she's showing. I could be totally wrong in my thinking that her depot is "overflowing" and keeping those #s down.
 
I don’t think a draining dose is needed. You have shot green before. See what the PMPS is but unless she drops again I would shoot 5.5.
I'm sure you're right, the depot's probably just getting established to a nice therapeutic level. It's just those big doses and lower #s are an incredibly scary combo.
 
title got long,
here's the play-by-play

7/20 kit AMPS180,+2 171,+4.5 96,+5 78,+5.5 66,+6.25 52,+7 46,+7.5 59,+8 57,+8.5 54,+ 9.3 54,+10 66, +10.75 76, +11.5 77,


PMPS 76 stalling for 20 min

t-15 min
 
If you stall much longer she will likely go down from lack of food. You can either shoot 5.5 or a BCS shot. It’s up to you. I wouldn’t skip completely. What do you think?
 
If you stall much longer she will likely go down from lack of food. You can either shoot 5.5 or a BCS shot. It’s up to you. I wouldn’t skip completely. What do you think?

would love to shoot 5.5U, will you be around to hand-hold?

if BCS what amount would you recommend?
 
I’m thinking. Going to look at your ss again. BRB. Can you monitor? You can bring her up with hc if needed. She’s surfing. I think I would shoot 5.5 but nothing wrong with shooting 3.0 if you feel better. You might still have to monitor a long time though.
 
Can you monitor? You can bring her up with hc if needed. She’s surfing. I think I would shoot 5.5 but nothing wrong with shooting 3.0 if you feel better. You might still have to monitor a long time though.

we can monitor.
first time we tried HC with her was today.
it didn't seem to really have an impact on her.
where monitor a long time means until AMPS ;)
there are two of us here right now so we can take turns. yep
 
Last edited:
we can monitor.
first time we tried HC with her was today.
it didn't seem to really have an impact on her.

where monitor a long time means until AMPS ;)
there are two of us here right now so we can take turns. yep
No not all night. You would give more hc than you gave. You can add honey to the hc if needed. How much did you give her?
 
No not all night. You would give more hc than you gave. You can add honey to the hc if needed. How much did you give her?


@7 after BG gave 0.4oz HC 28%. ate willingly

really want to do the 5.5U, but want to be responsible.
also, she at a lot today to prop... so hope she stay "hungry"

we have karo, maple and SOS syringe
 
f she's not likely to be hungry shoot the lower dose, maybe 3.0 and get a +1 and 2. What do you think?
yeah, ok.
even watching her with her main meal.
we're feeling a little like she's not in "big eater mood"
we will shoot 3.0

does this mean that
  • in the AM we go back to 5.5U barring shenanigans this PM
  • we start the cycle count again

thanks for your support
 
I see she’s on the way up. I’d get rid if some of the day’s numbers do you can post the pm ones. I just went for a walk and was thinking about how to explain something that Wendy mentioned earlier to someone. When you are shooting higher amounts a .50 increase or decrease is actually much like a .25 would bd ic shooting 2.5 in terms if percentage. Does that make sense? I never had to go that route so it seemed big to me too.
 
WOW what a day you've had !! You handled it extremely well. Bravo.
Hopefully she won't pull any shenanigans tonight.
Kit, is this what you do to get attention ? I suggest to find a less dramatic way.
And congrats on the reducie. :)
 
I see she’s on the way up. I’d get rid if some of the day’s numbers do you can post the pm ones.

done.

Wendy mentioned earlier to someone. When you are shooting higher amounts a .50 increase or decrease is actually much like a .25 would bd ic shooting 2.5 in terms if percentage. Does that make sense?

yes. makes sense. that's how she talked us off the ledge when we did our first increase from 5 to 5.5.

i think our concern with its bigness is the other possible issues it could represent.
she chimed in on one of our threads this week with things we should have kit checked for once having crossed that 6U mark.

in other updates, even though we're sad we're not keeping kit surfing tonight, she's really not big into eating tonight. probably all those snacks during the am cycle!
so there's that to be happy about for this evening's choice.

and, thanks for thinking about all this on your walk!:bighug:
 
You made the right choice. Trust your gut like you did. When you mentioned she might not be hungry that made perfect sense to shoot a low amount. 6 units was too much at this time. I’m hoping she’s not going to need those other tests.
 
Yay looks like y'all will get some sleep tonight. #s look good so far, even though it's early. Paws crossed Kit's finished with the shenanigans and maintains those good #s:) Have a wonderful evening:bighug:
 
Good job handling the numbers today! With some awesome help.

Sorry - I was recovering a bout of exhaustion and wasn't on until now. 10.1 km in the heat with not much sleep will do that to you! :p It was fine to do a half dose BCS tonight. Think of it as an experiment. I think I only did a BCS a couple times, and found 2/3 of dose instead of 1/2 was better for Neko. I did a BCS when I knew the depot was overfull (think 20's or low 30's :eek:). It was pretty guaranteed Neko would bounce. :rolleyes: But ECID and you have to find out what works for Kit. Tomorrow is 5.5 units for now. Again, another experiment later will tell you if 0.25 would have been a better reduction, but with cats on larger doses, I always recommend experimenting conservative at first, then tweak.

Good data about what Kit needs for carbs to move her. Again, very much ECID. I found higher HC (21%) was way too much, and 17% did the job. Added a drop of karo if she was dancing below 40. Some cats need to be clobbered with carbs. Looks like that's Kit. Good to know now rather than when she was a lot lower.
 
I was recovering
hope you're feeling better now
I think I only did a BCS a couple times, and found 2/3 of dose instead of 1/2 was better for Neko. I did a BCS when I knew the depot was overfull (think 20's or low 30's :eek:). It was pretty guaranteed Neko would bounce. :rolleyes: But ECID and you have to find out what works for Kit.
that's good guidance. i think if elise hadn't give us an amount for the BCS, we would have really undershot it by too much.
Tomorrow is 5.5 units for now. Again, another experiment later will tell you if 0.25 would have been a better reduction, but with cats on larger doses, I always recommend experimenting conservative at first, then tweak.
sounds good.
Some cats need to be clobbered with carbs

this really took me by surprise bc the other times, although not as low as fast, we were able to stick to all LC to get her up and steady.

in simulation replay, i guess i would have escalated sooner. so @6.25 given HC rather than the actual MC bc the impact of MC @5.5 wasn't there.
 
Back
Top