7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32 +2.5/56 +3/79 +4/93 +6/54

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98958

Jupiters vet appointment is today at 4:15pm. Hoping the abscess on his back paw is nothing major. I am thinking this vet trip will probably spike up his BG a lot. He has reallllyyy bad anxiety.

I will post an update as soon as we get home from the vet.

I feel like it’s a constant struggle to keep his BG steady. I have to coax him to eat a little bit of LC every hour or I know his numbers will drop. This is hard because hes not hungry like he used to be. So I think he gets full and doesnt want to eat anymore. I am wondering if this 51 today at +3.5 is still from his depot or if hes trying for another reduction soon.???

Oh and dont get me wrong, I am loving this great numbers! Just worried about him going TOO low. And I know the dose is supposed to be held for a few cycles to make sure the reduction holds before reducing again. Dont want to do too many reductions too fast... I dont know how many cycles the dose is to be held for? I am hoping that he will keep earning reductions - but like I said the other day I dont want to mention that too much cause I dont want to jinx it!!!

I apologize as I haven’t visited anyones condos recently. Once again, not feeling so well these past few days. Please forgive me, I will try my best to visit all of your condos soon!

Todays Numbers:
AMPS-76
Shot 2.25u @ 9:04am
+2-63
+3.5-51
+4.25-42
+4.75-56
+5.5-75
+6.5-56
+8.25(back from vet)-66 (fed lots hc)
+9.25-115
+10.5-174
PMPS-106
Shot 2u @ 9:02pm (some of the insulin seemed to leak back out)
+2-32 retest-36
+2.5-56
+3-79
+4-93
+6-54
+6.5-58
+7-76
+7.5-82
+8.5-109
+9.5-113

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-103
Shot 2.25u @ 9:02am
+2.25-87
+4-83
+7.25-62
+8.75-64
+10-55
PMPS-76
Shot 2.25u @ 9:00pm
+2-72 (fed lots of HC gravy)
+4.25-67 (fed lots more HC)
+7-103 (left out HC and LC overnight)
+8.25-94
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 +2/63 +3.5/51 this from depot still?

Aww Jamie, don't worry about visiting condos when you don't feel well.

I am so glad to see Jupiter in the greens almost all the time. Can't advise about dosing, but do you think he would be in 40's if you didn't keep feeding him? If so, I am not sure if that qualifies for a reduction or not.

Hope you get good news at the vetty visit, and Jupe doesn't get too stressed. We have a vet appt on Friday and I am already stressing about it myself.

Hope you feel better.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 +2/63 +3.5/51 this from depot still?

He normally free feeds... so he eats when hes hungry... If I didnt coax him to eat and just left food out like normal for him to go eat just whens hes hungry I know he would go lower.... he would go under 50 a lot the past few days..
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 +2/63 +3.5/51 +4.25/42!!!!!!

Sorry to use 911 icon but I am worried. I fed some HC. just want some eyes here as I am scared! 42 is much lower then he normally goes
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 +2/63 +3.5/51 +4.25/42!!!!!!

Jamie

Yes, this is a low number but he's acting ok, right? So...give him two tsp of HC gravy and retest in 30. Lather, rinse, repeat until he is above 50. Then you want to switch to LC to get him to surf. He's almost mid cycle so he should come up.

I need to look at his SS and recheck his reductions. BRB. You can take the 911 off :-D :-D

you did good!!!!
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 +2/63 +3.5/51 +4.25/42!!!!!!

Jamie

This is his fourth cycle since the last reduction. It "could" still be depot but with all you have going on, I'd reduce him by .25u tonight unless he bounces at which time you could shoot through the bounce tonight and reduce tomorrow.

Good luck with the reduction!

PS I'm having horrible board issues....very very very slow.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 +2/63 +3.5/51 +4.25/42!!!!!!

Its just been difficult because I have to feed him LC every single hour or he drops. When I dont feed him he ends up in the 50s. Thats why I left out tons of HC the past few nights.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 +2/63 +3.5/51 +4.25/42!!!!!!

+4.75 is 56... now do I need to get him to eat more? I tried feeding him a little more HC but he wouldnt eat it... i dont think hes hungry. should i keep trying to coax him to eat? I am afraid that if he doesnt eat he will drop back under 50 again


Marje, the board is very very very slow for me tooo!!
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 +2/63 +3.5/51 +4.25/42 +4.75/56

I am with Marje. I would reduce the dose by .25. tonight if he does not bounce. if he does go high, then shoot regular dose and then decrease tomorrow.let's see how that goes. if you HAVE to feed every hour to keep numbers up, then he does need a decrease. you should not have to force him to eat. also appetite is less cause numbers are in normal range and he does not have that i need food mind set now cause food is being utilized properly with the insulin.

you are doing a fantastic job. also keep in mind, once this abscess, if that is what it turns out to be, gets cleared up.. best watch those numbers also
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 +2/63 +3.5/51 +4.25/42 +4.75/56

Sounds like a good plan, We will reduce tonight unless he is high at pmps. Jupe knows something is up. Dane went to get the carrier and wash it out since it was a little dusty, Jupiter saw it and ran and tried to hide in the couch... caught him before he went under there.... then put him in the other room so he could hide in the big box.... just gotta keep him from going under the couch for about 35 more mins til its time to leave. I am not even planning on putting him in it... Dane is gonna drive and I will hold Jupiter with a sheet wrap around him so he can hide in the sheet. He seems to do a lot better with car rides when I hold him
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AM/76 +2/63 +4.25/42 +4.75/56 +5.5/75 +6.5/5

Hey everyone. I just wanted to give a quick update on Jupiters vet appointment today. He is okay right now and he has been started on antibiotics. amoxicillin 100mg 2 times a day. Unfortunately he does need surgery. I will update the rest a little later. On a lot of pain meds today and having a hard time thinking of how to explain everything but wanted to give a quick update.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AM/76 +4.25/42 +5.5/75 +9.25/115 back from v

Congrats on the reduction and thanks for the update. I'm glad Jupe is OK for now. Take care of yourself too. I hope Jupiter surfs safely tonight so you can sleep. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 back from vet

i gave him 2u tonight since pmps was 108.

some of the insulin seemed to leak back out though thats never happened before
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 back from vet

Hi Jamie,

Congrats on the reducie. Hope the AB helps Jupiter, and the surgery is not bad. Feel better :smile:
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

OH MY +2 IS 32!!!!!! HE EVEN GOT A REDUCTION I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT IS GOING ON I AM PANICKING NOW!!!
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

It's carryover as the depot still has the higher dose. Give 2 tsp of high carb food with gravy and test in 30 minutes and let me know.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

we have been having problems with the tempature in our fridge. sometimes it gets really cold and sometimes too hot. today the fridge was at 30 degrees but the insulin didnt seem frozen. could this be what is bringing his numbers down so much?
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

We're watching Jamie. Give the gravy Wendy suggested and if he's not up at next test time, we'll add some karo into the equation. This is early in the cycle and he's already earned a deduction so no reason not to boost him higher than a kite.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

Omg I am so nervous. He dropped so much in just 2 hours!!! I dont like this at all!!!!! will post as soon as I test
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

What dose will I give him tomorrow morning? I am so scared to give him any because he just keeps dropping and I cant keep his numbers up unless I feed every hour


should i take 911 icon down now?
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

It's ok. Deep breaths. Just keep an eye on him. You have two Wendy's here ;).

We will be waiting on that next test but If he drops again give 2 drops of syrup first, then come back and let us know the test result.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

You can probably take the 911 down. You have our attention. I like to think of the current cycle as resulting from what you shot the previous cycle. You have the depot from the larger dose still in there and that can mean a couple active cycles following a reduction. But is should get less active each cycle following. Take a look at Linda's Lucky's SS sometime and you'll see a great example of that happening. Unless other wiser ones come along, the dose tomorrow should be the same as tonight.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter AMPS/76 PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

we have been having problems with the tempature in our fridge. sometimes it gets really cold and sometimes too hot. today the fridge was at 30 degrees but the insulin didnt seem frozen. could this be what is bringing his numbers down so much?


I am really wondering if this could be the problem? is it possible that if the lantus was too cold it would have a stronger effect or something???
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

More likely all the heat and cold would impact the longevity of the insulin, I think these numbers are just Jupiter telling you that 2.25 was definately too much..
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

+2.5 is 58.... he ate way more then 2tsp gravy though. Dane gave him a ton of gravy from 2 cans of food before someone posted here....

I am gonna feed more gravy, okay? I dont like him this low
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! HELP

He's got a long way to go tonight so more gravy won't hurt. I'd also add some LC to the mix, so that'll help keep him up longer term.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56

can i leave out HC all night?

i left out HC all night the past 2 nights and made sure he ate tons of gravy because he just keeps going low
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56

Ok but don't feed him too much, you want him able to eat if he drops again. Another test in 30 please.

FYI we will be doing this for a while tonite as he could drop low again when the gravy wears off, at least until nadir. How is your supply of strips?
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56

Wendy n, given he was low last night even with the HC out all night, I am wondering that, if he is green or blue tomorrow morning, she skip to reduce the depot?
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56

I have plenty of strips a full opened bottle of karo and lots more cans of HC that i just bought today
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56

keeping me awake though - thats gonna be hard :sad: and its been a rough day for jupe with vet appointment and all.... poor baby boy


I REALLY dont want to shoot 2u tomorrow. the most I want to shoot is 1.75u but would prefer to only shoot 1u or something because I am so worried about him just dropping so fast recently. I dont feel in control of his numbers when he keeps dropping like this
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56

A BCS is better than a skip so that's also an alternative.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56

Jamie --

You may need to get ahead of the depot. It looks like it's too full. You can certainly shoot 1.0u or even skip if you feel like it's necessary. This is a point where you may need to listen to your gut. When some cats come down the dose ladder, it's fast and furious. If you're feeling like you don't have control of the numbers, do what you need to do to get in control. Jupiter will be fine.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56

+3-79 and fed more gravy

thank you guys for the help and opinions. yeah i really dont feel in much control of his numbers lately and its starting to worry me so much. I think I will just shoot 1u tomorrow morning to help drain his depot a little. then depending on his numbers tomorrow at pmps decide dose from that or go back to 2u?

I really think I will leave out both LC and HC tonight just in case


thank you all so much i was really panicked earlier by that 32
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56

Sienne brings up a good point, as usual. Depending on how tired you are tomorrow morning, a skip may be best. With a skip you don't have to worry about a hypo and can get some rest during the day. With a BCS and the fact that sometimes the dose you shot the last cycle is still in play, it could still be a busy cycle. Something to think about tomorrow morning.

Up some more please Jupiter!!
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56

He could still drop again when the gravy wears off so ideally I would like to see two tests without gravy that are rising...
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56 +3/79

should i wait 30 mins or 1 hr for next test?

yeah if hes really low at amps i might just skip but if his number is decent ill probably shoot 1u
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56 +3/79

How much gravy did you give this time?

Don't worry about the low numbers,this is great news... A downward trend.. I would LOVE either of my cats to be doing this!!
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56 +3/79

I dont know how much I gave I opened a can of friskies shreds and he licks all the gravy off the top.... he doesnt like eating the shreds he only ever licks the gravy off
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56 +3/79

He's almost at 80, you could probably wait an hour. Or split the difference and do 45 minutes.
 
Re: 7/2 Jupiter PMPS/106 +2/32!!!!!! +2.5/56 +3/79 +4/93

Woot! Way to come up Jupiter! Surf it there please. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Time to hold off the high carb and see how he does. Great to see him so high now but that could be gravy talking.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top