7/2/24 WATSON. AMPS 167 Libre / 132 Meter

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
EDITED FOR ANOTHER QUESTION:
I've looked at the nadirs for the past 6 days (12 nadirs), and I'm trying to estimate whether tomorrow's dosage should go up or stay the same. Using the increase if >150, maintain if 90-149, and reduce if <90 I have 3 nadirs that say maintain, 8 that say increase and one reduce.
How do I know what to do?


It’s 40 minutes past breakfast and he is now at 252 so I think I’ll shoot .

can someone also confirm the range we’re looking for? I know it’s in here someplace in the guides but I can’t find it. I’m thinking 60 to 160 is what I remember seeing, is that right?


Today is day seven of Watson’s last increase His pre-shot number this morning was the lowest I’ve ever seen it and now I’m questioning whether I should give him his insulin this morning. My guess is an hour after breakfast check again. Is this the right move?

Could someone also check my spreadsheet and see if I should stay at this dosage or do I need to increase another .25?


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-30-24-watson-amps-321-libre-255-meter.291658/
 
Last edited:
On a human meter the normal range is 50-120.

Your after breakfast number is definitely influenced by food but if you're home to monitor you can definitely give him the shot. In the future just keep in mind you want to test, feed, shoot all close to each other.
 
On a human meter the normal range is 50-120.

Your after breakfast number is definitely influenced by food but if you're home to monitor you can definitely give him the shot. In the future just keep in mind you want to test, feed, shoot all close to each other.
@Karolina KJ & Nestle OK, thanks. So in the future if he's low at breakfast I should just feed him and skip the morning shot? I'll be home all but the +4 reading so I'll keep a close eye on him.
 
If low at amps you can stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20-30 minutes t see if the bg goes up on its own. Sometimes the bg goes down without food though. If you feel comfortable shooting and can monitor then a bg over 100 is safe to shoot.
 
If low at amps you can stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20-30 minutes t see if the bg goes up on its own. Sometimes the bg goes down without food though. If you feel comfortable shooting and can monitor then a bg over 100 is safe to shoot.
 
If low at amps you can stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20-30 minutes t see if the bg goes up on its own. Sometimes the bg goes down without food though. If you feel comfortable shooting and can monitor then a bg over 100 is safe to shoot.


Thanks for that info. I’m not sure the other three cats would understand stalling, I would have to hide Watson so he didn’t gobble down their food
 
I’d stick with 2.75 as you are seeing bg in range for SLGS.

I feed my two in different rooms. It was not easy at first but now they are used to it. One opens doors so I have locks, lol.
I don’t have any rooms with doors on my main floor ☹️
 
5/26 PM you had a very similar preshot, and the cycle ended up looking a lot the same too.

With SLGS, you want nadirs (note the plural) in the 90-149 range on a human BG meter. Below 90 you reduce. You had lower numbers from the Libre on the 29th, but unfortunately no tests on the human BG meter to confirm if it would have been below 90. The Libre does seen to read lower for you as for most others in green numbers.

Note: don't edit your first post to add another question. People may not go back to it and read it. Just add another post to the thread with the new question.
 
Back
Top