Summer asked me some very good questions in a PM and we need to share the info for all to read and, perhaps, take something from it.
#1. You think I made a mistake by not shooting the reduced dose of 2 units at PMPS despite the struggle I had all day with getting her numbers up with food? Remember, she was coming down at PMPS and was at 51 at shot time.
Nope. Never said you made a mistake. I said that doing three drops between 40-50 on separate days is aggressive and first you need to learn to shoot low (all numbers above 50) on time with the full dose. That’s the best thing for Susie. The reason I didn’t say it was a mistake was because only you know how exhausted you might be. It’s important when shooting low numbers that the
ability and availability of the CG to test is considered. If you couldn’t stay up and deal with the numbers potentially coming back down, that’s your call. Not ours. No judgement here.
#2. I should not be considering the 3 drops under 50, on three different days, until I am more experienced with Susie and know her better?
I feel you are telling me two different things. One is that you are looking for regulation and not remission but you want consider three drops between 40-50 on different days which is aggressive. It is important, when you use that methodology, that you understand her onset, nadir, and duration. Do you feel that you do? But, having known all along that you aren’t looking for remission and you’ve been careful, why push it? How comfortable are you with Susie dropping into the 40s three different days?
#3. I also should not be considering the fats and skinnys even thought the 2 units are flat for her and the 2.25 units can be too much?
I can only tell you what I’ve been taught and what I have experienced and seen in other cats. I did it early on and wished I hadn’t. IMHO, the last time she was on 2u, she was getting into green BGs as nadirs. So what was wrong with that if you are looking for regulation? Her nadirs were really nice but she was bouncing a bit. There is, of course, a caveat. If a dose gets a cat into the 30s or below and the reduction fails, the “last good dose” is not the one that got them in the 30s so a CG would need to fatten the dose at that point.
Some members, as they become really experienced, find their cats do fine with adding some skinny and fat. But they really know their cat and they are also easily able to handle any low numbers.
I would like to try a fat 2 units if I have a failed reduction. You really don't think that is advisable?
I don’t think it’s necessary but you hold the needle and I’m not going to tell you it’s wrong. What Libby and Jill taught me is if you have a failed reduction and have to go back up 0.25u, it might only take one or two cycles to “kickstart” the BG dropping and a reduction might be earned quickly. In turn, the lower dose holds.