7/19 Jessica AMPS 398

Status
Not open for further replies.

ftsang & Jessica

Member Since 2013
Jessica previous condo

Good Afternoon all,
Really frustrated with AMPS at 398, Plan to increase to 4.5U from 4.25U tonight.
I am going to opening a new box of Lantus Solostar (5) new Pens tonight that I bought last week. I'm wondering whether I should reduce the dose just in case my old pen lost it potency. (Let say the potency only has 75% of its strength or even only 50%)
What should I do? Is it dangerous to give her the same dose?

Thanks
 
Hello!! I'm still somewhat new to all this, but it looks like you just "opened" a new pen on 7/8/13, and prior to that on 6/13. I've been told my Lantus (10ml vial) can remain perfectly good for up to 6 months if refrigerated.

As for your dose, I'm sure more experienced eyes will be along soon to advise you, but you have 1 more cycle (PM tonight) to have the 6 cycles they advise before an increase. Personally, when I'm increasing on China, I like to do them in the AM so I can be up and testing throughout the day instead of trying to get up multiple times at night

I know how frustrating this sugardance is...We all want our kitties to be at normal values....Yesterday!

Good luck to you!
 
It looks to me like we haven't found Jessica's dose yet. One more cycle on this 4.25 dose and then increase I think. We want more of those under 200's, the blues and greens on a dose.

Another issue is the antibiotic. With an infection of any sort, that can be keeping her numbers high. I would not think the pen has anything to do with it. What is the antibiotic being given for?

How are you storing the pens? Opened ones and unopened ones?
 
Thanks for both of you.

The antibiotic is for suspected kidney infection. The Vet recommended 2 to 4 weeks antibiotic depending on clinical sign. (You can read all blood tests and Ultrasound result for Jessica at my signature link).
Jessica already has 3 weeks of antibiotic. I am thinking whether I should give her one more week.

I store the opened pen at the top shelf of the refrigerator and the unopened pen in plastic box, hope to keep the temperature more consistence.
 
BJM was saying in another post, that more bacteria are becoming resistant to the antibiotics. Her rescue group gives the antibiotics for much longer now.

I think, another week on the antibiotic would be good. To make sure the kidney infection is taken care of.
 
Frankie

Is she on baytril? Normally for a kidney infection, the a/b is needed for six weeks. The a/b should not cause a rise in the BG unless it is a liquid that has sugar. If you are giving a pill, it should not raise her BG.

I also don't think it is the pen. I think you need to try, as much as much as you can given your work schedule, to raise her dose according to the protocol and not let her stay at a dose more than six cycles if she's in pinks and yellows. I agree you are likely not at her fitting dose yet.

Sending her healing vines. I hope you found the post on dosing with calipers helpful.
 
Thanks, Deb.

Marje, Jessica is on amoxicillin, which I think has sugar inside.

Thank you Marje for your advice. I have been waiting so long to raise the dose in the past. I hope I don't make such a mistake now.
 
Frankie

Amoxicillin is very unlikely to address her kidney infection. I'd be sure and get an u/s done before you take her off the a/b. I asked about baytril because that is what is normally given for kidney infections. Yes..if the amoxicillin is the pink liquid, it has sugar. In the future, If she were my cat, I would insist the vet give me something without sugar.

We are here to help, Frankie. When you have dose questions, be sure to put it in the subject line. Null are welcome to PM me as well to get my attention and I can post on your condo. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top