? 7/18 Rocky's Amps 214, +9 368, Pmps 421, +3 364 Why such a big jump

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bee

Member Since 2017
I know its normal for blood sugar to fluctuate and i just got him on a new correct dose (see pervious post or ss) but he seems to have an off day today and he's never been in the 400+ either
 
Here's your previous post....we like to have the previous post in the new one so it's easy to quickly go back and see what's been going on

If you're doing TR, I think you could go ahead and go up to .75 tomorrow

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
I'm taking into consideration that he was getting "something" (even though we have no idea what) for the first 10 days, so there should be an established depot...although it wouldn't have much in it.

Is it possible for you to get a +2 on more cycles? A lot of times that can give us a hint about where they might be going later in the cycle
 
I have a feeling he may have visited some 'lower than he is used to' numbers during the PM cycle on 07/17 and what you are seeing is his counter-regulatory systems sensing danger and over reacting - what we call a bounce. It will pass.
Since Lantus is a depot insulin, when you increase dose the depot takes a few cycles to adjust, so if a dose is going to show action its generally going to be the 3rd or 4th cycle after the increase. Paying close attention to those cycles with additional testing will allow you to intervene if needed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bee
Here's your previous post....we like to have the previous post in the new one so it's easy to quickly go back and see what's been going on

If you're doing TR, I think you could go ahead and go up to .75 tomorrow

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
I'm taking into consideration that he was getting "something" (even though we have no idea what) for the first 10 days, so there should be an established depot...although it wouldn't have much in it.

Is it possible for you to get a +2 on more cycles? A lot of times that can give us a hint about where they might be going later in the cycle

I can get am +2 on the weekends but i can do +2 at night anytime
 
That might be good to start....a lot of times, the +2 can almost predict what they're going to do later in the cycle

If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty normal cycle....gradually down to nadir then back up to the next PS

If the +2 is higher than the PS, it can signal the start of a bounce....those are the cycles where it's usually OK to take a little pokey break

If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning" that he might be going a lot lower.....those are the cycles where you'd want to make sure to get another test in later in the cycle....even if it means setting an alarm to get up....Most cats go lower at night anyway

I think @Sandy and Black Kitty saw the same thing I did....the drop last night from 256 to 236....If we'd seen that, we probably would have encouraged you to get a +4 to see where he was going
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top