7/18 Henry C, AMPS=178, +4=43, +4.5=45, +5=74 Dose Question?

Roxana & Henry

Member Since 2022
Last condo

In typical Henry fashion, I got taunted with high numbers yesterday, with nadir last night at PM+11 and of course a nice crash under 50 today checked with FSL (free style lite) human glucometer. Since he has a history of not holding decreases, do we just keep the 5.5 units? He is safe now and still monitoring via Libre (88 at 5.5). It took a while to get him to better numbers today (a total of 4 1/4 tsp of syrups along FF gravy beef and churu lickable treats). But he crashed in the past a few times and his decreased doses did not exactly work. and what the heck with the numbers yesterday back to 400 after a nice blue the other few days.
No symptoms with the low glucose today and he surely appreciated the extra attention, gravy and shrimp.
 
He's only once before earned then failed a reduction, so early yet to say if that was a trend or a one off. Since he was lower for a couple hours today, he might have been more serious this time. I'd try the reduction this time and see what he does with it. On the other hand, he never did go under 68 on the AT this time, nor on 6/20 when he earned his previous reduction. Too much data from too many meters makes it harder to make decisions. Which is why it's better to stick with one meter. Though retesting the Libre lows with a hand held is a good idea. You have to decide what your reduction criteria is going to be (AT or FSL), stick with it for a while and see if it's working and if he holds reductions based on it. If not, change the criteria.

Was I missing more times when he "crashed" and got reduced doses? Since you have so much information in each spreadsheet cell, it's harder for me to get the big picture as the spreadsheet is so large on my screen. I put feeding details in the Remarks column for Neko's SS. Some people would put a "*" in the hour cell to note that more food details were in the Remarks.
 
He's only once before earned then failed a reduction, so early yet to say if that was a trend or a one off. Since he was lower for a couple hours today, he might have been more serious this time. I'd try the reduction this time and see what he does with it. On the other hand, he never did go under 68 on the AT this time, nor on 6/20 when he earned his previous reduction. Too much data from too many meters makes it harder to make decisions. Which is why it's better to stick with one meter. Though retesting the Libre lows with a hand held is a good idea. You have to decide what your reduction criteria is going to be (AT or FSL), stick with it for a while and see if it's working and if he holds reductions based on it. If not, change the criteria.

Was I missing more times when he "crashed" and got reduced doses? Since you have so much information in each spreadsheet cell, it's harder for me to get the big picture as the spreadsheet is so large on my screen. I put feeding details in the Remarks column for Neko's SS. Some people would put a "*" in the hour cell to note that more food details were in the Remarks.

So the under 50 is always with FSL. Today he went under 50 with both Libre and FSL even at slightly different times. The last time same with both FSL and libre. So would I decrease from 5.5 to 5 or to 5.25? i am good with either.

I think i was talking about back in March when Libre was under 50 but never checked with another meter because back then i was clueless lol

He is at 287 now with Libre about 15 min to pmps and looks like arrow is up.
 
On another line of thoughts, he is pickier than ever. I went to a pet boutique store, bought a bunch of different selections across weruva, ziwi, fussie cat, rawz canned food, small batch frozen food and yup, you guessed it, his response was MEH. He completely ignored the raw frozen food, Ziwi pate venison, some weruva, all of the fussie. he was ok with one or two cans of almo nature. still have a few other cans to try but not holding my breath lol. he is eating better than I do :cat:
 
March is ancient history in the diabetes timeline. Good luck with the new dose. All you can do is try it and see how he does. Some cats do better with smaller reductions.
 
Back
Top