7/17 Sammy AMPS=69, PMPS=62, earned dose reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

TokyoKitty

Member Since 2013
Hi all,

Sammy's condo
Since Sammy's dosage decrease on 7/14, her numbers are still steadily dropping lower each cycle. Now she's mostly in the greens :-D

Last night her PMPS was 58 (yikes!). Since she normally goes up for the first 2-3 hours after shooting, and her nadir is usually late in the cycle (+12/+13), I took a deep breath and shot the 58. Her +1/+2/+3 numbers were good.

She's been dropping steadily from +4 to +12 on every cycle lately, hitting new lows at PS. I needed to get some sleep last night, so I gave Sammy a couple of midnight snacks to keep her numbers up. Even so, she hit 69 at AMPS today.

She's been on this dose for 6 cycles now. If she goes below 50 again, should I reduce her dose, or try to hold this dose a few more cycles?

If I don't reduce her dose, is it ok to give her a few snacks in the late hours to keep her numbers up so I can sleep, or does that throw things off? Thanks so much for your help!

7/16 recap:
AMPS=88
+1=98
+2=104
+4=95
+6=89
+8=85
PMPS=58 <-
+1=73
+2=85
+3=99 <-2 tsp LC
+7=103 <-1 tsp LC

7/17 recap:
AMPS=69
+1=83
+2=87
+5=81
... might hit <50 if she keeps dropping
 
Re: 7/17 Sammy PMPS=58, AMPS=69, dose reduction question

Hi Susan - I haven't dropped in before. Sammy is looking great! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: If it's 6 cycles since the last reduction and Sammy goes below 50, I think you could try another reduction.

As far as the snacks and sleeping, sometimes you just have to sleep. It it looks like she's going low, I'd leave some higher carb food out in case she needs it. That shouldn't affect things too much. My cat is on Lantus, but she often nadirs late, so I often have to give her high carb food so I can sleep.
 
Re: 7/17 Sammy PMPS=58, AMPS=69, dose reduction question

Hi Wendy,

Thanks for the advice! Sammy's +7 just now was 67, so she might go <50 this cycle. If so, I'll reduce to 0.50 (currently 0.75).

Glad to hear it's okay to feed small bites at night. If I leave it out, she'll scarf it all down in one sitting, so I'll still need to set the alarm, but at least I can sleep in between feedings without worrying!
 
Re: 7/17 Sammy PMPS=58, AMPS=69, dose reduction question

You're doing a great job with shooting low. And, Sammy is doing a great job of surfing in those green numbers. With a newly diagnosed kitty, you're fine to reduce if she drops below 50.

Have you thought about getting a timed feeder? It's a little easier on your sleep to have the feeder open for a meal than you're having to wake up.
 
Sammy didn't hit <50 in the AM cycle, so I kept her dose at .75 for the PM cycle. She had a very small food spike after PM feeding: only 4 points. I noticed her spikes having been getting smaller and her numbers are flattening out, ever since she started on 50% low carb 6 days ago. But 4 points?

Her early PM numbers seemed pretty low (for her), so I kept a close watch. At +8 she was at 49, and earned a dose reduction to 0.5 :-D

7/17 PM cycle recap:
PMPS = 62 (rising from +11=56)
+2 = 66
+4 = 65
+6 = 58
+8 = 49 gave 1 tsp HC+drop of honey
+8.5 = 61 gave 1tsp LC
+9 = 64
+10 = 65

I sure hope Sammy decides to swim a little in the low blues / high greens today so I can sneak in a nap. I am plum tuckered out.
 
Hi Sienne,

Thanks for the encouragement! I still get butterflies when shooting low, though I'm slowly gaining a little confidence. So many factors to consider, and some I'm probably unaware of yet.

But the scariest part is when I go out for errands or various other must-do stuff, and wondering if Sammy's numbers might be plunging. Her numbers have been shifting so rapidly, I don't have a good feeling for the patterns, and to know when it's safe to leave.

Great tip on the timed feeder! I checked online, and the Cat-Mate-C50-Automatic-Feeder looks pretty good, and has mostly good reviews. It gets awfully hot here in the summer, so having the ice pack is essential. Wonder what feeder folks in FMDB are using/recommend; is there an appropriate forum for that type of question? (don't want to waste valuable bandwidth in this forum)

The Relion Confirm meter finally arrived. Yay! So I'll try to switch over today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top