7/17 Copernicus PMPS=350 +3=302 +10 372

Krista & Copernicus

Member Since 2026
PP

Copernicus hasn't eaten his usual food overnight or his morning meal. He ate a little bit at 2am and he was spitting up saliva just now. What do I do about his dose at 8am (in 1 1-2 hours) if he won't eat?? He has .1 ketones and had unusual soft stools on Wednesday. Thank you.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_5735.jpeg
    IMG_5735.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 5
Did he get anything different to eat, new meds, or have another stress on Tuesday or Wednesday to upset his tummy?
Spitting or throwing up clear or almost clear fluid is usually caused from bile from his stomach being empty.
 
I have been trying to transition him to new low phos food but yesterday I went back to original food. He was in hospital last weekend for abnormal kidney values and electrolytes. I gave him b12 injection since he was advised to not have magnesium in oral b12. Do you give dosing advice?
 
Do you think it could be a pancreatitis flare?
Loose stools (Wednesday) and lack of appetite could indicate that.
Have stools continued to be loose since then?
Does he take ondansetron or Cerenia to help with the nausea?

Do you think he will eat so you can give insulin?
 
I tried a snack and he wasn't interested in eating, so I am asking for doing advice? I gave a cerenia but that can take up to 2 hours to work. It could be pancreatitis but vet school wouldnt test him because they said it's an unreliable test.he ate most of the time last time he had pancreatitis so this is even unusual for him if he did.
 
Do you give dosing advice?
I did in the past, over a decade ago. But I don't consider myself up to speed anymore. Mostly I refrain as I work 6 days a week, and can't stay with people after I tell them to shoot. You have to be very responsible like that when giving dosing advice.

My only thoughts for you are make sure he is getting an anti-nausea med like Zofran up to every 8 hours, and are you giving him an appetite stimulant about an hour after the anti-nausea med?
Eating trumps everything, so try to think of what foods he likes or used to eat that maybe aren't quite low carb but he will eat just a bit of. Maybe top his regular food with a bit of an old favorite food or treats (crumbled freeze dried treats would be good).

I have been following you a bit.
I see more yellows recently, and hope this latest dose will help him continue to see more yellow numbers.

Come on Copernicus! :bighug: Eating vines being sent.
 
I tried a snack and he wasn't interested in eating, so I am asking for doing advice? I gave a cerenia but that can take up to 2 hours to work. It could be pancreatitis but vet school wouldnt test him because they said it's an unreliable test.he ate most of the time last time he had pancreatitis so this is even unusual for him if he did.
I may be inclined to treat him “as if” he has pancreatitis even without a formal diagnosis.
Since he’s showing some signs of possibly having it with lack of appetite, loose stools.

Can you give him Zofran as well as Dyana suggested?
I would give it since you want to try to treat the nausea.

And yes, Mirtazapine can help with appetite to get him over the hump.
 
The snap test for pancreatitus only gives a possitive or negative result, so maybe that's why they say it isn't as reliable. I would ask for the blood test Spec FPL to be sent out to Idexx. If it's pancreatitus, he may need some pain killers like bupe too.

I have to get ready for work in a few minutes. I'll look in on you when I can.
 
Offer him small meals. You’ll want him to eat anything you can.
Baby food (stage 1) no onions or garlic.
Parmesan cheese as a topper can be attractive to them as it’s smelly and they like that.
Does he like Tuna Juice as a topper?
 
Thank you. Is this marked correctly for someone to give doing advice? Do I do 16 units still? Or half? Or none?
I’m not sure what you mean about marked correctly?
Do you mean using the question mark in your title?
If so, I believe so.

There may not be anyone up and available at this time (early hour) to give proper dose advice.

You may have to do your best to judge if he will eat in the next few hours, even up to 1/2 of his normal food.
(Since they say cats can get 1/2 dose of insulin who are going under anesthesia even if fasted).

Since Copernicus has been dealing with ketones in the past, I don’t think it would be good to skip a dose. He definitely needs insulin.

It’s up to you how much you think would be safe to give him if you think you could get some food into him.
I wish I had a more concrete answer for you 🙏🫂
 
Last edited:
Krista, will you be able to monitor BG today?

I would NOT skip the dose. He has a history of ketones and has been riding consistently high numbers. A skip seems too risky.

Cats need insulin for reasons other than to offset food. I won’t give you dosing advice and I can’t stick around to monitor, but under these very specific circumstances, with this very specific history, if he’s my cat, and if I can get additional tests throughout the cycle, then I’m shooting a full dose, encouraging him to eat, syringe feeding if needed, and keeping the karo syrup handy just in case (though I wouldn’t expect to need it). I’d also check ketones and stay on top of giving anti-nausea meds. Again, emphasis on if my cat and if I can monitor.
 
Krista, will you be able to monitor BG today?

I would NOT skip the dose. He has a history of ketones and has been riding consistently high numbers. A skip seems too risky.

Cats need insulin for reasons other than to offset food. I won’t give you dosing advice and I can’t stick around to monitor, but under these very specific circumstances, with this very specific history, if he’s my cat, and if I can get additional tests throughout the cycle, then I’m shooting a full dose, encouraging him to eat, syringe feeding if needed, and keeping the karo syrup handy just in case (though I wouldn’t expect to need it). I’d also check ketones and stay on top of giving anti-nausea meds. Again, emphasis on if my cat and if I can monitor.
I gave him his normal dose. I ended up force feeding him a bit because the cerenia wasn't on board long enough. Thank you.
 
I’m not sure what you mean about marked correctly?
Do you mean using the question mark in your title?
If so, I believe so.

There may not be anyone up and available at this time (early hour) to give proper dose advice.

You may have to do your best to judge if he will eat in the next few hours, even up to 1/2 of his normal food.
(Since they say cats can get 1/2 dose of insulin who are going under anesthesia even if fasted).

Since Copernicus has been dealing with ketones in the past, I don’t think it would be good to skip a dose. He definitely needs insulin.

It’s up to you how much you think would be safe to give him if you think you could get some food into him.
I wish I had a more concrete answer for you 🙏🫂
Thank you
 
His kidney values are all elevated again and the vet thinks he's stage 3 CKD now. Sigh. I'll post his labs tomorrow for review. He did eat some dinner on his own.
Good to hear that he ate something.

Random question … do you think Copernicus is fully emptying his bladder when he pees? Kidneys were Tubby’s nemesis (along with some other medical issues) and the reason I lost him. We figured out too late that even though he peed what seemed to be a reasonable amount, he wasn’t fully emptying his bladder (possible bladder neuropathy) and that was likely adversely impacting his kidneys.

That’s probably not related to Copernicus’ case whatsoever, but wanted to toss it out there as it’s not something one hears about often.
 
If Copernicus won't eat the low phos food, you can always add phosphorus binder to the food he will eat. Right now you just need him to eat.
 
He hasn't eaten in 5 hours. I've tried several options like his regular food and his low phos food. He has never gone this long. He's not due for another cerenia yet. Tonight was cabergoline night so that probably didn't help his tummy. It's 1am so I will have to get other foods tomorrow. I'm really worried. He has always eaten throughout this whole time until now. He ate even when he was in the ER in the past. He even smells different. Also every single drug and supplement has magnesium stearate and I'm not supposed to give him anything with magnesium.
 
Could you get ondansetron injectible? Worst case, he needs to eat and I'd give him some oral. Mirataz should be OK too.
 
Could you get ondansetron injectible? Worst case, he needs to eat and I'd give him some oral. Mirataz should be OK too.
I doubt I can get that on the weekend without going through ER. Can he have oral ondansetron with cabergoline on board? What about Pepcid and/or and cabergoline? Any drug interactions. Of course the vet pharmacy not open on weekends to ask.
 
Back
Top