7/17, Binie, AMPS 329, +3 274 - Fasting for blood work?

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-16-binie-amps-343-3-336-6-311.292215/#post-3193861

Good evening,

Binies follows a very similar pattern the last days. Blue numbers over 150 at night and quite flat pink numbers during the day. I will see how the next cycles go to decide, if she needs a little increase. She has been on 1.25 IU for more than a week but we had days with high carb inbetween and one reduced dose.

@Wendy&Neko
Tomorrow we are going to the vet to do the bloodwork and I have two questions: I figured out what a GI panel is: I would ask the vet for fPLI, B12 and folate. Am I right with this?

I was a bit surprised when I read, that for the GI panel I have to fast her for 10-12 hours before the bloodwork. We are going to the vet at +9. We've done a bloodwork at least every year in the past and my vet never asked me to fast her. How do I manage to fast her with insulin? I feel like I'd rather skip the GI panel tomorrow and just do the usual bloodwork (including the thyroid-stuff) than to reduce or skip her insulin. Thank you! :)

Hope everyone has a pleasant afternoon and evening! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Where did you read that the GI panel requires fasting? Some GI panels used to also test for TLI, which does require fasting, so they said fasting for all. Not needed for the other tests. Neko was not fasted when she had her GI panel done. She had a GI panel blood draw done in the morning so had eaten a couple hours previous and her internal medicine vet wasn't worried about it. You don't want to feed her just before getting blood drawn or the blood can be lipemic though. I used to get appointments for an hour or two before PMPS, when Neko hadn't eaten for a several hours.
 
Where did you read that the GI panel requires fasting? Some GI panels used to also test for TLI, which does require fasting, so they said fasting for all. Not needed for the other tests. Neko was not fasted when she had her GI panel done. She had a GI panel blood draw done in the morning so had eaten a couple hours previous and her internal medicine vet wasn't worried about it. You don't want to feed her just before getting blood drawn or the blood can be lipemic though. I used to get appointments for an hour or two before PMPS, when Neko hadn't eaten for a several hours.

That is a relieve... I can't find the source any more and maybe I mixed it up with the GI panel with TLI. Many German sources just generalize, that for blood work cats have to fast for 10 to 12 hours. So I was a little surprised my vet didn't mention that. As we are going at +9 I will fast her after nadir and then she gets a little snack when we come home at +10. So I think everything will work out. Thank you so much Wendy! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I've seen reference to a very well known lab still saying "must fast" for GI panel on their website, just because someone hasn't update the website. So, it's entirely possible you read it recently. I was also told Neko should fast for regular b/w, though they'd normally correct that once I asked if that held for diabetics. It didn't. They just are trying to prevent lipemia in the sample.
 
Back
Top