7/16 Tiger Amps 330 Reduction today

Deb and Tiger

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-15-tiger-amps-393-er-last-night.292182/

We had a busy night last night. Tiger dipped to 84 at midnight (+4) and to 88 at 2 am (+6). I gave him a bit of 20% food as he was falling the first time and brought him up for a bit. The second drop he refused any more food and we had to give him syrup to stop the drop. I was exhausted by the second drop and was glad the syrup brought him up the rest of the night.
We took a reduction this morning. I’m not sure why he went so low on this dose unless the inflammation from the teeth is getting better and affecting it? I do have a call into his dentist to ask if he thinks his healing is going normally and about if he may still have pain.

Have a great day everyone!
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-15-tiger-amps-393-er-last-night.292182/

We had a busy night last night. Tiger dipped to 84 at midnight (+4) and to 88 at 2 am (+6). I gave him a bit of 20% food as he was falling the first time and brought him up for a bit. The second drop he refused any more food and we had to give him syrup to stop the drop. I was exhausted by the second drop and was glad the syrup brought him up the rest of the night.
We took a reduction this morning. I’m not sure why he went so low on this dose unless the inflammation from the teeth is getting better and affecting it? I do have a call into his dentist to ask if he thinks his healing is going normally and about if he may still have pain.

Have a great day everyone!

Hi Deb, wow, that must have been really unexpected after that skipped dose the night before! :eek: And he had quite nice blues during the day also! I really hope everything stays calm and gentle today and tonight. And good luck for the reduction! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, wow, that must have been really unexpected after that skipped dose the night before! :eek: And he had quite nice blues during the day also! I really hope everything stays calm and gentle today and tonight. And good luck for the reduction! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes it was! Now the bounce is on! Not surprising tho…
 
Looks like we may be going for another active night tonight. Only a little over an hour from his shot and he’s already starting a downward trajectory on the Libre…and I was counting on bounce tonight so as to get some sleep….
 
I’m not sure why he went so low on this dose unless the inflammation from the teeth is getting better and affecting it?
it's been too long since his dental to make a difference for last night. Typically you start seeing an impact 7-10 days after the dental. Today was day 24. However. you are seeing some results from the dental. Back then he was on 2.75 units and he's down to 1.75 units now. :) Not bad for 3.5 weeks.

You probably didn't need to give him syrup last night. Tbe 80's are very safe numbers, especially given that the Libre tends to read higher than a BG meter at these sorts of numbers. The goal with boosting him up is more like a 30 point bump. The syrup at +6:30 took him up over 100 points! Next time, especially later in the cycle like that was, try a gentler hand with the carbs.
 
it's been too long since his dental to make a difference for last night. Typically you start seeing an impact 7-10 days after the dental. Today was day 24. However. you are seeing some results from the dental. Back then he was on 2.75 units and he's down to 1.75 units now. :) Not bad for 3.5 weeks.

You probably didn't need to give him syrup last night. Tbe 80's are very safe numbers, especially given that the Libre tends to read higher than a BG meter at these sorts of numbers. The goal with boosting him up is more like a 30 point bump. The syrup at +6:30 took him up over 100 points! Next time, especially later in the cycle like that was, try a gentler hand with the carbs.
Hi Wendy, thanks for the response.
What was 24 days ago? His dental was 9 days ago on 7/8.
We did the reduction yesterday and went down to 74 last night. It was different last night than other times he went low. No matter what I gave him, food or syrup, it would barely go up and then start back down. With his mouth he is not wanting to eat the HC food much, even with me mashing it up. He only wants his 3% pate, which doesn’t raise his bg. Last night he barely responded to the syrup.
I stayed up all night with him and was really worried since he wants coming up like other times.
We gave him a half dose this morning of the would be reduction.
Another thing that could be effecting it is we opened a new bottle of insulin on Monday 7/15. We left his old bottle at the emergency room on Sunday.
Please tell me what is going on and how to proceed. I can’t do another night like last night!
@Wendy&Neko
 
What was 24 days ago? His dental was 9 days ago on 7/8.
I missed that. Having a dental is a major thing that can impact the BG and should be highlighted. But the word "dental" isn't even on the spreadsheet, and should be the lead item, not buried after Cerenia. The 9 days since the dental is probably having an impact now.

Looks like you might have done a half dose this AM? It wasn't clear what you gave. If half, put 0.75 in the Units column. That BCS or reduced dose will help drain the depot and hopefully be a more peaceful night tonight.

Last night he barely responded to the syrup.
Last night Tiger was not at dangerous numbers. Going from 74 to 165 is way more of a boost than you need - that was too much of a response to the syrup at +6. As I said above, you can dial back the carbs in the latter half of the cycle. The +8 20% wasn't necessary. He was flat from +7 to +8 and the syrup would have worn off by then. After nadir, and his numbers are rising, they aren't going to drop again. Once a cat is flat or rising and the effects of higher carbs are gone (2 hours fo HC, a bit less for syrup), it's fine to go to bed. It's good to let him coast in blues and let his body get used to better numbers.
 
I missed that. Having a dental is a major thing that can impact the BG and should be highlighted. But the word "dental" isn't even on the spreadsheet, and should be the lead item, not buried after Cerenia. The 9 days since the dental is probably having an impact now.

Looks like you might have done a half dose this AM? It wasn't clear what you gave. If half, put 0.75 in the Units column. That BCS or reduced dose will help drain the depot and hopefully be a more peaceful night tonight.


Last night Tiger was not at dangerous numbers. Going from 74 to 165 is way more of a boost than you need - that was too much of a response to the syrup at +6. As I said above, you can dial back the carbs in the latter half of the cycle. The +8 20% wasn't necessary. He was flat from +7 to +8 and the syrup would have worn off by then. After nadir, and his numbers are rising, they aren't going to drop again. Once a cat is flat or rising and the effects of higher carbs are gone (2 hours fo HC, a bit less for syrup), it's fine to go to bed. It's good to let him coast in blues and let his body get used to better numbers.
I did the carbs that way because the libre continued to show that the numbers were still dropping.
I corrected the ss, it didn’t make much sense to me either.
What should I dose tonight? I’m afraid the dental is having a huge effect on his numbers and his body’s response. I don’t want another night like last night. He needs to sleep to heal and frankly I need it too….can I or should I drop it to 1.25?
Thanks for any guidance!
 
Back
Top