7/16 Nadia AMPS=343 ??Two Questions - Bouncey time!??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz4Paws

Member Since 2013
Hi all! Welcome to our kitty condo!

Here is yesterday's post.

First, the good news. DH gets home from work a couple of hours earlier than I do. He's always left the "pet stuff" up to me. I was surprised yesterday when he sent me a text of the glucometer where he had taken Nadia's blood sugar all by himself unexpectedly yesterday! He had learned from when I showed him and was successful his first try! I jumped for joy because now the testing doesn't just lay on my shoulders!! I am so proud of him!

As for Nadia, we plan to increase her dose to .75u on Friday morning with is a few days away. Do you all think it's okay to wait that long? I want to be home to keep an eye on her with the new dose.

Yesterday she stayed pretty flat, but the PM cycle was an interesting one.

PMPS=241 +2=139 (gave her a low carb snack) +3=111 +4=120

I've never seen her BG tank so quickly, it was an over 100 point drop in less than 2 hours, and I always feed her with her shots. Then of course this morning she bounced to her highest yet with her AMPS=343. She has been having flat curves up until now so not sure what caused it. Should I be concerned or do anything different because of this? She was so hungry this morning she practically ate the countertop along with her treats!

Thanks for reading and I would love your thoughts on both waiting to increase the dose until Friday AND if there is something I should do or worry about with the bounciness that started last night.

I'm so grateful for you all! So is Miss Nadia!
 
My diving diva would tell you, "100 points in only 2 hours? I can do far better than that!!" I'd let Nadia know that she really doesn't want to copy Gabby when it comes to diving proficiency.

Seriously, though, you did everything exactly right. Giving some LC to slow things down was just what you wanted to do. I wouldn't do anything differently other than waiting for the bounce to clear. You want to see Nadia spending as much time as possible in blue and green numbers and it looks like Nadia may be wanting to visit the blue floor.

The only thing I might have done differently is gotten another test last night. Nadia may have dropped a bit once the effect of the food wore off.
 
Hi guys .. those were some nice numbers last night! And yay for DH starting to test, that makes it so much easier to have two testing beanz! No advice from me on the dose question .. but I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Thanks for the helpful responses and for the support! I'll let Nadia know she shouldn't aspire to be a diving diva like miss Gabby. :) Hopefully she listens but she wasn't very happy with me this morning when I had to pull her out from under the bed for her test.

Do you think it's still a good idea to increase her dose to .75u starting Friday morning? I know I should be happy about her wanting to live in the blue and green, but it scares the patootie out of me when she dives so fast! Will it matter if I up her dose while she's bouncing? Any idea why she took a dive out of nowhere?

I'm still clearly learning the ropes. :)
 
Generally we wait until a bounce clears before we do and increase, so Friday looks good. You can make the increase decision tomorrow or Friday morning.

Agreed, there are a few kittehs here who don't offer good role models on the diving front, Tess is another one! :roll:
 
There's an explanation but you won't like it!! The reason is, because she's a cat and because she can!

I don't know that anyone has ever come up with an explanation for diving other than the kitty's pancreas may be sputtering. Unfortunately, there's no way to know if that's the case.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
There's an explanation but you won't like it!! The reason is, because she's a cat and because she can!

I don't know that anyone has ever come up with an explanation for diving other than the kitty's pancreas may be sputtering. Unfortunately, there's no way to know if that's the case.

What a little stinker. :) Good thing she's cute!

I'm learning so much for you guys!
 
Hi Liz! Bob is right there with Nadia - he got into the blues last night (woo hoo!) and then bounced this am (498-yikes!) and dropped to 242 by +4.5. It's funny to finally start seeing some similarities to Bob. At first I must have only been visiting the condos where the kitty goes otj in one month or where the highest insulin dose is .75. Now that I've been here a while, I see that Bob's situation is not really that uncommon. Hoping Nadia comes out of her bounce nicely for you and is ready for her increase! flip_cat She's a very cute kitty!

Have a great day!
 
Lkldcatlady said:
Hi Liz! Bob is right there with Nadia - he got into the blues last night (woo hoo!) and then bounced this am (498-yikes!) and dropped to 242 by +4.5. It's funny to finally start seeing some similarities to Bob. At first I must have only been visiting the condos where the kitty goes otj in one month or where the highest insulin dose is .75. Now that I've been here a while, I see that Bob's situation is not really that uncommon. Hoping Nadia comes out of her bounce nicely for you and is ready for her increase! flip_cat She's a very cute kitty!

Have a great day!

Sounds like Bob is on the bouncy road too! I'm looking at other SS as much as I can, but unfortunately they are blocked for some reason at work. :( But I understand it's pretty common too and I'll have to tell Nadia that she and Bob have something in common! They are bouncing buddies, but hopefully just plain buddies without the bounce very soon!

Bob is a cutie pie too!
 
She had a bigger drop than this at +2 on 7/12.....dropped 144 pts after AM shot. Just don't know where she went the rest of that cycle without interim tests.
It looked like she needed a bump up in dose for a few days. Good luck with it.

betty
 
bettyandhank said:
She had a bigger drop than this at +2 on 7/12.....dropped 144 pts after AM shot. Just don't know where she went the rest of that cycle without interim tests.
It looked like she needed a bump up in dose for a few days. Good luck with it.

betty

Hi Betty!

You're right! I didn't even notice the massive drop that day probably because the +2 number itself was pretty average. Her AMPS was unusually high so I didn't even put two and two together. I unfortunately had to go to work that day and was unable to test her more than what I did.

Should I be staying home for massive drops like that? I will be working from home this Friday as she gets her increased dose. That way I can monitor her throughout the day and the weekend as she adjusts. Fingers crossed!
 
Hi Liz, nice to meet you & Bob,

I can't advise regarding dose, but I wanted to let you know you're definitely NOT alone on the bounces - Tigger is among the best of them. Seems the lower he goes into the blues, the higher he bounces right back up into the reds. From your SS it looks like your Bob is riding the same rocket! It seems to require patience with these guys, which I am way too frequently short on! :razz:

Good thoughts toward calming down that rocket blaster!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top