7/16 AMPS 4.6

Button & Jenny

Member Since 2021
I'm looking for some help. The last two morning my newly diagnosed kitty has had amps of 4.6. I did not give insulin yesterday am. By pmps he was 11.9. I'm confused if I should still be shooting when he is at low amps number. Spread sheet is up to date
 
Do I still give insulin with low normal numbers? He was low normal yesterday so I didn't give it to him as i was scared he would go hypo. I'm not sure if I'm right or wrong not giving the shot with those amps #s. Have tried multiple time to ask her but have not received an answer Spreadsheet is up to date!!! Thank you!
 
Hi Jenny, I don't feel comfortable giving dosing advice, but with that AMPS I would skip.
I will tag some members to look at your spreadsheet and give you some advice
When you post on the Lantus forum please put
7-16 Button AMPS-83 or(4.6) Dosing need help

You would do a new thread every day on the Lantus board
7-17 Button AMPS # and any test after that such as +2 and his BG and so on
You can also put his PMPS #

Always link the previous days post
I'll do it now for you
Are you still feeding any dry food yet?

Jenny could you please add what meter you are using to your signature also

Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/overwhelmed-newbie.249594/#post-2815957

To link your previous post go to the top of the previous day where you see the pic of the kitty
above that you will see it, copy it and go to your current post and paste it

@Button & Jenny
 
Last edited:
I would skip the dose, but I would also reduce the dose to 0,25 units from the pm dose today so you can shoot both am and pm cycles
Also when you get a +2 or +3 that is lower than the preshot BG like you did last night, feed a snack of low carb food and test again a couple of hours later.
Also the night before you got a 94 at +4. I would recommend you feed a low carb snack and test again an hour later with a green BG.
 
Hi Jenny, I don't feel comfortable giving dosing advice, but with that AMPS I would skip.
I will tag some members to look at your spreadsheet and give you some advice
When you post on the Lantus forum please put
7-16 Button AMPS-83 or(4.6) Dosing need help

You would do a new thread every day on the Lantus board
7-17 Button AMPS # and any test after that such as +2 and his BG and so on
You can also put his PMPS #

Always link the previous days post
I'll do it now for you
Are you still feeding any dry food yet?

Jenny could you please add what meter you are using to your signature also

Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/overwhelmed-newbie.249594/#post-2815957

To link your previous post go to the top of the previous day where you see the pic of the kitty
above that you will see it, copy it and go to your current post and paste it
Tha
 
Thank you!!! I'm still learning how to use the forum!
I'm still feeding a small amount of dry food. But his main diet is wet.
 
Hi Jenny, what dry food are you feeding? Is it low carb? And which wet food?
Did you skip the shot yesterday morning? Could you please put "NS" (no shot) in the U column for yesterday morning as well as today in the SS. Thanks! :-)
 
Thank you!!! I'm still learning how to use the forum!
I'm still feeding a small amount of dry food. But his main diet is wet.
No problem , we all had to learn how to use the forum
Bron gave you good advice on dosing so you can shoot twice a day
Please don't forget to put NS (no shot) as Bandit's Mom asked :cat:
Thanks for adding your meter :bighug::cat:
 
NS is added!!! So drop his dose to 0.25 both am and pm for now rather then 0.5? How in the world do I get that right on the syringes.
Yes 0.25 AM and PM just eye ball it
Do you have syringes with the half unit markings?

Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:
49823504036_be8b19dcbc_o.jpg

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
 
Last edited:
Back
Top