7/15 Scrappy AMPS 385, PMPS 445 did 1st curve - DOSING ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Scrappy Doo

Member Since 2011
Scrappy just had his first week of shots 1.0 2X/day.

I did his first curve:
+2: 404, +4: 306, +6: 364, +8: 326, +10: 415, +12/PMPS: 445

He ate breakfast (1 large can of friskies wet) at 8:15 and had 1/2 can at 12:30, some turkey at 2:30 and 1/2 can at 5:15ish & another full can at 8:15. He is just so hungry still.

Should I wait a little more for the shed to fill or should I increase his dose?

Also, other the last few days, Scrappy has been doing his business outside the box. I think he might have urinated once or twice before outside of the box, but he had never pooped outside the box until now. Do you think it is behavioral, because of the shots & pokes or medical? Anyone else experience this before?

Thanks so much,
Amy


Last Post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47553
 
Re: 7/15 Scrappy AMPS 385, PMPS 445 did 1st curve

Hi Amy-

I'm thinking you probably do want to bump Scrappy up by .25U, but wait for more experienced eyes to confirm that. It can help to catch attention to your condo by using the question mark icon and saying you have a question in your subject line.

As for the LB situation...it's possible that Scrappy isn't feeling 100% yet, and that's why your seeing the him thinking outside-the-box. It's just my guess...but I do know that when a cat goes outside the box, the majority of the time it's because of a health or stress issue, rather than a behavioral issue.

Have a great night...

Amy
 
Re: 7/15 Scrappy AMPS 385, PMPS 445 did 1st curve

Hi Amy - welcome aboard! I too think Scrappy could use a dose increase as he;s been on insulin a week now, but I'm not a dose expert - hopefully someone will be along soon that can help. you can always ask in your subject line too - that tends to get their attention.

I would tend to think on the LB thing that it could just what Amy said... I think once e scrappy gets used to the insulin, starts posting better numbers that the LB thing might improve. He is feeling OK other wise? The appetite will improve, ie less hungry, too as he starts to get better numbers.

Congrats on your first curve. Well done!

have a great night!
 
Re: 7/15 Scrappy AMPS 385, PMPS 445 did 1st curve

It looks like Scrappy's nadirs have been over 300. The dosing protocol would indicate a dose increase of 0.5u. As long as you'll be around to monitor, I'd go for the 0.5u increase.

Tight Regulation sticky said:
"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 7/15 Scrappy AMPS 385, PMPS 445 did 1st curve - DOSING ?

Thank you all for your replies. Looks like I should up the dose. We are in & out tomorrow, so will probably start on Sun, so we can monitor Scrappy.

All in all, he seems good...other than the LB issues, we have not noticed anything out of the ordinary.

Thanks again,
Amy
 
Re: 7/15 Scrappy AMPS 385, PMPS 445 did 1st curve - DOSING ?

Hi Amy!

I don't think I've visited your condo before so welcome! And congratulations on getting your first week under your belt!

No dosing advice here (b/c I'm still not experienced) but just a thought on your feeding time in case it hadn't been brought up to you before. Sometimes the BG# is influenced by food so in order to avoid food spikes, it's recommended that you do your feeding before nadir (the lowest point in the cycle). For example you can see in Patty's signature when she does her feeding. Every cat is different and with my kitty, he takes f-o-r-e-v-e-r to eat. Sometimes it's not possible to get him to eat everything within those 4-6 hours so I'll go past it sometimes. But I try to avoid it, especially 2-3 hours before test time.

Also, 2 cans/day sounds like alot but then again, every cat is different. I have trouble feeding mine 1-1/2 cans per day. To calculate calories, Dr. Pierson has a formula on her site:
...figure out what you think your cat *should* weigh and plug that number into this formula:

Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70

Most female cats should weigh a nice, lean 10 -11 pounds. Most male cats should fall into the 11 -13 pound range.

Using an optimal body weight of 12 pounds as an example, we come up with 233 calories/day as a starting point.

[13.6 X 12 pounds] + 70 = 233

There's calorie content on Janet and Binky's canned food tables to help you calculate Scrappy's calories.

Hope this helps!
Bonnie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top