7/15 Lucy PMPS=194(shot BCS);+2=212

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=313 (0.5u); +2.5=331; +7.5=319
PMPS=236 (0.5u); +1=236; +2=220; +4=124; +5=106; +6=90; +7.5=103

Today
AMPS=221 (0.5u); +2=270; +3.25=281; +7.75=230; +11.5=194
PMPS=194 (0.25u BCS); +2=212;

Lucy still isn't feeling well this morning.
Her appetite is poor and she so far ate only 1/4 of 3oz can.

I was going to give her sub-q fluids last night at around +6, but her number kept dropping and she went green at +6, so I had to skip fluids as she tends to drop after fluids.
The number dropped last night because I shot even though she didn't eat enough.
I've been skipping many shots, and she's been pink a lot, and I wanted to avoid that.
I was going to give her the Cypro at 3:30am this morning so she'd eat this morning, but I fell asleep and by the time I woke up it was too late.
It seems to take about 2 - 3 hours for Cypro to kick in for Lucy, and I didn't want her to want to eat while I'm at work, so no Cypro this morning.
I'll do that this afternoon instead.
I am hoping that the Prednisolone will prevent her from dropping in this cycle.

She's been having multiple small diarrhea.
She had five yesterday even though she's on Metronidazole and I'm giving FortiFlora.
I am really worried.
Maybe it's not even pancreatitis. Maybe it's some other GI issue.
It's strange how Bupe doesn't seem to be helping.
I just don't know which meds are actually helping or if any of them is helping.
I just want her to feel better.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221

:?: :?: :?: I meant to ask....
When I have upset stomach, my stomach usually hurts, sometimes really badly.
Maybe Lucy's stomach is hurting too.
Would Bupe work for this kind of pain? :?: :?: :?:
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221 // Bupe helps tummy pain?

Hi guys .. I'm so sorry Lucy is just not feeling her best .. I don't have any advice as far as meds go, but will be keeping you guys in my prayers that she starts feeling better asap!
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221 // Bupe helps tummy pain?

Mariko, first :YMHUG: Next, I would reconsider giving "that medicine" again. I would give her both ondansetron and cerenia injections for a day or two and then the medicine, using pulse dosing. I agree that another GI issue is the cause of this. If I am right, pred works and then stops working on its own and needs the other drug. I know how sick she got from it but maybe if she is super medicated with both nausea drugs for a day or two before and then for a day or two after she will handle it much better. If I am right, a disease might be causing what you are seeing and p'itis might be aggravating things. I won't say anything more and please know that this is coming from care and concern. If I am right, once she is on the drug for awhile she will slowly start to feel much better. I hope I am wrong but even if I am this still might make her feel much better in the long run. I have been in your shoes before and don't want you to wait too long to try and break the cycle. :YMHUG:

I'm sending tons of feel better vines. I'm so very sorry Lucy is feeling so sick.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221 // Bupe helps tummy pain?

I found two interesting things.

One was on Tanya's and it said to be sure and not give cypro and bupe near the same time as it can cause increased sedative effects. Just thought I'd mention that.

I also found on vetinfo.com that bupe can cause stomach upset. Have you ever tried slippery elm bark syrup (I'm sorry that I don't remember). It can be very soothing to the digestive tract but you have to be sure you separate meds by giving them one hour before or two hours after the SEB.

Elise has some good points.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221 // Bupe helps tummy pain?

Elise,
I know it's not easy to say things the other don't want to hear, so I thank you for saying what you said.
And of course I know it came from care and concern.
When I spoke with the vet, she actually said the same thing, like you, without actually saying "cancer".
She said she was very concerned that "her IBD has turned into something else", and "it might be a good idea to do an ultrasound".
The next ultrasound day at the vet is 8/4, so I still have time to think about that.
As soon as I thought about "that medicine", I started crying. I just don't have good feelings about that.
If Lucy was even 5 years younger, I'd be more inclined to try again, but I don't know if she has what's needed to deal with the chemo drug in her now with everything else going on.
That one pill got her so sick, even with ondansetron, and I'm still dealing with the consequence more than 2 weeks later.
I understand that with pulse dosing, you give a bigger dose one time, but weeks apart from each other, correct?
Even if I marinate her with anti-nausea medication, with a bigger dose, I don't think she'd be feeling "good".
And if it takes her 3 weeks or 4 weeks to get over it each time, she'd be sick all the time even using pulse dosing.
I don't know. I just don't know what's the best thing to do for her.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221 // Bupe helps tummy pain?

Maje,
I tried SEB before in loose powder mixed with her food, but I didn't continue as she didn't like the taste.
I haven't tried making paste with it.
Maybe I will try that, if she tolerate more stuff forced in her.
It's a struggle pilling now as she isn't willingly taking her meds wrapped in anything at the moment.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221 // Bupe helps tummy pain?

My cats did not ever like it in their food as it made it gummy. But I made the syrup and syringes it and they were fine with it. Let me know if you need the syrup recipe.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221 // Bupe helps tummy pain?

I hope the SEB may help Lucy's tummy. Here's the way to make the syrup. I used the microwave method, it's really easy. I froze the extra and put 3 days worth in a bottle w/ an eye dropper.
Syrup Recipe
You can also make slippery elm bark into a syrup that is used for digestive problems or for mouth sores or ulcers. It has the same soothing and healing effects in the mouth - try dabbing in your cat's mouth ulcers if required. The syrup is weaker than the straight powder, so you can give a little more of it. Some people have told me they find it hard to place the syrup on their cat's mouth ulcers if they are in hard-to-reach areas of the mouth. In such cases, you may wish to use a syringe to aim the syrup at the ulcers.
Here is the recipe for the syrup:
Stovetop Method
Sprinkle 1 to 1.5 tsp of slippery elm bark powder onto one cup of cold water. If you are using slippery elm bark from capsules, you need pure slippery elm bark with no fillers, otherwise the syrup will usually not thicken properly.
Let it sit until the powder is damp, then bring to the boil stirring constantly. Use a stainless steel or heat-proof glass pan, not an aluminium or non-stick one. Reduce the heat and simmer, still stirring constantly, until it thickens, about 3 minutes or so. It will be the consistency of watery egg whites.
Allow to cool and give ¼ - ½ (0.25 to 0.5) teaspoon up to 4 times a day. This will keep at room temperature for a day or in the fridge for up to five days.
Microwave Method
For the non-cooks among us, one of my support group members came up with this method.
Take a glass container which holds two cups. Put one cup of water in the cup. Add 1 to 1.5 tsp of slippery elm bark powder.
Heat in the microwave on high for about 1.5 minutes. Remove from the microwave and stir, then put it back in for about another 30 seconds. Keep an eye on it because you do not want it to boil over. Remove from the microwave and stir again.
Allow to cool and give ¼ - ½ (0.25 to 0.5) teaspoon up to 4 times a day. This will keep at room temperature for a day or in the fridge for up to five days.

This is from Tanya's site. There is more info on SEB there too.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221 // Bupe helps tummy pain?

We're just piling on more prayers, hugs, and skritches.... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221 // Bupe helps tummy pain?

Hi Mariko.
I am just adding my prayers and vines for Lucy to feel better and to eat better. And sending you some virtual hugs too.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=221 // Bupe helps tummy pain?

((((Mariko)))) More vines for Lucy. I'm sending positive thoughts about her situation. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy PMPS=194 // shot BCS

Thank you all very much for your support.
I am really grateful to you all for caring about Lucy.

Lucy ended up eating about half of the regular meal portion so far, but I wasn't sure how much she'd eat at the shot time, so I ended up shooting BCS = 0.25u which is half of her current 0.5 unit.
I wasn't comfortable shooting the full dose on blue number not knowing how much I could get her to eat, but I didn't want her to go pink either.
I hope the BCS dose will keep her in a comfortable range.

She's had more multiple small liquipoo today, but I noticed her diarrhea doesn't even have any poo smell, so I called the vet.
I thought no poo smell means no bacteria - good or bad, and I wanted to ask if Metronidazole was killing good bacteria too.
The vet agreed that no poopy smelling poo indicates flora imbalance, so she suggested probiotic.
I have been giving her FortiFlora, but there is a lot of powder in one packet which is a recommended dose per day, and she hasn't been eating enough for me to mix all that powder.
If I mix too much, she won't eat it as she doesn't like the taste of FortiFlora that much.
So from this evening, I'm giving her ReNew Ultimate Flora. It's better because I only have to mix a much smaller amount of powder, and she doesn't notice it.
Also, the vet wanted me to try another antibiotic called Tylan instead of Metronidazole.
She thought if Metronidazole hasn't helped at all, maybe it won't, and sometimes Tylan works when Metronidazole doesn't.
I asked if it's a harsh antibiotic, and they said no, it's not one of those harsh A/B, but just works on different kinds of bacteria.
She got her first dose of Tylan this evening.
I am praying this will work better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top