7/15 Jessi Sensor quit, all those numbers were false, could use some help

Ok, thanks Bhooma!

take a look at this crazy ball graph! Is this a bounce thing or is it a Libre thing do you think?

upload_2023-7-15_8-17-6.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-7-15_8-17-6.jpeg
    upload_2023-7-15_8-17-6.jpeg
    23.5 KB · Views: 207
And now I’m getting a plunge again, this can’t be true, can it?

upload_2023-7-15_9-18-16.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-7-15_9-18-16.jpeg
    upload_2023-7-15_9-18-16.jpeg
    24.4 KB · Views: 194
super low numbers on the Libre now same as yesterday, but I just can't believe this

just tried another blood test, couldn't get enough blood and Jessi was getting very upset, twisting and wriggling like crazy to get away from me.

I'm really not sure what to do at this point.
 
Actually, there is something off. The graph shows something different than the reads. I don't think the numbers are accurate. The graph shows above 50, the reads go into the 40s and below. The sensor is probably malfunctioning. It's day 8 and usually this is around when we start having issues, except for that one time it lasted almost the entire 2 weeks.

I just fed MC and I'm sorry I did. Basing dosing decisions and carb intake on wonky numbers is a very messy thing. We can stay stuck in this yoyo ride forever, well, for the rest of her life anyway.

Unfortunately, ear pricking is not looking good. I have no idea how to desensitize this cat. IF it can be done it will take a while and lots of repetition, time, patience...I'm not sure I can do it but even if I can, it will be a while before I can get consistent frequent reads for making dosing decisions.

So what do I do?
 
upload_2023-7-15_10-46-5.jpeg


See how it stays above 50? Instead at +3 it gave me a 45 then a half hour later a 63 then 20 minutes later a LO (which is supposed to be below 40) then at +4 it was 53.

So between 9:30 and 11am (you can see the time marks on the horizontal axis of the graph) the logbook gives a range from 45 to below 40 to lower 50s, but the graph shows BG as staying above or at 50.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-7-15_10-46-5.jpeg
    upload_2023-7-15_10-46-5.jpeg
    21.7 KB · Views: 288
Last edited:
oh nevermind, now the graph is also going below 50. wow. I'm completely at a loss.

UPDATE: No, that's actually not true, the daily graph remains above 50, the graph I saw was a temporary one that disappears after the initial read. soooooooo :confused: :D
 
Last edited:
I haven't read all the posts (I'm out and on my phone). You would not take another reduction since it is back-to-back. So late in the cycle, I think you can feed LC. What did she last eat and when?
 
I haven't read all the posts (I'm out and on my phone). You would not take another reduction since it is back-to-back. So late in the cycle, I think you can feed LC. What did she last eat and when?
Actually now the graph is lining up with the numbers so below 50. The numbers are holding between 40 and 50 mostly now. I have been feeding her LC small amounts every half hour to hour and I added in a couple of spoons of MC pretty early on and later on some of the MC gravy to her LC. I will feed her again now another bit of LC. I last fed her some of her LC about an hour ago I think, I didn't keep track since I feed so often.
 
To me this all seems to extreme and random, She has never had such long stretches of greens and all one right after the other. I would love to think it's a great thing, but I really am concerned it's too much of a LIbre thing.

We have never had greens last so long and at such low numbers. Really strange. And then she shoots back up into high numbers. It couldn't be that the reductions are causing the depot to drain could it? I just don't understand enough about how all that works to figure these things out. I wish I did.

I tried another BG test and I couldn't get enough blood. And she was getting very angry at me, which would have been ok except that she was jerking and twisting her body like crazy to get away.
 
just scanned 43 @+7,

fed the last portion of her LC from her second can for the AM about 20grams. This is in addition to the MC I already gave her early on in the cycle. She looks fine. She's definitely hungry and would gladly eat more.
 
this is what today’s graph looks like so far

upload_2023-7-15_14-53-10.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-7-15_14-53-10.jpeg
    upload_2023-7-15_14-53-10.jpeg
    19.4 KB · Views: 186
Why is there so much pink and yellow on the PM side of Jessi's spreadsheet and so much blue and green on the AM side??? I just noticed that. I guess I'm a little slow. :p
 
is anyone there?

the sensor just died, which was what I was afraid of. All those lows were false. Now I have no way of knowing what her BGs are or have been and whether the dosing changes we made were right.

On top of that the tumor seems bigger and the Vet clinic is making us wait and wait and wait...I'm losing it. I just don't know what to do anymore. So little sleep, so stressed out by all this. I am doing my best, but it really is getting to be too much now. I'm about this close to wrapping her in a towel to get a blood test even though I know it will traumatize her. I need to know what her BG is!
 
Take some deep breaths and go do something to relax for a little bit. Take a walk, drink some tea, take a bath or shower, listen to some relaxing music, etc.

You gave her MC food today and the sensor was being wonky so her numbers are probably not too low especially since you just reduced her dose again.

That's not to say you shouldn't try to get any tests today, but you should be able to take a break for a little while.
 
Tried. Traumatized her by wrapping her in a towel. I know, wrong approach, but I have tried so many times and right now it felt urgent. Now she is hiding right before shot time. Poked myself, got lots of my own blood none of hers. Probably made her BG go even higher and definitely stressed her out. I have absolutely no one physically in person to rely on. Vets are...no words. Surgery date way too far off. Tumor getting bad. now I don't know if she will even let me give her the shot or how much to give.

just a really bad bad day all in all. I really needed a nap too. Thanks to the sensor I lost a huge amount of time. I am really done with those things, but I have no other options.

I'm too upset to take a break. Maybe later. Have to figure out how to get that shot into her now without more trauma. When she gets scared like this she feels like I am the enemy and she has nowhere safe to hide. I really wanted to see the actual BG level. Big mistake.
 
View attachment 67237

See how it stays above 50? Instead at +3 it gave me a 45 then a half hour later a 63 then 20 minutes later a LO (which is supposed to be below 40) then at +4 it was 53.

So between 9:30 and 11am (you can see the time marks on the horizontal axis of the graph) the logbook gives a range from 45 to below 40 to lower 50s, but the graph shows BG as staying above or at 50.
Hi Stefania, I’m sorry you are struggling with the sensor and testing Jessi. First I’m sending you a big hug. You need it and I get it so well.
Secondly, since I have use the libre as well as you know, it is possible for them to bounce below 50 to the 40s and then it bounces up and it looks like they never went to the 40s. The sensor must take an average I think and then it’s sort of erases what you initially saw as the lower number, I’ve had the same thing happen and with those drastic drops you’ve had (from 300s down to 50s & 49s/Lo, then bounce right back up.
However, I’ve been able to ear prick Ivy to verify what the “Lo” reading I’m seeing on the libre actually corresponds to on a hand held human meter.
I have noticed when it says lo or very low 40s, She is under 90 on a handheld meter.
Usually when I test something in the 50s, she is around or above 100 on a hand held meter.
( I’m hoping that will help you a little bit in terms of actual range).
I’ve had the same thing with steep sudden drops when Ivy was on a higher dose a lower carb food.
(I’m still trying to figure out the correct carb for her and the correct dose, so I’m still working on it myself.)
Check out Ivy’s extreme drop Libre graph I’ve attached. Feel free to look at Ivy’s SS to see how she is bouncing from very low stretches back up to yellow pink and even red.

I hope if anything is just makes you feel not so alone that I am also going through similar things to what you were saying.
I don’t necessarily think it’s the libre acting weird, I think it’s just them bouncing, but I could be totally wrong because I’m still learning and what the heck do I know?? :bighug:
upload_2023-7-15_14-53-26.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-7-15_14-53-26.jpeg
    upload_2023-7-15_14-53-26.jpeg
    20.7 KB · Views: 177
Hi Stefania, it sucks that the sensor continues being so unreliable. I know you’re worried about not knowing what her BG approximately is, but if possible, don’t stress yourself out so much over it. You’ve managed to get yourself and Jessi through days when the sensor completely died and while that is not ideal, you managed well.

Even if the sensor was wonky there’s no way to know how wonky it was without comparing it to another meter’s readings. So let’s just assume it was off by a bit but not a lot. All the lows might not have been false, maybe higher than what it showed.
At the risk of sounding too optimistic I want to say that if the sensor was inaccurate and those were not greens/limes today, then you might have had at least blues, which are great too.

How is Jessi doing otherwise, apart from the failed ear prick attempt? If you feel she’s not being too lethargic or off in any other way, then just give her some space, except to feed her. Keep watching over her, of course, as much as she will let you.

Today out of curiosity, I tried pricking two of my civvies to check their BGs and I ended up with scratches from trying to hold them in place and I managed to get only one read from 5-6 pricks. It definitely is not easy to do this so many times daily if the cat doesn’t want to or doesn’t get used to it.

I know it’s not really recommended but if you want to give a token dose and rest today or tomorrow to clear your head off, you could consider doing it or asking for advice for something similar.
You will need to take breaks otherwise you’ll end up burning out and your body will automatically crash from the mental and physical exertion that’s been going on. You’ll also need to be rested enough for Jessi’s surgery later and the aftercare that’ll come with it. So please take rest and switch off for a bit.

Hugs to you and Jessi! Hope you both feel a little better soon :bighug:
 
THank you Staci, Jess and Nimi for being there for me in a really tough moment. I did read your messages and heard what you were saying. Your empathy and encouragement, as well as your suggestions were very helpful to me. I didn't answer because I just couldn't in that moment, too tired, too overwhelmed and too many things I had to do and still doing even at this hour.

When the sensor dies, I usually do take a 'break' which usually means doing lots of things I need to do that I wasn't doing while watching her BGs go up and down and focusing on dosing, feeding, etc...

Sometimes I get a little more sleep, like yesterday, maybe not today since I'm still up writing to you. :p

Jessi is alright. She was definitely a lot more on edge today from me grabbing and forcing her yesterday, but surprisingly she came out a lot anyway, and we were able to do everything else we need to do without too much trouble. I did continue with the same dose. I have done that before when the sensor died, although it wasn't right after getting such an extreme, long stretch of lows. But I can't lower or stop insulin every time the sensor dies, can I? And the dose is lower than it was when the sensor was put on. I watch her all day and a lot of the night, and feed her often.

I am thinking 'compression lows' may also be a factor in the low numbers. She has a bandage around her neck for the tumor and sometimes I do it kind of tight because she is kicking the bandage and making it spin around her neck which is really bad for sensor and tumor. Maybe yesterday the bandage was compressing the sensor too much and it was giving false lows because of that. I had also learned months ago that as it is dying it can give exaggerated low numbers. And then there is what Staci and so many others have said about the low and high numbers being regularly far off from the actual BG test.

All of this makes me feel like if I can't get us going with blood testing in a real and consistent way, I just won't be able to assess enough to make dose adjustments properly and follow the protocols TR or SLGS. It just doesn't work with so many factors that can cause inaccurate readings. The tumor is also a factor and I am decided now to not put any more sensors on her neck area. I will have to try another spot next time, and hope it stays on long enough to compare numbers to what came up in the last few days.

That's all I can write for tonight. I will check in again tomorrow. I'm really tired right now, so I can't take the time to reply specifically to your messages. I hope to do that tomorrow. I just wanted to check in and thank you before too much time passed. I don't know if I should start a new thread since I don't have any readings to share...not sure how that works.

Thank you Bhooma, as always even when you're busy you try to help me out and I really do appreciate it.

Hugs to you all, my FD forum buddies! An extra hug from Jessi too!

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Hi Stefania, no need for apologies. We are just trying to hold your hand a bit when you need it most.
As for the sensor, can you have it out in another spot instead of Jessi’s neck?
I put Ivy’s sensor on her side, higher up, so she can’t lie on it so much. I also avoid the neck area so she can’t scratch it off with her hind leg. (I also have a tee shirt on her because she will pull the sensor off if I give her the opportunity, bad kitty).
It’s trial and error to find the right spot for your cat.

If this helps at all, my 2 cents…. I try to think of a sensor as a way to guide me through the day. I watch the trends to see where she is heading and if I need to take action by getting an ear prick and an actual blood test.
Unless Ivy goes very low on the libre, say 40s or under/Lo, that’s where I will ear prick her to see what’s really going on.
Otherwise, I find it gives me guidance to know a general range of where she is and if I need to start paying close attention.
I have to limit the amount of ear pricks I do with Ivy because she’s not a cooperative cat in general, and will bite and scratch me.

All We can do is the best we can do, and you are doing that for sure for Jessi. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Stefania, no need for apologies. We are just trying to hold your hand a bit when you need it most.
As for the sensor, can you have it out in another spot instead of Jessi’s neck?
I put Ivy’s sensor on her side, higher up, so she can’t lie on it so much. I also avoid the neck area so she can’t scratch it off with her hind leg. (I also have a tee shirt on her because she will pull the sensor off if I give her the opportunity, bad kitty).
It’s trial and error to find the right spot for your cat.

If this helps at all, my 2 cents…. I try to think of a sensor as a way to guide me through the day. I watch the trends to see where she is heading and if I need to take action by getting an ear prick and an actual blood test.
Unless Ivy goes very low on the libre, say 40s or under/Lo, that’s where I will ear prick her to see what’s really going on.
Otherwise, I find it gives me guidance to know a general range of where she is and if I need to start paying close attention.
I have to limit the amount of ear pricks I do with Ivy because she’s not a cooperative cat in general, and will bite and scratch me.

All We can do is the best we can do, and you are doing that for sure for Jessi. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks Staci! After this one died, I decided never to put the sensor on her neck again! We're both happier for that!

My plan is to put it somewhere on her side even though I know that isn't ideal since she could lie on it or try to lick it or bite it. I want to at least get it in a spot where she can't kick it with her back legs. Right now my attention is taken up a lot by this tumor, which is visibly getting worse, at least on the surface and making her very unhappy. I'm not sure how much time I can devote to figuring out the when, how, where, with whom of the sensor. I don't think I can do it myself right now, so either I just wait it out and hope for the best, far from ideal, or I find someone to help, or I take her once again either to the same place, which I'd rather not, or to another clinic, where most likely they have no idea what they're doing.

Because they're not getting back to me, I have to wait to see how long before a surgery date is set and when it will be for. They told me to bring her in again next week before the date will be decided, but I am so fed up with it. they seem to want to drag this on as long as possible, and unfortunately, there actually is a motivation for them to do that. Since it's a University hospital, it's all students, professors and newbie vets there, In that context, every animal is a case study, an opportunity for studying and practicing. Basically, Jessi is a like a little guinea pig for them and if I had a better option I would be gone from there forever. But I don't and I am putting up with it, hoping and praying this will be over soon and we can move on to much better things.

One good thing is that I put a shirt on her and replaced the neck wrappings entirely. The shirt has a high turtle neck and I lined it with my secret new method to keep the tumor protected and moist...I'm waiting for someone to guess what I used :p

She hates the shirt, but she's obviously more comfortable around her neck area now. I wrote more about this on this thread:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...pdate-and-more-questions.278911/#post-3089282

The shirt can obviously double also as a cover for the sensor once it's placed somewhere on her side. It's tricky because she has a lot of sensitive spots and if we put it on one of those it will make her want to take it off fast, just like was the case on her neck. I know where a sensitive spot is because when I touch it her skin shivers. It doesn't leave a lot of choices because she has a lot of those areas. It may have to be on the side of her lower-mid belly. I know this means she will probably lie on it, but it's the only spot where I think she would tolerate it better. Time and experimenting will tell, but first I have to figure out how to get the placement done properly. At home is not an option, so either I take her somewhere or we do it in the car. This was my wacky idea a few years ago when I realized that this was the only place where we could stay close to home but where she would stay still enough to do stuff to her. At home, she fights too hard to get away. Away from home, yes, even just in my car parked out front, she becomes petrified and kind of submits. It's not fun for her, but it's better than going to a Vet every time.

I just have to get up the courage to do it. It means that I will have to do everything at once, shaving, cleaning, prepping, placing the sensor, and covering it too. As a beginner, this will be very challenging for me so I may see if this at home vet I know will come help me out. We have groomed Jessi in the car several times before and it was fine, obviously not ideal, but you do whatever you have to to minimize stress while getting stuff done! Right? ;)
 
Back
Top