7/14 Latte AMPS-366

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
yesterday's miracle:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19654&p=195753#p195753

Im not sure what kind of night Latte had because I fell asleep hard and woke up late! (alarm/phone ended up under covers). So yes, we were 30min late for shot. But I feel much better than I have in days after almost 5hrs of sleep, with only one interupption to check on her.

I awoke to Latte laying on the other side, facing the opposite direction I laid her before going to bed. Im guessing she got herself sitting up, scooted/walked a foot to turn around and fell over. Her head was about 6 inches from the LB. I tried to get her in as soon as I woke, but was too late. She peed as I reached for her. We got a second shot a bit ago. I think she really appreciates being picked up (even if not comfortable), so she can pee in there.

Im not sure how she slept. I did the open/close eyes thing after I laid down to see what she was doing. Even 1.5hrs after the increased dose of bupe she was bug eyed. Maybe she will sleep today like she did yesterday? I hope. She so needs it.

She has had a little to drink from her ceramic bowl (milk/water), and eaten a tsp or so of ff from the can. I suspect if she pulls through this, I may be serving her food this way forever. Its actually not too bad. Less stressful than trying to get her to the food bowl. As long as she eats!

In the flurry of things last night (like a baby learning to crawl/walk), I forgot her fluids.
Her BG was 112 @ +6, and may have gone lower if it was a good cycle with a bit more duration. I *think* we are okay on this dose, even with her sporadic eating.

With her water...I found something I bought years ago in hopes of raising her dishes. Its a metal frame, with bowls to go inside the slots. I put the bowls in the slots, then put HER water bowls in those. I think this combo will work well to prevent any spillage. Though she will still have to work on being able to sit up high enough.

Today she will get almost the full dose of bupe (.12ml vs .03). As I have slowly increased over the last 24hrs, I dont think I have seen much of a difference in side effects. Supposably until you hit the .12 or .15, the length of pain relief is much limited in time. The higher dose will hopefully give her a full 8hrs.

We have a heat advisory today (100-105). Im hoping the little window a/c will hold up and keep the room she is in comfortable. If it gets too bad I suppose I could put ice packs near her.

Im cautiously much more optimistic than yesterday.
 
I'm glad you got some well needed rest. You sound better today. Little by little...sounds like Latte is still fighting!! I hope she continues to get better.
 
Well then yextra snowflakes to help counter the heat wave too.
Hoping for a rally today, I consider being comfortable a rally.
 
Glad to hear of the little improvements... and the sleep for you both. It is not enough sleep, but every hour helps.
I hope we hear of some more good things today. Maybe the bupe will help her rest more today.

Thinking of you...
 
So happy to hear this and I am sure you needed some rest (((HUGS)))) we are thinking of you

sending more snowflakes your way for Latte cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
SOOOOOOOOOOO glad both you and your girl got some much needed rest! Came to check last night's post after I got your voicemail this am. I was thinking....well that's great she got to her little water dish....she couldn't have meant her big water cups near the wall..... Found your post and it brought tears of relief and joy to my eyes! My God...she walked! :-D :RAHCAT flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

I'm so amazed at how far she came yesterday with only 1 accupuncture treatment. She still has a long way to go, but there's renewed hope and excitement. She seriously is the Princess Warrior. Such fortitude and determination. She's such an amazing girl. And I have no doubt the love you share, and your equal determination and fortitude makes all the difference in the world. You are both awe inspiring!

Wishing you a good day, with more small victories & needed rest for you both!
 
So glad to hear this, (((Carolyn))) !!

Please keep us updated - I keep checking to see if there's any news on Latte... We're all pulling for her!

Sending more healing vines and snowflakes to keep her cool and comfy.
 
this is a wonderful report today! I'm so glad you got the much needed rest last night ... I hope it is not to hot there for you guys today and that you have a great day together!
 
Just popping in to give you guys some hugs and positive thoughs. (((((Carolyn and Latte))))) We're praying for you both!
 
Our thoughts and hopes for that miracle are with you here, Carolyn. I hope you and Latte get some more rest today. At least I hope you ladies watch Oprah or Lifetime or have a nice 'girlie' day together :)

Sending blizzards of snowflakes and tons of healing and stay cool vines your way.

Love,
Caryl, Alex & Jackson
 
I am glad to hear you found the stand to hold the bowls; if it is too high up, what about raising what she is lying on? Sort of like a raised platform with the bowl stand still on the floor?

It's so good to hear she's fighting and moving around to get where she wants and what she wants.

Here's hoping for continued progress.
 
So glad to hear this report, for both you and Latte. Every little improvement is a victory. Fight on Princess Warrior.
 
Hi Carolyn. I'm so glad that you managed to get a good sleep last night. Sleep deprivation really is the pits. Latte seems to be doing so much better. She's such a little fighter. I'm praying that she continues to improve. Enjoy your day together. I hope you get to do something that you both enjoy.
 
You are both Princess Warriors....sending love and hugs to you both! With each little victory, we all cheer you on and look forward to your updates. Hoping you have a day that is sweet with blots of rest for you both! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
I am soooo hooked on this story and my heart jumped out of my chest at your last post 'latte can walk' i don't know of a cat who could receive more blizzards, vines, prayers and blessings than your latte and you.
really my heart is rushing on the news of latte's improvement!
please get some sleep dear. venita always used to say "put the oxygen mask on yourself first" if you get my meaning.
Lori
 
I'm so glad you got some sleep, you really needed it. And I'm very happy to read you're feeling optimistic, Latte will pick up on that too.
More prayers and flakes headed your way
 
Not a whole lot of action over here.
ate 3/4 can ff from can, then some chicken @ +5.
Spent the a.m. w/her head 6 inches from the LB, staring at the imaginary friend she has made. Not sleeping, but more calm.
She did seek out her little water bowl a few inches away and drank w/ no assistance. Thats a little sign of independence.
I set her on the left side (she favors right) after the last LB trip...with head far and facing away from LB. Of course w/in 5 minutes she managed to turn her head the other way. cant miss out on what those imaginary friends are doing for a second! Seriously tho, I think its a great source of anxiety to not see/use the box.

+6.75-218

With her mellowed out, hopefully I can take a nap and then maybe go visit some condos!

ETA: Does anyone know if the increase in bupe could cause more rapid breathing, Ive just noticed it wont slow down...been that way for hrs at least
 
Man, she's a spunky one! Once again, I am relieved to hear she is eating and doing the deciding on her position .... she seems determined to be how SHE wants to be and that's great news. I think if she were sicker, she would just not bother, but it doesn't sound the case.
I wish I could say something about the breathing, but I am sure others will know.
 
It seems like Latte is improving a little each day, which is very encouraging. I know how difficult this must be for both of you, but your girl is brave and strong and I have a feeling she will pull through this. Hang in there.You are doing a great job caring for yoru girl!
 
carolynandlatte said:
ETA: Does anyone know if the increase in bupe could cause more rapid breathing, Ive just noticed it wont slow down...been that way for hrs at least

Carolyn, when Munchie was on bupe for post surgical pain after her cancer surgery, her breathing rate was increased. I called the vet and he said it can cause rapid breathing in some cats and to cut the dose a bit. It didn't help so we switched to another pain med but the name escapes me now.
 
((carolyn)) i'm not on the board so much these days but i just wanted to let you know i have been following you and latte now for days and hoping and praying for improvements and am so glad to hear that they are happening.

i'm not sure about the breathing and bupe but wonder if it could be tied to the heat possibly? is the ac unit keeping her room cool still?
 
sounds as if the acupuncture really helped yesterday. very glad you agreed to it.
wondering if the panting is just her way of sweating if the weather is hot. i know we have to worry about heart/respiration issues but they do pant to sweat. ice packs are a great idea. i'd just try to make sure they don't drip so she's not lying in cold liquid, so gel packs may be better.
eating is good. that's been our main challenge these days...
can you take something to help you sleep, carolyn? even warm milk helps (i nuke it). she may not sleep well when you don't. that's how my kitties are. you both need sleep to recharge your batteries.
 
Hi Latte! I am SO happy that you are doing better. It makes my day to know that my favorite gal is hanging in! Battle on, Warrior Princess! The troops are behind you! How's about I bring the chuck wagon around and rustle up something special for you to eat?

Stu
 
So glad Latte's feeling better and you can get some well needed rest.

Here, I found some more bunnies with snowflakes.....
3461459534_e6fab2acc6.jpg
 
pmps- 399

Kind of a flat, blah day in all different ways - including bg's.
I did finally get her ss filled out. All numbers should be right, hours may be off by 30 minutes or so - feel like I gave many more late/early shots than I have marked. Food is not included because I didnt keep track except for in my head (which was not working so well).

THIS POST INTERRUPTED TO CHECK ON LATTE....

:shock: She was found IN the LB!!!! :shock:​
I can say for certain from the way she was laying on her pad, to get to the LB and end up in the position she was, took a lot out of her! Why doesnt she do these things when I can see?!?!?! ohmygod_smile What a milestone. But also kind of sad. Im glad I checked...how yucky to be laying in your box like she was. Anyway, I helped her up and she felt she needed to do a little circle dance to find the right spot to poop. Well, in this condition I told her she couldnt be picky and just go. :lol: I was having a hard time holding her up while moving in circles. She was not too happy about it either. So getting IN is possible. Im not sure if getting out will be because its a little higher to get out (could fill box to brim with litter), OR the instability of the litter. I wonder why she didnt cry for help like usual? :roll: :sad:

She continues to be very restful/calm all day. She may have fallen asleep a little bit late afternoon, but generally eyes have been wide open. Im hoping the calmness is a sign of less pain. We can only guess at this point.

She was not very hungry at shot time, so I will try again soon...especially since she had a poop.

her breathing seemed to slow down close to the time she got her next dose of bupe. Its back fast again. She doesnt seem bothered by it. The room has been actually kind of cold all day, until the last hour or too...now its just cool and some of the humidity is seeping in. Its almost dark, and a cool front should come in this evening.

Im getting concerned about friday. I have to work. No way out of it. My boss said I could bring her to work, but I will likely have to put her upstairs in the house. Im a little worried about the heat. They have 1 a/c unit in up there for when their parents were visiting. Aside from that they dont believe in air. :YMSIGH: I dont think I will be able to push it and ask to turn it on. Its suppose to be in the 90's that day. Ive been trying all day to find a place to rent a dog crate, or borrow from a friend - but that is not working out. Im hoping we can find a comfortable space for her to fit everything, be cool, and quiet. I pray the kids will be good and it wont be too stressful for anyone. Next week if she needs help I have a friend who is unemployed and volunteered to come watch her during the day (I will have to pay her something). Aside from Amy, she is probably the only other person I would trust. I think if necessary that would be a better option than bringing her to work and moving her around too much.

Well, I should go see if she will eat any food.

Thanks again for all the amazing support. I would be lost without all of you.
 
Yippee for the poop. (I'll never admit I just said that.)

It is a good sign that she was able to get herself to the litter box, even if she needed help once she got there. I hope things are restful for you both tonight.

I'll be thinking of you.
 
I love your post and how she had to keep turning around to find the right place to poop. When my friend had a cat that had trouble getting around, he put litter in a cookie sheet.

As far as a kennel goes, I just bought one of these http://www.walmart.com/ip/SportPet-...Cats-Dogs-Small-Animals/5192527#ProductDetail. They aren't too expensive and are very light weight, made out of a light weight tent like material with huge screens.


Sending eat all your dinner
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
vines to Latte.

I hope you both get a very restful sleep tonight :-D Keep on keeping on, Latte girl :-D
 
What an amazing little girl. So nice to see "P's" coming back, and independence, and appetite, and mobility. Hugs to you both.
 
So great to read about Latte's accomplishments! You GO Girl!!! I hope you both will be able to get a good night's sleep tonight. You are so sweet to come by and visit with us tonight....(((((Carolyn)))))
 
I'm so very happy to hear this update! I just gave my mom the update - she said she's been thinking of you both!

Continued prayers and vines and blizzards headed your way to keep things moving in the right direction (which, apparently, is usually toward the litter box, it seems!)...

You're in our thoughts and prayers.

Yay, yay, yay!!!
 
Love seeing little Miss Independence . What a spirit that little girl has. Nothing can keep that little one down. Sending many more snowflakes and prayers that things continue to improve. Get some sleep again tonight Carolyn. OK?
 
Hey!
We're checking in on you and Latte! She's getting better! She's moving! We've said our prayers and are sending healing vines your way and gentle fuzzy hugs.

Thank you for the updates. We think about you every day and look forward to reading good news.
 
have so many people ever been so happy about a kitty getting into the box? Doubt it. Hooray for acupuncture. Hooray for you and Latte. I hope you find a solution for Friday. I think we should send you REAL snowflakes. Hugs, Carolyn.
 
I'm so glad to see Latte is improving! And happy to hear she's trying to move about on her own, tho she certainly still has limits. You're such a good bean, and she's so lucky (and I am sure so HAPPY) to have you! I will continue to keep the two of you in my thoughts, and hope for continued improvement!
 
carolyn, i haven't been able to post much the past couple of days, but you and latte haven't left my thoughts. i'm so happy to hear you're seeing some improvement! hope to hear more today!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top